We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Manassas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Manassas to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Manassas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Manassas
Boones Mill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel & it was very clean. We attended a concert & it was very convenient to Jiffy Lube Live. There was a faint cigarette smoke smell to the room but it wasn't too bad. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ginger H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were faced with due to the smoke smell in your room. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Candlewood Suites in the future.

Sincerely,

Danka Madonna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
21
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently under a Priority Club special. I used it (and Manassas) as a base for going into DC for a couple of days. I would not recommend that as it takes about 1.5 hours to get into the city. It is convenient to I-66, which certainly helps. There is also plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby.

That aside, I have no complaints about this hotel. Every staff member was very friendly and helpful. One of them even returned the shopping bag I accidentally dropped in the parking lot overnight. One of the recent reviews talked about "unsavory" guests at this property. I did not encounter anybody like that. What you have to remember with properties like this is that a lot of the guests are on long-term stays. If you want a fancier clientele, don't stay here. If you want a clean, convenient, well-priced hotel for exploring the Manassas area, you can't go wrong here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwsmanassas, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear TravelinVol,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback on your most recent stay at the Candlewood Suites Manassas. We are certainly looking forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Danka Madonna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for almost a month. The room was clean, very
comfortable and had full kitchen with two burners, pots and pans etc. The
front desk staff was also very friendly and took care of all our needs. The
hotel also offered additional services like free laundry, free internet
connection, fitness center etc which made our stay almost like home. We will
recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived late in the evening, after attending a concert at Jiffy Lube Live. The hotel is only about 10 minutes drive and stopping overnight sure beats the long trek home. Our choice of Candlewood was based on great reviews as well as knowing that this brand is great at assuring quality across its sites, so we knew what to expect (although it had been a while since we last stayed at Candlewood).

Having booked a two double bedded room, our upgrade to a queen with sofabed suite did not really suit our party of two adults and two children, and all other rooms were already occupied (how we wished we'd arrived before the concert...). Our non-smoking room had a strong smell of cigar smoke and the vinyl armchair was tired and torn. There were only three towels in the bathroom, the linen varied from white to off-white and the pillow sham in the closet (and the fitted sheet on the sofa bed) were not laundered. Pillows generally were uncomfortable (as was the sofa bed), the air-conditioning was loud and the only setting seemed to be 'arctic' (only one cotton spare blanket provided in the room). To her credit, the staff member was apologetic, immediately provided plug-ins to mask the smell and fresh linen (we then made up the sofa bed ourselves). Of course, this is usually a hotel for extended stays, and had we been there longer, I've no doubt we could have moved the next day.

Overall, this stay disappointed us, it was probably an aberration for this brand, and in hindsight we may have been better off in a traditional hotel for our one night stay instead of being allured by the double points promotion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Frederickoz,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is located across the street from the Salvation Army and it looked like many of their clients were staying at the hotel too. When we arrived at about 8:PM there were two men in undershirts standing in front of the main door smoking cigarettes and looking a bit disheveled. When we pushed the button to the elevator the door opened and an obviously-drugged-up guy comes out thinking he'd reached the third floor. We were in the lobby. The guy follows us up to the third floor, exits the elevator and when I confronted his suspicious behavior he said he was "just killing some time riding the elevator". I should have left right then.

The room dimensions were about as you'd expect from this property and the furnishings were in good condition. Unfortunately the sheets were stained and the towels were an assortment of shades of white to tan, making the towels appear less-than-clean.... One towel was obviously stained as well. The biggest issue was the large stain on the bed sheets. Unfortunately we didn't find this until morning. ICK!

And..... To top off our all-around bad experience, we requested an extra roll-away bed. I called the front desk at 2:PM to confirm they were holding one for us. The woman assured us they had one still available, and they would put it in our room. When we arrived there was no roll-away in our room and none was available.

I will NOT be staying at the Candlewood Suites, Manassas again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Manassas, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Ramblin66,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I apologize you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here the night of a concert at jiffy lube live. I honestly cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We were able to get in our room a little early which was wonderful. Check in and out was a breeze. The lady at the front desk was awesome. She gave us verbal and printed out directions to the venue. She also advised us what time to leave to avoid the crazy traffic. Our room was AMAZING! We had a full size fridge with an ice maker in the freezer, microwave, cooktop, sink and dishes etc. the beds were wonderful and super comfy. Flat screen tv, desk area with comfy chair and a leather recliner. If we didnt have the concert to go to would have been happy to stay in the room and party! The bathroom was spotless and shower was perfect. The best part was the price. $95 for a Friday night in June!! If I could give this place a 10 I surely would!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwestern
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Well appointed room that was very comfortable. We stayed four nights during a very long motorcycle trip. During the day we were travling the area and coming back there after dinner, it was as close to feeling like you were coming 'home' as you can get on the road.The free use of the laundry was such a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Manassas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Manassas

Address: 11220 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Manassas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Manassas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Manassas 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel is the area s newest all suite hotel, conveniently located at I-66, exit 47. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or for an extended stay, the Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel provides our guests with all the comforts of home. In their spacious suites, guests can cook meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Guests can relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free DVD library on the 32 LCD TV, and will enjoy a great night s sleep in their Sealy beds featuring the Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone, voicemail and free high-speed Internet.The Candlewood Suites Manassas hotel features a free fitness center, free guest laundry room, 24-hour business center with free Internet, and outdoor gazebo with complimentary gas grills. Many local favorite restaurants are nearby, but for those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch and dinner options. This beautiful hotel is a great alternative to corporate apartments and is the perfect environment for government, relocation and temporary housing needs. The hotel allows easy access to Washington DC, Dulles Airport and Quantico, and is within minutes of Dulles Expo, GMU, Lockheed Martin, Manassas Battlefield, Micron and Nissan Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Manassas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Manassas Hotel Manassas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Manassas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.