We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A popular local tavern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Tavern

Philadelphia Tavern
9413 Main St, Manassas, VA 20110-5419
703-393-1776
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 237 restaurants in Manassas
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A popular local tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This typical local watering hole with a well-used look in old town Manassas gave us an excellent impression although unfortunately we were not able to stay as long as we would have liked. We were short for time and at first we were a little anxious as the servers all seemed to be engaged in leisurely conversations with the regulars. But as soon as we made them aware that we needed to be served quickly they could not have been more helpful, and our meals appeared almost immediately - well cooked, tasty and reasonably priced. There is a good range of craft beers, and we wish that we had had more time to sample them. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    13
    17
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Va.
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good hot wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

That's all I have eaten here so far but they were very good. Nice hot sauce without it being a killer. I asked for crispy wings and that's what I got. Many places have trouble understanding this. The Tavern is a small restaurant/bar situated in Old Town Manassas. The only complaint I had with this lunch was the Ranch dressing served with the wings. It was a cheap store brand tasted as such. Hopefully the owners will correct this.

There was work in front of the business where they were expanding the sidewalks and setting up for future outdoor seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited this bar when my brothers and I were visiting the battlefield at Bull Run. We went back to this place every night! Great bartenders, good food, and cheap drinks. Can't beat it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Va
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This restaurant is located right by the train station in Manassas. Food is good, staff are very friendly and accomodating. We have been there several times for lunch and dinner.
Always very pleased with our selections!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An authentic slice of Philadelphia here in Manassas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As you walk through the door of this friendly pub, you enter a Philadelphia atmosphere. Sports memorabilia fills the walls and the staff is friendly and helpful. BUT the delicious Philly cheese steak sandwiches are the best out side of Philly itself and a definite reason to visit and re-visit the Philadelphia Tavern.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Tavern also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Philadelphia Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.