We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most awful, rude staff, with pricy and tasteless food!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Panino Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Panino Restaurant
9116 Mathis Ave, Manassas, VA 20110-5291
703-335-2566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
work
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most awful, rude staff, with pricy and tasteless food!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I can't believe that this place has been in business for as long as it has. The reviews must have been written by the employees, because I can't imagine so many enjoying this restaurant. Everyone but the hostess were very snobby and rude, from the moment we walked in. The pricing is outragous, especially for the VERY poor food that they serve. We were told the specials of the evening, and when we asked what the prices were, we received a response (tone and body language) that they were appauled we had asked. The cheapest item (dinner) is around $16, and everything from this item to the priciest $30+ items are absolutley horrible. My husband ordered pasta with crab meat, and I have never tased such "fishy" tasting crab meat. It took 10 minutes plus to receive refills on drinks, and no one ever came around to ask how everything was.
Due to the way we were treated, the prices, and the horrible food, we will NOT be returning to this establishment. I recommend finding another real authentic Italian Restaurant to dine in!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fine dinning . . . in a strip mall?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Never judge a book by it's cover, or in this case, being located in a strip mall. Panino will please with fine food, as good as any from Little-Italy. Menu changes weekly and always features fresh seasonal ingredients. Save room for dessert.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

I have never been disappointed. The food is always high quality.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Its is our Special Evening Place, in particular its Wine Dinners !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

It is hard to chose among its standard menu offerings made even more difficult by its evening specials.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Really, really good. Deserves a try if you have never been.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Went to Panino to celebrate anniversary and had a really good meal. Kids (teens) came too for a nice night out and a test to keep their white shirts clean. It is an Italian restaurant, but northern; much of the food has a French flair to it.

We had wonderful, attentive service. The menu is only a fraction of what is available. The list of daily specials was impressive, including appetizers and salads as well as entrées. Waitress assured me that everything is fresh and organic. (Son ordered the snail appetizer-wanted to make sure they were not frozen.)

The bread...OH the bread! Warm, rustic loaf that was so soft on the inside, but crispy on the outside.

All of our food, appetizers, salads, entrées, desserts, coffee was excellent.

Decor is nice, yes, it is in a strip mall, but once you are inside, you forget about that. Plenty of easy parking.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panino Restaurant also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.