We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gunni's Restaurant and Grille

Gunni's Restaurant and Grille
8441 Irongate Way, Manassas, VA 20109
571 208 0111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 235 restaurants in Manassas
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a fine dining Italian and American Restaurant, where you can come and enjoy a delicious meal as well as see how our chefs cook and prepare your meal thanks to our unique open kitchen. We also have a fine selection of wines to go along with your dish.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My coworkers and I eat at Gunnis all the time after work. The food, service, and owners are great,and I enjoy myself every time I go. The live entertainment and atmosphere is also very family friendly! If you are looking for a place near Manassas, Gunnis is they way to go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    52
    22
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Village, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a nice surprise! Great food, immaculately clean and attentive service! We were just passing through and decided to stop for lunch. I'm so glad we did!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“In One word Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch here during a stay in Manassas to visit the civil war battle fields. It was great. There's parking they take credit card. Only thing I will say us I was only customer so that could be why I got such great service. But service aside try the lobster bisque and crab stuffed mushroom they are awesome. Price wise I had two appetizers and a sandwich for $27 can't go wrong with the value so my advice give it a try

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful, but room for improvement...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

First, I had no idea this place even existed until a few days ago. It is literally a hidden little gem in Manassas.

When we walked in, it was a very intimate, nicely romantic little place. There is a table off to the side, as if reserved for those who have a special occasion, etc. Its a cute little touch. Its small, definitely not a large place. But again, it is intimate, rather than cramped.

It took a few minutes for the waitress to mosey over to us, and we noticed others trickling in. We were disappointed that the service was so slow, but perhaps we could chalk it up to taking time to enjoy the meal rather than rush through it, a la Europeans.

We also noticed there was only one waitress for all 6 or 7 tables of people. That's one major strike, because that can get ugly quickly. But, everyone seemed to be mindful and it was quiet and comfortable.

And now for the important stuff: the noms.

The spinach and artichoke dip was fantastic. You can tell they make it themselves, rather than slop it into a dish from a container or frozen pod. It was not as creamy as most places, but it was distinctive and tasty. The only qualm we had, was that it only came with 4 pathetic looking sticks of bread. (See the pic)

I tried the shrimp scampi, which was delicious. Was a small portion for the price, which was a bit surprising, but the shrimp were gigantic and clearly of good quality. I ended up actually eating it all, and feeling full. Its not gotta-have-it sized meals here, so keep that in mind. Another homage to European dining, rather than family style humungous portions, like at a Carabbas. My husband had a steak, which came out cooked exactly as he asked, and tasted like a steak. Not a lot to report on that front.

From this initial visit, I definitely see some potential. I will return a few more times to see what else I like, the menu looked very nice and diverse. Definitely check it out for a quick, romantic/cozy meal in fast-food-central Manassas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious eggplant and personal service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I'm pretty sure that we arrived just as they typically would close between lunch and dinner, but the owner welcomed us in and we were treated to an anniversary lunch with the dining room to ourselves! The service was impeccable and the food was everything that other reviewers claimed it was. I had the eggplant rollatini and Caesar salad, which were both delicious, but the dessert of a "toasted almond" flavored tiramisu brought me back to my youth when I would look forward to the Good Humor man doleing out his toasted almond bars! Yummy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunni's Restaurant and Grille also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County

Been to Gunni's Restaurant and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunni's Restaurant and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.