We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room and service far better than we expected at this price point.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Manassas

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Manassas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Manassas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Manassas
Haymarket, VA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Room and service far better than we expected at this price point.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were very impressed with Candlewood Suites.

It was obvious that the Candlewood designers had tried very hard to anticipate what someone who was staying at one of their hotels--particularly for a somewhat extended stay--would need for a comfortable/productive stay.

We stayed in a queen junior suite; our bed was very comfortable, and the bed linen was of surprisingly good quality and softness, there were the usual basic toiletries and plenty of large, soft towels and wash cloths in their fairly large bathroom, and the water pressure in the shower was good. Housekeeping routinely changes bed linens once a week, but you could get new bed linens, towels, and supplies on request.

The suite had a full sized refrigerator w/freezer, a toaster, coffee maker, full-sized microwave, and a granite topped food prep area with a stainless sink and garbage disposal, along with a minimal supply of dishes, cook wear, and utensils. There was a table/desk with a swiveling/rocker high-backed executive type chair and another wooden chair as well, plus a recliner in one corner of the room. You were able to control the room’s heating/AC and fan settings. There was a small flat screen TV, and most noticeably very good lighting throughout—something lacking in many much more expensive hotels—and quite a few four outlet electrical outlets—some with GFI-- spotted throughout the room.

Notable, too, was the fairly high ceiling over the food prep area which rose to a 12 foot or more height over the bed area, giving our room –already probably a little bit bigger than average--an air of spaciousness. Dogs are allowed and, while we saw a dog or two being walked on the premises, we heard only a few barks during our stay which were not enough to be annoying.

The premises were spotless and the service friendly and very accommodating.

All in all we, felt that we got great value for our money and had a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Don't book a room opposite the vending/exercise area that gets a lot of traffic 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Observer1,

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. It is a delight to hear that we have surprised you with the size and quality of our suites. Our housekeeping team takes their time in cleaning each guest rooms ensuring everything looks wonderful when you check in. You are absolutely right. The candlewoods are designed to offer long term housing to guests such as you. All the amenities ranging from on site cupboard to extended stay rates work well in that direction. Again we are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us here at Candlewood Manassas. We are looking forward to your next visit with us! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    19
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
21
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend. We had a suite with a queen bed and kitchen. Room was clean and large for just us two. Kitchen came with cups, silverwear, nice size fridge/freezer. I love that they work on the honors system down at the little shop in the lobby where they have complimentary coffee and goodies such as beverages, cereals, candies etc! I recommend taking the coffee pot from your room and filling it down at the little shop, its very good! The food in the lobby shop is very reasonable unlike other hotels that mark up food items exorbitantly! I recommend this hotel for traveling families, couples or even solo business trips. There is a gym and card only entry to various exit/entrances for safety.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Seafoodjunkie91,

Thank you for leaving us an excellent review here on tripadvisor. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope work will bring you back our way again in the future. Looking forward to your next visit with us. Glad you had fantastic stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was in Manassas on government business and this is a great all around property. Service was friendly with smiles, and the hotel was spotless. The hotel is just a little bit off the main road where all the restaurants are located but they are all just a quick drive away. The TV channel selection was good and they had a free dvd library. Most of the movies were a bit older but it was a nice feature nonetheless. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites Manassas. I'm glad you found our hotel and amenities to be very accommodating and am happy that we are one of your preferred hotels now. We have noted your comments about our DVD library and will soon add newer titles in the list. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to service you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I really liked the lay out of the studio. The nice spacious bath made the whole stay a pleasure. I loved the bulletin board in the room for posting reminders -- an excellent touch.

This is a perfect place for people to stay who don't like the food typically offered through hotels. The fridge, stove, microwave, and sink are nicely laid out for cooking up whatever you please. And the lockers for accessing blenders or other items you occasionally need make this an appealing place.

I usually stay at the Staybridge in McLean - an excellent place with many meals provided during a stay. Very convivial great room. But I think I prefer the layout of the Candlewood Suites studio more. (Both places would be perfect if they provided lighted make up mirrors (with magnifying glass) in the bathrooms.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I can't say enough about the staff here. They are helpful and accommodating in every way possible. Brandy, Taj and Dana are the sweetest girls. I deal with people in the customer service field often and these girls really make you feel welcome and at home. Truly some of the warmest people that I've come in contact with in a while. As for the hotel, what's not to like? It's always clean, rooms and appliances are modern. The beds are comfortable and they have all the TV channels that I like. They recently installed a "Lending Locker" that you can borrow from. It has everything from board games and cards to play with your family to crock pots or a blender or a juicer. All free of charge. Dud I mention that the washers and dryer ate free too? This definitely is my 1st choice when I stay in Manassas. Thanks girls! You really make it a wonderful experience every time I stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have been going to this hotel for years, but my stay last week might be the last. Someone on the first floor has many cats and the amonia smell from cat urine is nausiating. The room was clean and on the 4th floor you can't smell the first floor.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible to avoid the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your thoughts about the Candlewood Suites. My apologies for a less than perfect stay and especially for the odor issue that you experienced at our hotel. As the General Manager, I was concerned after reading your feedback and as of now we at the hotel as a team have taken aggressive steps to resolve this issue. We hope you will consider providing us with another opportunity to provide you with the levels of service we truly pride ourselves on. Again I do apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to regain your confidence in our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had forgotten how much I love staying at Candlewood suites. The only negatives to it is no hot breakfast(but you have a kitchen to make your own) and no King bed, only Queens. But I can live with that, everything else is great. Very spacious room, nice bathroom with better towels&wash cloths than you see elsewhere, flat screen TVs w/dvd players in the room, kitchen with amenities, ... It's just a great place to stay. Definitely a home away from home. And laundry is free, which is something I've never seen anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Minerva,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback on your most recent stay at the Candlewood Suites, Manassas. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a team here at Candlewood Manassas, we try to make our guests as comfortable as possible and a feedback such as yours keeps us going. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to see you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Manassas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Manassas

Address: 11220 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Manassas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Manassas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Manassas 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel is the area s newest all suite hotel, conveniently located at I-66, exit 47. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or for an extended stay, the Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel provides our guests with all the comforts of home. In their spacious suites, guests can cook meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Guests can relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free DVD library on the 32 LCD TV, and will enjoy a great night s sleep in their Sealy beds featuring the Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone, voicemail and free high-speed Internet.The Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel features a free fitness center, free guest laundry room, 24-hour business center with free Internet, and outdoor gazebo with complimentary gas grills. Many local favorite restaurants are nearby, but for those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch and dinner options. This beautiful hotel is a great alternative to corporate apartments and is the perfect environment for government, relocation and temporary housing needs. The hotel allows easy access to Washington DC, Dulles Airport and Quantico, and is within minutes of Dulles Expo, GMU, Lockheed Martin, Manassas Battlefield, Micron and Nissan Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Manassas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Manassas Hotel Manassas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Manassas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.