We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun/Creole delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okra's Louisiana Bistro

Okra's Louisiana Bistro
9110 Center St, Manassas, VA 20110-5534
703-330-2729
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 247 Restaurants in Manassas
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cajun/Creole delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great cajun food at the right price.
The atmosphere is always great and the service is good.
A friend of mine was able to host a private party in the area adjoining the restaurant (for those who are locals...this used to be the location of the Foundation Restaurant...which was also so good and owned by the same people as Okra's but I guess they just didn't get enough business at the Foundation...it was a coat and tie kind of place...but I miss it...anyhow...I'm on a tangent). You can't go wrong....if you like Cajun/Creole...this is a good spot. They have a vibrant bar area too where folks enjoy watching the big games.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    60
    23
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Yummy Blackened salmon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Blackened Salmon and cup of gumbo hit the spot. Food came quickly. Music was good. Everything else just OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good spicy cajun flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited on a Friday night and had perfect weather to sit outside. They had live music which made for a nice evening atmosphere.
Service (hostesses, food delivery) was great except for our actual server who was definitely not a conversationalist and wouldn't win any awards for enthusiasm. About the only sentence he used...four times...was "Everything good?" A man of many words.
The firecracker shrimp and fried okra starters were both good. The husband got the half po boy sandwich with a cup of gumbo soup and said he'd order them again. Portions seemed a little small but we did leave satisfied.
We'll visit again. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good cajun food in Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a very good Cajun restaurant in Manassas, VA. I grew up in Louisiana so I've had good cajun food. If you live in New Orleans you may be able to find better, but for those of us who don't this is about as good as you can expect. The seasoning is good and spicy, reminds me of living in New Iberia and Lafayette. I've only had the crawfish etouffee and fried okra, but my wife had the red beans and rice and loved it. I was skeptical of a Cajun restaurant outside Louisiana but this one surprised me. The atmosphere is good and the location is in old town Manassas near the train station. The Manassas Civil War Museum just a couple blocks away. Okra's prices are very fair so give it a try if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANASSAS
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice portions, good food, decent prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Enjoyed the atmosphere. Food was better than average - I would not recommend the tiramisu though. I like real sweetened iced tea but I'd say stay away from it unless you want a sugar overdose.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okra's Louisiana Bistro also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Okra's Louisiana Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okra's Louisiana Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.