We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the Best Greek Food Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katerina's Greek Cuisine

Katerina's Greek Cuisine
9212 Center St, Manassas, VA 20110-5535
703-361-4976
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 235 restaurants in Manassas
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maybe the Best Greek Food Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

At first we were slightly put off by what we thought was an excessive corkage fee but very soon moved way beyond that! The Spanakopita was by far the best I've ever had (apologies to my hometown favorite restaurant), the Gyros and greek dessert - again - the best I've ever had. Regarding the wine, while we did bring our own in spite of the corkage fee, the owner came over and offered us all a glass of his menu favorite wine - which was great. The whole resturant was hospitable, warm and friendly with outstanding food!. Our group ranked it our best meal in Manassas Junction.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    102
    36
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bealeton, Virginia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“STILL #1 FOR GREEK CUISINE IN MY BOOK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Tonight we gambled and won!! Normally Friday nights are a line to get in... tonight we walked right in around 6pm. Faster than normal food delivery made it much more pleasant too. We enjoyed a panni Ruben and two gyro platters with an appetizer of calamari everything was perfect. Got two orders of baklava to go, was kind of shocked that it was $5.25 for each one since most of the other prices are very reasonable. Will research a bit but taking in account the other prices I just thought it would be between $3.50 - $4

Other than a small case of sticker shock I will return.... great food and generous portions too!! Reservations are available for parties of 5 or larger only.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“As good as your going to get without a flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We discovered this little gem over a year ago. To be honest we miss the days when it was just that now getting a table on weekend nights can be difficult. It is still worth it. The owner is wonderful and always working so hard to keep the food authentic and good. We love the dolmades and the pistisio is some of the best we have had. Having just returned from Greece for 6 weeks Katerina's holds the bar high with respect to their food.

I hope this wonderful little place stays authentic and can handle the crowds without losing it's quality. Time will tell but I am keeping my fingers crossed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Greek Food for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The restaurant was crowded and understaffed. I ordered the Gyro platter which was disappointing because the meat is pre ordered and not made at the restaurant ( it was cooked at the restaurant but the meat was made by another company). I requested an additional ziziki sauce and they slapped me with a dollar extra without telling i will cost more. The extra ziziki sauce was not more than 2 oz. I don't mind paying the money if I was told before hand that it will cost the extra buck. The tables are stacked like sardines with less than a foot between them so it was as life you are dining with everyone and hearing everyone conversation. Over all, it was good but I had better in Athens, Greece and at my home town. The waiter was friendly and courteous. I recommend the restaurant for anyone who wants to try Greek food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A popular new hot-spot & brite light in a little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Crowded and busy, a blur of waiters and servers going to and fro, with a tiny area waiting line; this small restaurant is worthy of a trip. Traditinal Greek cuisine, and American stand-by's. Good pricing, good service, and a great atmosphere. You'll miss this tucked away place if you drive by too fast, so look for the downtown Manassas pavillion and all those parked patron cars. We tried Moussaka = excellent, and Spanopitkva (spellling?) = excellent. Date night will be a safe bet, and just business casual enough to find many sitting outside when the weather is nice. Is nice to see the staff displaying good team work, pleasant personalities all served up with great food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katerina's Greek Cuisine also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Katerina's Greek Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katerina's Greek Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.