We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden

Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden
10321 Sudley Manor Dr., Manassas, VA 20109
703-367-7872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Attractions in Manassas
Type: Gardens, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Manor House is known for its Federal architecture and its role as a hospital for Union and Confederate soldiers during the Civil War. Also notable is the garden, which features rose varieties developed before the 20th century.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you love to tour historic homes, this is a beauty with their fabulously tended rose gardens. You can almost hear the ghosts of residents past.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Closed, but could roam the grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was closed in the early morning when I visited. Information kiosk with pamphlets told the story of the building and how it was a hospital during the battles of Bull Run/Manassas. Would have liked to vist inside. Hopefully on another trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leelanau County, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Catch this site on a Thursday - Saturday, when the red flag is posted outside the entrance. That signals the the interior is open for touring. The home exterior is attractive, but it was the rose garden that stole the show for me. I have never held rose blossums from a rose bush planted prior to 1781. But this rose garden has several. Not to mention the numerous rose bushes planted between 1800 - 1900. Living history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice for a school class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'd take my elementary class to visit although it is small. The new young guide was doing the best she could...I was her 2nd tour ever!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hidden Gym”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a great museum....unlike other house museums, everything is HANDS ON!!! Fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.