We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save Your Money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Grille

City Grille
10701 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA 20109
+1 703-330-3011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 229 Restaurants in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
1 review
“Save Your Money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Worst service I've every had. We where rushed the entire meal. Just got our wing appetizer when our side salads came out, less than a minute later our prime rib arrived. We didn't see our server again till he put the check on the table. He never refilled drinks, cleared our dirty plates or asked if we wanted dessert, which we did. I will Not visit this place ever again! If I hear anyone discussing City Grille I will make sure to inform them of my dining experience. Good Luck!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
10/22/11
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“City Grille Manassas, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great place to go after a hard day, great prices on appetizers. I frequently make a meal out of the appetizers! My favorites are the fried zucchini and chicken tenders.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Our Group Really Enjoyed It Here At The City Grille”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our group of nine really enjoyed ourselves here Sunday, May 27th. We all participated in the Rolling Thunder Memorial Ride to DC in the morning and were ready to jump off of the bikes for a while.

I had called the Manager earlier in the week to make sure that they could accommodate us when we came through. They did and in a big way. They had a big table all set up outside on the huge patio in front of their really nice waterfalls.

The Sunday Brunch was fantastic. The food tasted great and there was a huge selection. The nice man making made to order omelets did a great job and happily handled us all. The bartender served us great and ran all of our requests well.

We all talked about how fantastic the City Grille served our needs and how that we will return whenever in the area again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Majority of times the wait staff does not listen to your order, they don't know how to speak to customers, they want to keep your change when you give them cash regardless of total of check which they couldn't produce and the manager is too busy to come out to talk with their very disserviced customers. Will not waste time or money returning. I order the same dinner every time as it was a favorite but the last time the chicken tasted like it was cooked in the same place as the steak.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor experience- Do not go here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Poor menu selection, lonnngggg wait. Finally ordered a plain burger and fries, emphasis on plain due to food allergy (waitress initially repeated back correctly after I prompted her).

Completely incorrect order arrived about 20 minutes later and the waitress turned around and walked away? Had to shout to her to get her attention. Waited another 10 minutes for correct order. Obviously frozen french fries, which I'm not necessarily opposed to, but these were undercooked, raw (after the ~30 minute wait).

Side note- Restrooms were tiny, unclean (paper towels all over the counter and floor) with no working wastebasket.

Burger was OK, but no where near meriting the price or wait.

Recommend you go next door to Fosters or any other area restaurant including Mcdonalds for goodness sake- you'd get better, more accurate service.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Grille also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.