We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting experience in lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manassas National Battlefield Park

Manassas National Battlefield Park
6511 Sudley Road, Manassas, VA 20109
703-361-1339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Manassas
Type: Battlefields, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 5,000-acre park that was the scene of two major Civil War battles.
Essex
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very interesting experience in lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a great site. Well laid out to explain the first battles of the civil war in July 1861. We walked the shorter trail but you could spend a lot more time walking if you wanted to. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    129
    19
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not just for history buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Ok so I am reviewing the battlefields not in terms of historical value for sightseeing but in terms of hiking trails. We used the trails around and through the historical grounds as a six mile hike one weekend and I found it very enjoyable. It isn't physically challenging in terms of terrain but takes you through woods, fields and enough historical sites to keep even marginally intellectual people interested. At times the trails were a bit confusing so I recommend getting a trail map but a great walk that would accommodate varying athletic abilities. Nicely maintained nature!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A few Hours Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The battlefield site is very simple, but with a well organized self-guided tour through the fields we learned a lot about the battles (first and second Bull Run) and the people involved. The museum as also very simple, but well done and informative. We spent about 3 hours here total and really enjoyed the learning experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Knowledgable but not enthusiastic guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a park ranger guide with our group of ACW tourists. Perhaps it was because of the rain but this guy definitely didn't want to be out in the field with us. He was very knowledgeable but his lack of enthusiasm was distracting from the information.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and cool history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

When we got there we went to the museum and read all the history about the battlefield. We went on a 45 minute tour but seemed short to me because it was so interesting. After that we went to the second Manassas tour and it was also very interesting and rich with history. The last thing we did was see the the movie they were showing which was awesome. Overall the battlefield was full and rich with history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manassas National Battlefield Park also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Manassas National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manassas National Battlefield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.