We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Manassas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Manassas to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Manassas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Smelly room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last night for a concert at Jiffy Lube Live. The 2 biggest problems I had were 1) the room smelled of musty cigarette. It wasn't terrible, but definitely noticeable. 2) I booked 2 queens and the beds were clearly just doubles. I liked their store with the honor system. That was nice. Also, having a kitchenette was great. I just wish the room hadn't smelled bad and had been as advertised. Still great for the cost. I might stay there again in the future, but I'd probably try the Marriott up the road first.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Kaili D,

We value all guest comments and suggestions and we thank you for letting us know that you were less than satisfied during your stay. We do take guest satisfaction and customer service very seriously and I am sorry to hear about the unpleasant odor in your room. It is being looked into and taken care of by our staff. It is unfortunate that we did not make a good impression on you during your recent stay, though I hope you will come visit again the next time you are in the area. Again, we thank you for writing us a review and we hope you’ll give us another chance to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
23
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting some wineries in the area. We were very pleased with the accomodations. The room was simple, clean and fresh looking. The room was very functional with a recliner and also a kitchen near the entrance to the room. The folks at the front desk were very pleasant as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Barry,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to always provide excellent accommodations and service, and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Manassas and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed with my family here for 3 days while visiting family and we were very pleased with our stay. We visited DC twice and although distance wise it is not so bad there can be a bit of traffic if you leave before 9am. The second day we left the hotel at 10am and we were in DC in no time. The facility itself is very clean and you could see that they care about the condition of the property. With the family, the kitchen was a plus to store and reheat leftovers we had. Next time we are back in town, this will be our first choice for a hotel in Manassas.

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom suite which was an exceptionally large room. My husband and I had a separate bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our property. We take great pride in our hotel and in providing exceptional service to our guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the kitchenette! We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit to Manassas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for a show at Jiffy Lube Live. I reserved the room a couple months in advance and called a week ahead of check in to confirm my reservation due to the fact I reserved through a travel site. When calling to confirm my reservation I specifically asked for the check in time and was promptly told 1pm. Upon arrival we were greeted by a rude manager on duty who quickly explained how busy the hotel was that day and that check in was not until 3pm. I was cutoff mid sentence throughout the conversation when trying to explain that I had called ahead of time to confirm check in times. Not to mention the manager was also on a separate phone call at the time and interjected in my conversation with the associate working the front desk to tell me check in was not until 3pm. Luckily the associate working the front desk was able to accommodate our "early" arrival and we went to our room. Overall the hotel is clean and the room was comfortable enough for the night. The only other complaint I have is the air conditioning is on a sensor which is located out of site of the bed. Therefore the temperature of the room wasn't comfortable while sleeping. I would not stay here again simply because of the service I received from what is supposed to be a manager on duty upon arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear starlillie90,

We value all guest comments and suggestions and we thank you for letting us know that you were less than satisfied during your stay. As a General Manager at this hotel, I take customer service very seriously and try to keep all our guests as comfortable and happy as possible at our hotel. It is unfortunate that we did not make a good impression on you and we want to change your mind about our hotel.After going through your comments we had a meeting with our staff and have addressed this issue in detail. I do apologize for all the inconvenience this caused. Again, we thank you for writing us a review and we hope you’ll give us another chance to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I spent one night since we were going to a concert at the nearby Jiffy Lube Live. It was only 3 miles away so it was a great location. The room was adequate however it could have used a luggage rack. It also had a bit of a foul smell which I believe the hotel knew about since there was a deodorizer plugged in. However, it was not bad enough for us to aski for a new room. We did like having the kitchen as we used the downstairs pantry to purchase items. I have posted a few pics of some of the items, which were reasonably priced. You are on the honor system to write down what you bought. They also have a Lending Locker for games and kitchen items, although we did not have a need for them. I posted a pic of the locker as well. Overall, we were happy and would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Theresa,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback and are glad that you did enjoy your stay at the hotel. We are the closet hotel to Jiffy Lube and are a perfect fit for concert night stays. As a team, we do try to make this place as comfortable as possible for our guests. We have listened to your comments and have passed on luggage rack request to upper management for review. We look forward to seeing you again in near future. Again thanks for staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for a concert at Jiffy Lube Live. The experience exceeded expectations. The sheets and towels are of good quality. The room is spacious. Although the decor is not particularly modern or fashionable, it is functional and the room is clean. The shower had much better water pressure than some of the more expensive hotels.

The staff could not have been more gracious and helpful. We asked to move from a 1st floor room - no problem - we were moved to the 4th floor. The hair dryer didn't work - no problem - a gentleman from maintenance was at the room in five minutes and replaced the dryer.

One suggestion would be to figure out a way to have two night tables rather than one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear DCaprilee,

Thank you for staying at Candlewood Manassas and providing us with your valuable comments. We enjoyed being of service to you and we are delighted that we were able to give you the best value for you money.We have noted and escalated your suggestion about two night stands in the room. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very happy that I chose this hotel. The staff was very pleasant and the quality of the rooms were great. This was the first hotel I have stayed where it seems that the rooms looked better than the pictures. I stayed at one Candlewood Suites before and the bedding and carpet there seemed tired and worn. Here that was not the case and both the bedding and carpet all seemed very new and contemporary. It was nice to see that management was willing to spend money to keep the property up to date. This is a great choice for a hotel in Manassas.

Room Tip: I booked a one bedroom suite and the room was perfect. It was very large with a separate living are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear James,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review about your experience with us. As a team, we work together to ensure each and every guest feels special and well taken cared of. Glad to hear we have accomplished that during your stay. Besides the amenities you have already mentioned, please keep in mind that we also offer free use of the grills in our gazebo area as well as a free lending library with a wide selection of DVDs, CDs and Books. We are looking forward to your next visit with us, thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites Manassas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Candlewood Suites Manassas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Manassas

Address: 11220 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Manassas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Manassas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Manassas 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel is the area s newest all suite hotel, conveniently located at I-66, exit 47. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or for an extended stay, the Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel provides our guests with all the comforts of home. In their spacious suites, guests can cook meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Guests can relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free DVD library on the 32 LCD TV, and will enjoy a great night s sleep in their Sealy beds featuring the Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone, voicemail and free high-speed Internet.The Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel features a free fitness center, free guest laundry room, 24-hour business center with free Internet, and outdoor gazebo with complimentary gas grills. Many local favorite restaurants are nearby, but for those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch and dinner options. This beautiful hotel is a great alternative to corporate apartments and is the perfect environment for government, relocation and temporary housing needs. The hotel allows easy access to Washington DC, Dulles Airport and Quantico, and is within minutes of Dulles Expo, GMU, Lockheed Martin, Manassas Battlefield, Micron and Nissan Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Manassas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Manassas Hotel Manassas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Manassas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.