We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and accommodating... love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Manassas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Manassas to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Manassas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Manassas
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Quiet and accommodating... love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am in the area for a conference in Washington, DC and in order to save money I opted to rent a car and stay outside the city. I had initially planned to stay a little closer, but decided to venture to Manassas. I arrived six hours before check-in, and the front desk clerk made every effort to get me checked in early even though the hotel was at 100% capacity the night before. I did check in 2 hours early, and I was even given an apology for not being accommodated sooner! The room was spotlessly clean, and even though they were at almost full capacity during my stay (walking down the hallway on my floor I could hear music, TVs and talking in various rooms) once I was in my room it was completely quiet. I stayed 4 nights and I'm a light sleeper, it's a first that I've stayed in a hotel and wasn't woken by noise from other rooms. I've stayed at really expensive hotels in DC... they charge for $40 a night for parking and up to $16 a day for internet, and they put a hold on your credit card up to $50 a night for "incidentals". Candlewood really suited my needs - free parking, free internet and only a 10% hold for my whole stay. Plus the full kitchen saved me LOTS - I was able to cook my own meals. The only drawback (and not the hotel's fault) is the really nasty traffic on Route 66 into DC. But for the savings in hotel rates and the ability to cook my own meals, it's well worth it. Supermarkets are plentiful and nearby. Candlewood Suites is my go-to now for my business travel.

Room Tip: Bring a small fan, the windows don't open. A bit stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Johanna S,

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write a review. We strive to provide an excellent experience from providing great guest service to making you feel like this is your "home away from home" while travelling on business. I will pass on your compliments to our staff and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    19
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
21
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff was friendly and accommodating and the room was very clean. They convinced me to sign up for their rewards program, and I found out this is the same company as Holiday Inns, which is nice because they are everywhere. I wish I had signed up before as I have stayed at Holiday Inns a lot. The main difference with this hotel compared to holiday inn is that they have kitchens in the rooms which is nice if you are staying a bit longer.

Room Tip: 5th floor appears to be smoking floor as my friend who smokes was up there. I stayed on 2nd floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Sarah G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will pass along your compliments to our staff! Also, congratulations on signing up for our rewards program, we look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i came there for my bday and it was really closet to the venue "jeffy lube live" where i was going, the room was very clean and the staff was friendly, took them forever to try to locate my reward number so i had to go through my email to pull and up and the fd staff took my phone and logged my rewards points in but somehow i still near got points for my stay :( , the only thing that threw me off was when i walked into the room the lamp shade was broken ( it looked very bad they should have fixed it before placing a guest there! But i would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
MrsGill04,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at our property. I am glad to hear that you were happy with the quality of service provided by the front desk. We pride ourselves on providing great service and a wonderful stay. I am genuinely sorry to hear about the inconveniences faced during your stay in regards to pulling up your IHG Rewards number and the broken lampshade in your room. We will be meeting with the front desk, housekeeping and maintenance to avoid these issues going forward. We look forward to having you back at Candlewood again soon and providing you with a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did not want to drive all the way home late at night after a Jimmy Buffett concert at Jiffy Lube Live so needed a hotel close by. This hotel is close to the concert venue and I was very happy with my stay. The staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean. I did not use the kitchen since I was just there for a quick overnight stay. Internet speed was good. Overall, I can't say anything negative about this place.

Room Tip: My room was quiet on the first floor, but this hotel is a little set back from the main road so I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here at Candlewood Suites Manassas. Being the closest hotel to Jiffy Lube Live, we love having the opportunity to have concert goers stay with us and look forward to hearing from our guests. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to having you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked Candlewood Suites solely because of its close proximity to the Jiffy Lube Pavilion. Stayed here two nights including the night of the concert we were attending. Its location is very convenient to the concert venue and for that reason alone I would recommend staying here if you are attending an event at Jiffy Lube. We were upgraded upon check-in, a nice touch. However, there is no pool or hot tub which is a nice feature at many hotels. Also, though the room was a non-smoking room, my wife and I notice the odor of cigarettes as soon as we opened the door to our room. The rooms furnishings were dated, but relatively clean. The AC was temperamental and difficult to adjust to a comfortable temperature.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We value all guest comments and suggestions and we thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. We do take guest satisfaction and customer service seriously and I am genuinely sorry to hear about the odor in the room. It is being looked into and taken care of by our front desk and housekeeping staff. It is unfortunate that we did not make a good impression on you during your recent stay, though I hope you will come visit again the next time you are in the area to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is our first time staying at a Candlewood Suites property. It is pet friendly and has a full kitchen, These properties have only Queen size beds--no Kings. We stayed in the one bedroom suite while in Manassas on business. I was surprised to learn that the traditional free breakfast is not offered. The rate was great and the staff was pleasant and professional. There was a problem with the rewards night I booked that bookended the paid room. The fault was mine. I overlooked the room description that I booked with the rewards stay. We were in a one bedroom suite and the reward night was for a studio suite. The front desk solved the issue with grace and professionalism. I did not want to move rooms for just one night. They allowed me to stay in the one bedroom suite. Had the hotel been full, however, I'm certain we would have had to move rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Zoomaster,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. Also, thank you for the positive feedback regarding our staff and the handling of your rewards night reservation. We do our best to upgrade our Rewards members whenever possible and to make them feel right at home. I hope you will come back to stay with us again soon, and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last night for a concert at Jiffy Lube Live. The 2 biggest problems I had were 1) the room smelled of musty cigarette. It wasn't terrible, but definitely noticeable. 2) I booked 2 queens and the beds were clearly just doubles. I liked their store with the honor system. That was nice. Also, having a kitchenette was great. I just wish the room hadn't smelled bad and had been as advertised. Still great for the cost. I might stay there again in the future, but I'd probably try the Marriott up the road first.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Kaili D,

We value all guest comments and suggestions and we thank you for letting us know that you were less than satisfied during your stay. We do take guest satisfaction and customer service very seriously and I am sorry to hear about the unpleasant odor in your room. It is being looked into and taken care of by our staff. It is unfortunate that we did not make a good impression on you during your recent stay, though I hope you will come visit again the next time you are in the area. Again, we thank you for writing us a review and we hope you’ll give us another chance to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Manassas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Manassas

Address: 11220 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Manassas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Manassas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Manassas 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel is the area s newest all suite hotel, conveniently located at I-66, exit 47. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or for an extended stay, the Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel provides our guests with all the comforts of home. In their spacious suites, guests can cook meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Guests can relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free DVD library on the 32 LCD TV, and will enjoy a great night s sleep in their Sealy beds featuring the Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone, voicemail and free high-speed Internet.The Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel features a free fitness center, free guest laundry room, 24-hour business center with free Internet, and outdoor gazebo with complimentary gas grills. Many local favorite restaurants are nearby, but for those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch and dinner options. This beautiful hotel is a great alternative to corporate apartments and is the perfect environment for government, relocation and temporary housing needs. The hotel allows easy access to Washington DC, Dulles Airport and Quantico, and is within minutes of Dulles Expo, GMU, Lockheed Martin, Manassas Battlefield, Micron and Nissan Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Manassas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Manassas Hotel Manassas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Manassas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;