We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's oh kay for a quick tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manassas National Battlefield Park

Manassas National Battlefield Park
6511 Sudley Road, Manassas, VA 20109
703-361-1339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Manassas
Type: Battlefields
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 5,000-acre park that was the scene of two major Civil War battles.
USA
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“It's oh kay for a quick tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'd say this is one of those things you visit for a quickie. Maybe 30-45 minutes. Go in the main house and read everything and then walk around a bit. It's fine if you want to walk on a nice day around, but there's not a wealth of things to see that would occupy hours of your life. I'd give it more time if you are a serious Civil War buff and go on the tour. I stayed with it for about 20 minutes and got a bit bored.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    122
    16
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was by chance that we ran across Manassas National Battlefield Park. It wasn't on our to do list, but after the visit it really should have been.

The rangers are very sweet and knowledgeable. The visitor center has an impressive display of artifacts and a retelling of the battle. Go through this portion of the visitor section before heading outside, it'll make a difference in seeing the battle during the walking tour.

At our visit the weather was perfect! Once we stepped outside we started the walking tour around the battlefield. The area has been kept the same landscape as it was during the battle. There are makers around with information of the wounded and deceased soldiers and the cannons are in the very positions they were during the fighting. I seriously felt the intense fear of battle just imagining the confederates coming out of the trees to attack. It was a learning experience for everyone!

There isn't a fee for the park itself but, there is a small fee to go through the 'house tour and movie'.

MUST:
WEAR COMFY SHOES
have a camera
have some water with you.
we went in early April so the whether was just turning warm

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Manassas, history retold by people who understand and care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I recently went on a tour of US Civil War Battle Sights as arranged by All-In-One-Tours. Entitled 'The Early Years' we visited Leesburg, Manassas, Harper's Ferry, Antietam and Gettysburg. It was an absolutely marvelous tour giving us a great understanding of the years leading up to war, a graphic understanding of the sheer carnage and sacrifice made by so many everyday Americans pitted against fellow US citizens and a feeling of the effect of this civil strife on today's United States.
Not being American and therefore not having a grounding and good understand of US history, we did a little homework before our tour and watched the excellent 12 hour Ken Burns Civil War CD box set, highly recommendable, and also saw the Killing of Lincoln as screened on National Geographic. We then finished our trip with a visit to the Ford Theatre and Petersen House in Washington DC where Lincoln was shot and died.

Manassas, of all visitor centres that we visited we appreciated the Manassas centre a little more than we did the somewhat larger centres at other sites. The LED assisted audio description of the way the first battle started, as shown on the relief map was an excellent introduction to the 40 minute film that runs on the hour.

Following our visit to the visitor centre we were given a detailed description of the two battles at Manassas by volunteer guide Bryant Kincaid who was absolutely excellent in his description of how the various battles came about and the consequences of decisions taken during battle and the significance of the outcomes of the various military manoeuvres.

The weather was not too kind to us as it snowed for most of the previous night and much of the morning of the tour but this didn't deter us or Bryant and we walked all the battles and were shown the key geographical features of the terrain that were so beneficial to those defending and so deadly to those attacking.

A really moving description of some of the early skirmishes of such a deadly war.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Civil War History Worth Visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family recently took a trip to Manassas National Battlefield Park and was impressed with the Visitor's Center and the preservation of the battlefield. The Volunteer Guide and the Park Ranger were both very knowledgable and interesting to listen to. We highly recommend spending a day learning about what took place there 150+ years ago.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Park and Great History Lessons to be Learned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This park was wonderful. Loved walking in the park and reliving what it must have been like to be there. Great 45 minute movie that explains it all (with re-enactors). My four kids learned a lot and did the Junior Ranger program too. I learned a lot too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manassas National Battlefield Park also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Manassas National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manassas National Battlefield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.