We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few Hours Well Spent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manassas National Battlefield Park

Manassas National Battlefield Park
6511 Sudley Road, Manassas, VA 20109
703-361-1339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 attractions in Manassas
Type: Battlefields
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 5,000-acre park that was the scene of two major Civil War battles.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A few Hours Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The battlefield site is very simple, but with a well organized self-guided tour through the fields we learned a lot about the battles (first and second Bull Run) and the people involved. The museum as also very simple, but well done and informative. We spent about 3 hours here total and really enjoyed the learning experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    115
    14
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Knowledgable but not enthusiastic guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a park ranger guide with our group of ACW tourists. Perhaps it was because of the rain but this guy definitely didn't want to be out in the field with us. He was very knowledgeable but his lack of enthusiasm was distracting from the information.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and cool history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

When we got there we went to the museum and read all the history about the battlefield. We went on a 45 minute tour but seemed short to me because it was so interesting. After that we went to the second Manassas tour and it was also very interesting and rich with history. The last thing we did was see the the movie they were showing which was awesome. Overall the battlefield was full and rich with history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwestern
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Really liked the lit display that brought the movement of the battle in that area to life. Just lovely grounds that are scenic in every direction. So nice that it has remained that way and you don't feel like there are a million subdivisions right there close.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun for an hour or 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I came here by myself and just did the walking tour, you follow the path and there are some plaques describing different views. It is a good part of history and it is neat to see the canons. It seems that there are extensive trails and a fellow in the museum told me that there are 26 miles of trails so if you have a lot of time or are a jogger, it looks like it would be great. However, if you only have an hour or 2 to spend some time there, you can get through and feel like you've seen what you need to. Not much else to do in Manassas so I see why this is the #1 attraction.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manassas National Battlefield Park also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Manassas National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manassas National Battlefield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manassas National Battlefield Park to your Saves list