We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant, but good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katerina's Greek Cuisine

Katerina's Greek Cuisine
9212 Center St, Manassas, VA 20110-5535
703-361-4976
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 232 restaurants in Manassas
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Manassas, VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, but good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went for our first time in July 21, 2013. Great little place, mostly Greek food. More upscale than Ashton Diner, and food quality better, but higher priced. We just had iced tea with a couple appetizers, bruschetta and marinated octopus. Both delicious! We ordered just one entrée, the Taste of Greece since it gives you smaller portions of 3 different entrees with a salad. Great stuff! Then of course we finished it off with the cliché but tasty baklava for dessert. Total came to $47.79 plus tip. Less formal setting, more conducive to children and casual dining. Our waitress Mayia was very pleasant and great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    90
    34
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Point, NC
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stopped I on a Thursday evening without a reservation around 7:30. I was lucky and got a table as the place is small and they were almost full. The waitress was very informative about the menu and the various specials and helped me to select one of the lamb dishes that was a special that night. The dish came with a Greek salad and roasted Greek potatoes. It had a wine reduction sauce with vegetables and it was all very good. Even the house red wine was good as they did not have a large selection by the glass. The service was very good and it seemed that everyone was helping each table as necessary. The food came out very quickly and service was good throughout the meal. Dinner ranged from around $15 to $25 and they also had salads or lighter fare available. Overall a very enjoyable meal and everyone that I asked had nothing but good things to say about Katerina's.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Katerina's never disappoints. I have been several times and each time is amazing. They import their feta, olive oil, and oregano from Greece so everything tastes fresh. I have tried everything on the menu. Yes everything and nothing disappoints. The actual restaurant is small only 10 tables so go at off times or make a reservation. Sometimes even when you make a reservation you still have to wait but it is so worth it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Greek Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were driving through Manassas on the way back to DC from a trip. So fortunate to find Katerina's. Delicious homemade food with excellent, friendly service. We had multiple appetizers. The tzatzeki was the best I have ever eaten, and I often make it at home. Dolmas, hummus and eggplant dip (served with warm pita) all wonderful. We also enjoyed a lamb kapama special, a shank stewed with vegetables that was served tender and falling off the bone. The house dessert of phyllo stuffed with custard and sprinkled with cinnamon was also delicious. We look forward to making special trips from DC to eat at Katerina's again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Great Greek Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I decided to try Katerina's for lunch after reading reviews on TA. When we arrived, we didn't see parking for the restaurant, so I called. They told me that they have an agreement with the BB&T bank and we could park there. Once we were seated, our server, Andrew, immediately appeared to take our drink orders. I asked if they had Greek coffee. They don't, but they do offer espresso drinks. We ordered the combination of three appetizers, Meliganosalata (eggplant spread), Tzatziki (cucumber spread), and Mediterranean Olive spread served with pita bread. There were large portions of each spread and plenty of warm fresh pita. Delicious. Next, we ordered the Saganaki (flamed cheese) served with pita. It was perfectly cooked. Again - delicious. We had about half of the spreads and pita left which we decided to take home, along with an order of the "Taste of Greece" to have for dinner. The Taste of Greece included a Greek salad, Moussaka, Pastitsio and Spanakopita, perfect for splitting. Everything was excellent and we will return. They only serve beer and wine, so no Ouzo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katerina's Greek Cuisine also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Katerina's Greek Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katerina's Greek Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.