We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed, but could roam the grounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden

Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden
10311 Sudley Manor Dr., Manassas, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 attractions in Manassas
Type: Gardens
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Manor House is known for its Federal architecture and its role as a hospital for Union and Confederate soldiers during the Civil War. Also notable is the garden, which features rose varieties developed before the 20th century.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Closed, but could roam the grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was closed in the early morning when I visited. Information kiosk with pamphlets told the story of the building and how it was a hospital during the battles of Bull Run/Manassas. Would have liked to vist inside. Hopefully on another trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leelanau County, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Catch this site on a Thursday - Saturday, when the red flag is posted outside the entrance. That signals the the interior is open for touring. The home exterior is attractive, but it was the rose garden that stole the show for me. I have never held rose blossums from a rose bush planted prior to 1781. But this rose garden has several. Not to mention the numerous rose bushes planted between 1800 - 1900. Living history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice for a school class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'd take my elementary class to visit although it is small. The new young guide was doing the best she could...I was her 2nd tour ever!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Hidden Gym”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a great museum....unlike other house museums, everything is HANDS ON!!! Fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This small house is a gem. If you like history, and are interested in medicine, it is a must. Our guide, Mr. B. Backus was knowledgeable about this house, and naturally helpful in answering our questions, when he knew the answers [We have a way of stumping tour guides with our inquisitiveness.]. The house was used as a hospital, and the statistics surprised us and gave us a new perspective on the Battle of First Manassas. While our 4 year old did well, I recommend an older age group for most youngsters, unless very well behaved.
One could see the first floor and get the spiel with a wheelchair.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden to your Saves list