We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taco Tuesday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
7803 Sudley Road, Manassas, VA 20109
571-358-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 235 restaurants in Manassas
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Gainesville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I had driven past Cafe Rio numerous times and finally stopped there on a Tuesday night. The restaurant was hopping as it was their Taco Tuesday. The flour tortillas are made fresh in front of you, so soft yet with just the right amount of crispness, best I've ever had! I tried the beef, chicken and sweet barbacoa pork tacos, cheese is melted, nice fresh crisp lettuce and a cup of fantastic pico/salsa to put on top. Top it off with rice and beans, plus a strawberry lemonade with free refills, all for under $7! Cafe Rio is awesome, it will be a regular stop for me, the sweet barbacoa is my favorite. I only wish I would have stopped there sooner, will try their enchiladas next.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    17
    8
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Daughter Begs to Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We found the restaurant at the recommendation of the Fairfield Inn~Manassas front desk staff. They were right about how fabulous the food is! We have returned numerous times for the very tasty, fresh, large portioned, reasonably priced food. Its a fun addition to be serenaded if you are a first time customer. Our personal favorite is the taco salad with the beef....so flavorful, a huge mound of tasty salad, rice, beans, cilantro, pico de gallo, and the fabulous green house dressing! We get a craving for the food and drive 45 minutes to get it. Wish there was a Cafe Rio in Front Royal, where we reside!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Chipotle meets Taco Bell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was not really thrilled with this place. Everyone was excited when it opened, but it is really just like Chipotle; you walk through a line and pick what you want and they make it for you. The selection is a little different, and the food is certainly not bad, it's just not anything that really competes arguably with favorites like Chipotle, California Tortilla and Taco Bell, which are all within a 3 mile radius of each other. I encourage people to visit and try their spin on Tex-Mex, but not because it's anything you will never eat anywhere else or made to perfection. It's good, but not otherworldly or unique.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Neat place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have never been to a Cafe Rio before, I am assuming this is a chain. Anyway, Pleasantly surprised with the many vegetarian options that were available. I got the salad, it was so good and I had to save half of it for the next day, large portions.
They will sing to you if you have never eaten there before or if you order something that they have a song made up for. Really cute.
The line did not move as fast as I would have liked, however, it was worth the wait as they grill mostly everything in front of you. Will definitely go again when I am in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not bad, for Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Without a doubt, the best Tex-Mex is in the Mom and Pop places in Texas and Arizona (and probably New Mexico, but I've not eaten there). This place is as good as I've seen in Virginia though. I had enchiladas and the wife had the tacos (soft shell) and they were pretty good. Several different fillings - we had the chili beef in our main courses, and the pulled pork with our Nachos. Not bad but the pulled pork would have been better in something else, and the Nachos would have been better with the chili beef. You live and learn. Huge portions - we could not finish ours and if we go back, I'll forgo the appetizers, because it was just too much. Excellent showmanship among the cook staff and you get to watch everything getting prepared. The tortillas are home made and very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.