We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slow on Service, but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmello's

Carmello's
9108 Center St., Manassas, VA 20110
703 368 5522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmello's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 235 restaurants in Manassas
Price range: $31 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Battle Street
Transit: VRE
Description: Carmello's is a family owned and operated restaurant specializing in Italian and Portuguese cuisine in Old Town Manassas since 1987.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Little Slow on Service, but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

... the food more than made up for it. We had to wait about 15 minutes for our server to come to the table. We almost left. When she finally arrived (after making a number of trips to three other tables she was covering) she was pleasant, offered us a sample of sparkling wine, and took our order.

The food: Very good. Well prepared and presented, the appetizers were just the right size and portions on the entrees were quite large. We did not order drinks after the sample of sparkling wine, but the selection available was quite nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    73
    34
    22
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Carmello's never fails to impress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We use Carmello's for some of our most special business lunches and dinners to celebrate our employees....

Great food but the service can be a bit slow...Special events and Holiday's slow thie place down substantially.

Food again is stellar... and the locations is delightful! Parking is tricky!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We got to Carmello's early in the evening, and the restaurant was no more than half full. As the evening progressed we watched everyone be served quicker and more attentively. Our food took close to a half hour and at no point did our server offer extra bread, drink refills or even ask if we needed anything. When we inquired when our food might be coming, she indicated that she was aware it was taking a long time but didn't act as if it might be a problem for us. She even looked at the empty bread basket but didn't offer a refill. Delays happen but a good restaurant knows how to engage in service recovery and that did not happen here. The food was reasonable but we won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Visited during a business trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I really enjoyed going to Carmello's in Masses, Virginia. The staff was very accommodating and they even served has complimentary champagne prior to dinner. The meal was exquisite and portion were large. The wine and drink menu was more than adequate. Desserts were shared and everyone tasted samplings on the table. I would definitely return to this restaurant, if I am in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

They handled a large group (14) very well. Menu could be a little more imaginative. Our service was excellent and wine list very good. Atmosphere is great and I wished we could have been out side but the group was too large. A little pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmello's also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Carmello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmello's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.