We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very motorcycle friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10820 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109-2401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Manassas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very motorcycle friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here on a trip with a group. Hotel allowed us to park motorcycles securely inside the court yard near our rooms. Great front desk service at check-in. Melody was very helpful in making sure everything was as we expected & that we had everything we needed. Nice clean pool. Comfortable rooms. Good rates. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodations. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.


Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
17
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Can't say enough about the front desk help. Melody was more than helpful. She even drove in her own car to pick up some discounted tickets for our group. We were all on bikes and she volunteered to go get us tickets for a concert at a discount!

Our group was traveling on motorcycles and Melody was very gracious enough to let us park our bikes close to our rooms! That is almost unheard of. Could not have ask for better service.

Room was clean, on first floor as requested. In the area of all our friends as requested. Even moved one guy to get closer to the group!

Hot breakfast was nice vs just cold bagels!

I would definately recommend this hotel for a group or individauls traveling via motorcycle or with a family. Top notch service all the way around!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I was so glad to hear Melody was such a big help while you were staying with us and we look forward to having you back again soon and thank you so much for taking time to let us know about your stay.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a cross country trip and were very pleased. The beds were comfortable, which is a must after long days of driving. It's easy to get to from I66. The staff was pleasant. The breakfast was a free hotel breakfast -- which is to say that if you like making your own waffles it's great.

However, the great thing is that they're pretty pet friendly. It was only another $10 to have the dog with us, which made it very convenient.

I've seen some comments from folks saying that it's a good place to stay if you're visiting DC. I'd disagree with this statement. I66 can be horrible during rush hour -- often taking in excess of an hour each way to and from the district. Stay here to see the great stuff around Manassas and the Udvar-Hazy Center at Dulles, but it's a less than ideal location to go all the way into the District.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you return again soon. If I can can be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I planned a vacation to VA and Manassas was the best location to stay for what we wanted to do. Also chose this hotel based on price and rooms available. Within 1/2 hour of DC and Mount Vernon. Two hours to Charlottesville and the Skyline Drive. Room could have been cleaner on arrival, but left a note the first day and the place got spiffed. Overall room was adequate, good with us because we were out early and back late. Best thing about this place is the employees. All were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home for the week. Have the waffles, fruit salad, cereal and coffee for breakfast; hot buffet and pastry wasn't what I wanted but others seemed to enjoy it. Hotel is set up with pool, tables with awnings, horseshoe pit and BBQ grills in the center court. Not too private at night on the first floor. Would go again, though for a short stay.

Room Tip: Second floor on the side of the center court away from the horseshoe pits (unless you're really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and do look forward to you returning again soon. I will look into why we did not have whole fruit available during your stay because we do offer bananas,Apples and oranges. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Best Western Battlefield was like a home away from home for the two nights we were there in April of 2012. We wanted to be somewhere close to D.C. but we had our cat with us, which presented a problem in Maryland.

I admit, our trip was ill-prepared, and I didn't make accommodation arrangements ahead of time, but we lucked out when we found that most Best Westerns accept pets - except in Maryland (I didn't find one affordable hotel/motel chain that did). However, we had to go into Virginia to find it. We landed at the Best Western in Manassas. I wish we would have found them sooner, as we would have had more time to have fun.

For an extra $10 per night our kitty could stay with us, and she was as happy as could be in our room. The people who checked us in were wonderful! I was given a discounted rate without even having to mention AAA, and that was a relief for me. I was told that if we stayed another night we could have the same rate, but that was not honored by the people who worked the following morning. Oh well. I didn't complain.

The breakfast was really good--a very nice spread with eggs, waffles, sausage, cereals, fruit, yogurts, etc. I took my own coffee beans because nothing tops my coffee, but they had all that too. It was very hearty. I would have preferred some fresh fruit--apples & bananas, but that isn't a complaint.

The only problem I had, and it was resolved after I became upset about it, was that they asked us to switch rooms because a "regular" guest was coming in and he wanted our room. At first I agreed. We started taking our bags over and when we opened the door, we found the room in complete disarray with beer bottles all over, and both beds unmade. Before we were asked to move we were ready to go into D.C. for some sightseeing, but we were asked to wait for another 45 minutes for them to make up the room. My issue was that we were in room 143 and they were moving us to room 153--just around the corner. I asked them why they couldn't put the other guest in 153, since we were already in 143, and quite content there. Besides, I had just had surgery and was not supposed to be taking it easy. I felt it was an unfair thing to ask a paying guest. I had to tell them that I was going to make a complaint if I was forced to move. That is when the clerk came and told me we didn't have to move. It was just a small glitch, but we got over it.

The room was great! It smelled nice, everything was working (there was a fridge and a microwave). The remote was one of those "clean" remotes - easy to wipe germs off if you're a germophobe. And the beds -- the most comfortable beds ever in that price range. They were firm but not lumpy. Nicely padded, and the best part was that they had real duvets, and four fluffy pillows. I could have spent two days just laying in bed and have been happy.

The Best Western Battlefield has a peaceful feel to it. Maybe it's because of the beautiful courtyard--maybe it's because we were having one mishap after another and being there was like having a vacation from our vacation. Whatever it is, I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. I am very glad you and your pet choose to stay with us during your visit to the area. I was very glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and do look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Drove down to Manassas and wanted somewhere close to the National Park. This was, literally, the first hotel I encountered down the road. Had rooms free at reasonable price. Room was clean and comfortable. Had microwave, fridge etc. They also provide barbeques which I found a bit odd. The clientele was mostly working guys. who went to bed early but were up early. The attached eatery was empty, food was OK. Free appetisers and friendly bartender. Breakfast was fairly dire. There was plenty on offer but the best thing about it was it was free! If I had stayed 2 nights I would not have had 2 breakfasts.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs at the back if you want quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
I would like to Start by thanking you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are in the process of changing and adding to our breakfast buffet. I do hope you will come stay again soon.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Maybe it was because of the holiday but the guests @ this hotel left a lot to be desired. There was barbecuing under the stairs, loud swearing til early morning. These people did not look like the type you wanted to start up a confrontation let alone complain about them. The pool area was nice, but again the fun guests seemed to have taken over the hotel.

Looking to stay again in Manassas again this year. My relative's porch may be more appropriate.

Room Tip: Stayed at this hotel 07/2010 but no date to choose from Stay here if you feel adventurous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBattlefield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Our entire team would like to thank you for taking time to let us know about visit with us two years ago. I would like to personally apologize if we had loud guest doing your last visit. We are alway focusing on improving and have made changes since your last visit and hope that you would try us again soon. Please do not hesitate to call me directly if you have any questions.

Sincerely,
Tammy Bragg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn

Address: 10820 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Manassas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manassas
#6 Business Hotel in Manassas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn is ideally located off I-66 and is less than one mile from the historic first land battle of the Civil War at the Manassas battlefield. The hotel is just four miles from Jiffy Lube(R) Live and the George Mason Aquatic Center. This full service pet friendly hotel features 123 well appointed rooms complete with wireless and wired HSIA, well lit work desk, flat screen TV with cable and micro/frig combos in every room. Our new luxury pillowtop bedding, a top of the line Simmons(R) product, assures a good night's sleep. All rooms are situated around a lovely professionally landscaped courtyard that features a large pool and two canopied picnic areas with tables and grills. The secure gated courtyard property is enclosed from the parking lot entrances, providing a delightful atmosphere. Our large ballroom and professional staff will enhance your event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manassas
Manassas Best Western
Best Western Battlefield Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Battlefield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.