We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go For A Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manassas National Battlefield Park

Manassas National Battlefield Park
6511 Sudley Road, Manassas, VA 20109
703-361-1339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Manassas
Type: Battlefields, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 5,000-acre park that was the scene of two major Civil War battles.
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
438 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Go For A Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you just go to the visitors center, you truly miss out on all there is to see at Manassas. There are two great hikes; one for the First Battle of Manassas and one for the Second Battle. When I visited back in November, I only had time to do one of the hikes and opted for the First Battle trail (it is the shorter of the two). It was a cold day, so I kept a brisk pace. It was nice to get out and see the battlefield and place of historic significance were well marked with information placards. I think I learned more about the battle by doing the hike than I ever did in High School History (also learned why it is also called Bull Run). I hope to go back soon and do the Second Battle Trail and learn what happened then.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    129
    19
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great for long relaxing walks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Brings history and nature together. However, majority of the activities are focused in one place only around the visitor's center. The further you get away from it the less marked are the trails and in some places they are easy to confuse. Most paths are decently kept up and being mostly flat they offer an easy walking experience. Various length trails can challenge the patrons. If you choose spring or summer for a visit you will experience beautiful flowers along the trails, especially beyond the Stone house.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lot of grass and some cannons. . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I didn't really "get it". . .it was just a lot of grass and some cannons (few statues of famous people). It's nice to memorialize people and things but not necessary to take up that much space to do it. . .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great place to take a step back in history and get a good first hand look at history. The visitors center has several good displays that are informative. Worth the time!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Trail Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have taken my horse to Manassas Battlefield Park to go on a trail ride. This is a very popular place for equestrians to trailer their horses and go on a beautiful ride. There are numerous trails and the property has many acres to ride on

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manassas National Battlefield Park also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Manassas National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manassas National Battlefield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.