We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mare

Villa Mare
Bay Square, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
00356 27573824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 101 Restaurants in Bugibba
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

excellent local food at great value. you can get anything from english breakfast to classic maltese meals. Friendly and efficient service

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    77
    25
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average at best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came across Villa Mare whilst on a day trip from Melieha but wished we hadn't, food was average at best and the staff were not very attentive considering it was quiet. I had the rib eye which was recommended by the waiter, when it arrived it was a fair sized piece of meat but it had no taste. I will definitely give this restaurant a swerve next time I'm in Bugibba.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So good the we went thrice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stumbled upon this gem on our first day, and could easily have ate and drank here everyday if we could!

The staff were so friendly and we had a great conversation with one of the waitresses!
Our drinks were never empty and we were so surprised that our bill was so little when we went to leave!

We had delightful freshly made brushetta here and on another day we shared the mediterranean platter. The food was great and very reasonably priced!

The square is very nice, and there are great few out into the sea!
I will visit here every time i come to Malta- a true gem!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fab Restaurant in Main Square in Bugibba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very busy restaurant in the Main Square with excellent friendly service. We have visited this restaurant many times over the years when we holiday in Malta as a couple and also with friends. Every meal has been very good - husband and friend highly recommend the Rack of Ribs :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“No 1 pizza in bugiba”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

First of all
I have come and expected much more although the restaurant was busy...
I ordered drinks and the service was very slow. ..
I was straving and watched every minute a decade
But It was all worth visiting when the pizza arrived
The pizza is second to none :-)
Villa mare is a nice place but it needs some updates like : the menu on the website is different than the real menu...
I wont be back, thats for sure. But since I live in bugiba I'll surely order several pizza take away...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMare1, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Mare, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our pizza! My apologies for the service being slow, however at busy times this is sometimes expected as our waiters have to deal with lots of tables arriving at the same time. Having said this, we do always strive to ensure that our customers are served within a reasonable amount of time. I can assure you that even on extremely busy days, the waiters try their utmost to provide a swift and efficient service.

I would like to assure all of our customers that the menu on our website is the correct menu that is in use. This has been up and running for several weeks now, although the confusion might have arisen due to the fact that we revamped out menu last month, and the website was not updated until about a week after!

We look forward to seeing you back at Villa Mare whether it’s for a meal in the restaurant or for a yummy take-away pizza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Mare also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Villa Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.