We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another gem in Manassas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Square Cafe

City Square Cafe
9428 Battle Street, Manassas, VA 20110
703 369 6022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
City Square Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 236 restaurants in Manassas
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Free Parking Garage! on weeknights and weekends
Transit: VRE and Amtrak station is less than one block
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another gem in Manassas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Every meal here is so good!

The service is excellent and the chef does some amazing things!
There's this fire and ice appetizer that is to die for.
The calamari appetizer is cooked to tender perfection...not chewy.
Desserts are always delish!

Justin (one of the waiters) really knows his menu and whet our appetite to come back again for dinner

And, since I'm train enthusiast, I enjoy sitting outside on nice days under the umbrellas and watching the trains go by on the tracks direct adjacent to the restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    21
    8
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious meal across from the train station and museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great service. Delicious food: tomato gazpacho soup, apple and cheese toasted sandwich, and one of the best bacon and cheeseburgers ever.
$4 sangria after 3; interesting local beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Inconsistency Cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I want to love this place; I really do. There are times when despite the very hit or miss luck of the draw wait staff the food is really great such as breakfast. Then you get to any other time of the day and the ok at best food is completely wasted by the ridiculous prices. I tried to give them a shot again and went in for another overpriced mediocre meal especially in relation to other choices in old town. Then months later I hoped maybe improvements were made when they ran a specialicious deal and decided to give them yet another shot only to find out it can't be used for brunch oh and by the way they won't serve the lunch menu on weekends so eventually when I can take a day off of work I will use it and once again be disappointed with what should be a great restaurant in a prime location in old town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Fireworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

With extra outdoor seating for the 4th of July Suzanna and Robert put together a simple menu that was very good. The Holiday celebratory mood of the City was very lively and ended with a great fireworks display.
The entertainment instrumentals were better than the vocals and they probably could have used another waiter or two but the overall atmosphere was fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Outdoor seating was nice as was the live music on a Friday night. Good atmosphere but the food was average at best. Not the best value either.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Square Cafe also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to City Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Square Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.