We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home-cooked meal away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Square Cafe

City Square Cafe
9428 Battle Street, Manassas, VA 20110
703 369 6022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
City Square Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 237 restaurants in Manassas
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Free Parking Garage! on weeknights and weekends
Transit: VRE and Amtrak station is less than one block
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Home-cooked meal away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the kind of restaurant you wish every community had - I wish I had one near my house! The owners sit in the dining room and welcome diners - some of whom they may not have seen in years. Everybody gets a "hello!" But there's substance to this atmosphere. The menu is fantastic. The food has a Spanish/Portuguese influence. Everything is flavorful and delicious and made specially for you. The prices are reasonable, and the decor is great too. A really traditional, wonderful little gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    22
    9
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gem in Old Town Manassas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I recently visited the City Square Cafe with friends and family and we had a lovely time. This restaurant is very welcoming and has a comfortable atmosphere. There was live keyboard (piano) music. We had an excellent server who was very personable and friendly. The food was wonderful and they have plenty of wines to choose from. We tried the salmon, the crab ravioli, and the crab cake entrees and they were all enjoyable. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Old Town Manassas who is looking for a sit down place to relax and enjoy a nice meal. The restaurant is located across from the train station and there is a large parking garage near by, so parking was no issue when we visited. Hats off to the City Square Cafe and thanks for a great experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We recently were looking for a unique restaurant to meet a family member for a lunch and this fit the bill very nicely. While the temperature was a little too cool for the outdoor terrace which had been recommended in recent reviews, the inside seating was nice and comfortable. Even with a Christmas luncheon in progress our service was prompt and efficient. Our three meals were very nice and everything was fresh. We enjoyed the opportunity to get something other than standard french fries with the sandwiches. The alternative for this day was zuchini slices grilled in olive oil which were truly grilled and not frozen with grill marks on them. Our two dessert choices were very good, particularly the chocolate pie with chocolate and raspberry syrup on it. We are looking forward to visiting City Square Cafe again and when we can try the outdoor seating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

CSC does a great Sunday brunch and a comfortable atmosphere for dinner. The chef is one of the best in the area with unique and traditional dishes. Good wine selection and full bar makes this a go-to place in Manassas.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice place to dine in Manassas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had the chance to eat out on the patio a couple of weeks ago. The train comes through occasionally with a loud whistle but it did not negatively influence our meal. Kind of charming in fact. Nice music was provided. We were not rushed. Our meals were good but not great. The ceaser salad was lacking croutons. Menu choices are creative and different than the standard fare. The house white wines are very good. The fried dough balls rolled in cinnamon and sugar were awesome. Susanna and Robert are wonderful hosts making you feel like family. Alittle pricey for what you get but still a wonderful meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Square Cafe also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to City Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Square Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.