We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad front desk service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10820 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109-2401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Manassas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Bad front desk service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Reserved a non-smoking room, a week in advance thru hotels.com when I noticed I was given a smoking room I went to the front desk and ask to change my room to a non-smoking he told me he couldn't because I booked the room thru hotels.com. And since the deal I got was unrefundable we had to stay in that smoke smelly room. That's the reason I gave it a poor in cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I am sorry to hear that your were unable to stay in the room type you had requested. Unfortunately, sometimes requests do not filter down to the hotel when making online reservations. It is our policy to move guests to appropriate rooms when available once we are aware of your preference. Please contact me with any questions or further assistance. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
10
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My stay was excellent and I found the rooms to be very clean. also all employee I met were very helpful and courteous, I met Mrs Bragg who is the manager and she was most helpful in everything to make our stay the best even reccommended places to visit and shop. My wife absolutely adored Mrs Bragg. She is a very great asset to the Best Western Corporation.

Room Tip: just ask them at the front desk and I promise you they will do everything to satisfy you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay, and that I was able to be helpful during your stay. I look forward to seeing you and your wife when you are once again in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very congested area. Hard to get in and out of. No sign on main highway to guide you in.Party of 400 held upstairs, children were allowed to play and carry on outside the rooms until after 8 p.m. Had to call the front desk to get them inside. Person hanging out by front desk with leg over the arm of a chair when we checked in. Ate at the restaurant in hotel. Don't! Order delivery from a local restaurant, it will be better. Should have known, there was no one else there on a Sat. night. Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that a group of children were playing outside your room from an event that was being held in our ballroom and that you were not happy with our Restaurant and want to thank you for bringing this to my attention so that my team and I can continue to improve. I have also sent you a personal note explaining how sorry we were that you were not happy with your stay. I would hope that you would come stay with us again soon so we may show you our continued improvements and our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very, very comfortable beds. Could use a little updating otherwise. Nice pool. Bar on premises. Grill and picnic tables on premises. After a little difficulty with the manager he finally came around and was very eager to please a guest. My only complaint was they wouldn't automatically give me points on my rewards card because I (we) were Corporate Lodging. Thankfully Best Western gave me points anyway which means I will recommend Best Western in general. I definitely recommend this place. I only have one thing to add--if you need a room where you don't have to go up any steps at all to get to your room this is not the place for you. Otherwise by all means stay here! I plan to in the very near future with work travel again if there are openings.

Room Tip: If you are wanting a ground floor room--there are none that you do not have to go up at least a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the comfortable beds and was able to enjoy our lounge and pool area while staying with us and I was so glad that our Front Desk Manager was able to assist you on making sure you received the Best Western Reward points. I look forward to you returning again soon.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here on a trip with a group. Hotel allowed us to park motorcycles securely inside the court yard near our rooms. Great front desk service at check-in. Melody was very helpful in making sure everything was as we expected & that we had everything we needed. Nice clean pool. Comfortable rooms. Good rates. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodations. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.


Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Can't say enough about the front desk help. Melody was more than helpful. She even drove in her own car to pick up some discounted tickets for our group. We were all on bikes and she volunteered to go get us tickets for a concert at a discount!

Our group was traveling on motorcycles and Melody was very gracious enough to let us park our bikes close to our rooms! That is almost unheard of. Could not have ask for better service.

Room was clean, on first floor as requested. In the area of all our friends as requested. Even moved one guy to get closer to the group!

Hot breakfast was nice vs just cold bagels!

I would definately recommend this hotel for a group or individauls traveling via motorcycle or with a family. Top notch service all the way around!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I was so glad to hear Melody was such a big help while you were staying with us and we look forward to having you back again soon and thank you so much for taking time to let us know about your stay.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a cross country trip and were very pleased. The beds were comfortable, which is a must after long days of driving. It's easy to get to from I66. The staff was pleasant. The breakfast was a free hotel breakfast -- which is to say that if you like making your own waffles it's great.

However, the great thing is that they're pretty pet friendly. It was only another $10 to have the dog with us, which made it very convenient.

I've seen some comments from folks saying that it's a good place to stay if you're visiting DC. I'd disagree with this statement. I66 can be horrible during rush hour -- often taking in excess of an hour each way to and from the district. Stay here to see the great stuff around Manassas and the Udvar-Hazy Center at Dulles, but it's a less than ideal location to go all the way into the District.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you return again soon. If I can can be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn

Address: 10820 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Manassas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manassas
#1 Business Hotel in Manassas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn is ideally located off I-66 and is less than one mile from the historic first land battle of the Civil War at the Manassas battlefield. The hotel is just four miles from Jiffy Lube(R) Live and the George Mason Aquatic Center. This full service pet friendly hotel features 123 well appointed rooms complete with wireless and wired HSIA, well lit work desk, flat screen TV with cable and micro/frig combos in every room. Our new luxury pillowtop bedding, a top of the line Simmons(R) product, assures a good night's sleep. All rooms are situated around a lovely professionally landscaped courtyard that features a large pool and two canopied picnic areas with tables and grills. The secure gated courtyard property is enclosed from the parking lot entrances, providing a delightful atmosphere. Our large ballroom and professional staff will enhance your event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manassas
Manassas Best Western
Best Western Battlefield Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.