We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-Established Local Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Tavern

Philadelphia Tavern
9413 Main St, Manassas, VA 20110-5419
703-393-1776
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 237 Restaurants in Manassas
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Port Matilda, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well-Established Local Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We popped in for a late lunch / early dinner before a Jimmy Buffet concert at Jiffy Lube Live Amphitheater a few miles down the road in Bristow.

I had hoped for a brew-pub, and was disappointed in that aspect; however, I was not disappointed with the food that we bought.

We bought two house specialties (marked on the menu with a Liberty Bell symbol), and was glad that we did. The brie and the reuben were both excellent!

The waitstaff was friendly and attentive, bringing refills of our soft-drinks without being asked. When in the area again, I certainly would visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good local tavern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stopped in while in town for Jimmy Buffett concert. While it wasn't as crowded as some of the other pubs in the area it seemed more of a local crowd atmosphere. Looks like it has been in the town for years so it was fun to take it in.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What this place has going for it is ambiance and character. Very nicely decorated and informal and comfortable atmosphere. Three TVs going: two with MLB and one on the LL World Series. Food was pretty good and they were flexible. I had a very good Reuben sandwich, nicely presented. I didn't want the fries or chips, so they subbed in some good stir fried mixed veggies. The wife had the Mussels and Pasta and liked it, but felt it tasted like some canned marinara sauces that she has used. Her salad and the dressing were excellent (I got to eat half). The wait staff were friendly and enthusiastic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good pub food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

After reading reviews for various options in Manassas, we chose the Philadelphia Tavern. We enjoyed a great meal and the pub atmosphere. Settled in downtown Mannassas near the Amtrack station, the pub offers great beer-battered fish and chips as well as Philly Cheesesteaks and other ample sized sandwiches. The service was great and our drinks kept full. We had the beer battered mushrooms for an appetizer. They were served fresh and hot with ranch dressing for dipping. There was plenty for our party - especially considering the size of our entrees! The homemade chips and fries are great and a bonus when getting a sandwich or fish. Great choice!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good local pub food in Manassas!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We couldn't decide so we split a reuben and fish/chips. Good! White wine for wife and Yuengling for me. A little loud, but it was Friday night, and I got to watch my Nationals play on tv.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Tavern also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Philadelphia Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.