We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bugibba
Lurgan, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Before booking I did look up some reviews and found them to be a bit mixed but despite this we still went ahead and booked. On arrival I have to say that we were both very pleasantly surprised.
We found the staff to be very helpful and happy to help, our room was simply furnished but big enough for TWO double beds with a bathroom of decent proportions and plumbing that worked all day, not something you get everywhere when on holiday.
Yes we did hear a couple of people complaining but I think the were just being picky, if you want 5* then you should pay for it.
We both agree that we would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We picked self catering ,hence the size of the room ( studio)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future in one of our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    223
    204
    113
    167
See reviews for
187
321
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WALES
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Overall not a bad stay at all. Just back from a week here and to be honest not too many complaints. The food was okay always something that you may like. Englsh breakfast was ok but eggs needed cooking more but that's just a preference thing .the hotel-pool areas were okay clean and tidy .Our room was spacious and towels & bedding changed 3 times in 7 days.If I had to go again would I stay here probabally not but for the thngs we wanted to do we found we were to far away from where we wanted to be and that is the ONLY reason.beautiful island and will be returning very soon..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback which help us to continue to improve our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We enjoyed our 15 night AI stay at the Blue Sea San Anton; we don't normally stay AI but couldn't resist the value. The hotel was quite nice; the food was acceptable and the free drinks were quite nice.

Some things about the hotel which could have been better:

- the times for meals (e.g. 1300-1430 for lunch can be TOO LATE)
- the opening times for bars (e.g. poolside bars opened for random hours and closed too often)
- the room cleaning (our room wasn't cleaned for 4 days for some random staff reason)
- the entertainment (there was a children's worker, but he left half way through our stay and wasn't replaced for days; there was little 4 adults).

Room Tip: High floor to avoid bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback which help us to continue to improve our resorts.

We are glad you found your stay with us comfortable.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ok, if you want a cheap, simple hotel this complex is where you should go. Disregard the reviewers who have complained about this holiday and yet only pay minimal prices for their holiday. Simply put: If you want the Ritz pay for it. It is typical of British tourists to snub their noses when they don't get the service they 'require' but refuse to pay for it.

Don't get me wrong, this hotel is not without its faults. The food isn't great and to be honest our room wasn't expensively presented and included a bathroom tap which provided less pressure than a butterfly's wing. But... I've re-read some of the negative comments by people intent upon listing every single minute thing wrong with the hotel and see them as pedantic and to be quite honest un-necessary. These people have clearly forgotten they were on holiday and were there to relax and enjoy themselves... perhaps if they were desperate for a pristine holiday experience they should have dug a little deeper into their dusty wallet. (room 2635)

The only truly negative thing I will say is on our penultimate day we experienced one of the managers berate a member of staff for not having cleaned the pool area on time. Perhaps the manager had a point and the member of staff was inefficient at their job however shouting at him in front of the hotel's guests was clearly humiliating for him and embarrassing for the guests.

Finally, I would say that staff were excellent, polite, friendly and at every moment willing to ensure everyone's stay was pleasant.

If you take nothing else from my review, take this: if you want to have a place in the sun and don't want to pay too much for it then stay here just don't get on your high-horse if it's not 5 star standard - it was never going to be.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the pool side - the side facing the street was a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

We continue to offer competitive low cost prices and value for money.

We hope to see you again in the near future in one of our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 14 nights with my wife and 2 sons. It was my first time back to the island in 12 yrs. It's changed.
The hotel is ok, and we approached it with worry because of reviews. Our room no. 3 was basic but its not the Hilton. We were all inclusive and the food was ok but bland. We used it mainly as a base and my sons were happy to see McDonald's some days. The pools setting looks nice, the staff are ok but the queues can get silly especially when the beer isn't working properly. My concern regards the pool is the clarity. I dropped a bright yellow and green ball and it sank without trace, you couldn't see the bottom and if a child had gone under who knows.
Buggiba is ok to but is looking run down. The influx of some foreign workers have made areas dirty, with broken furniture left on the streets and dog dirty like land mines scattered on pavements. Others may review the hotel with the town in there minds I haven't. If you just want basic all inclusive and a roof over your head its ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback which help us continue to improve our resort.

We are glad you found your stay comfortable and hope to see you again in the near future in one of our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

this hotel should be closed as it is dirty,foods rubbish and all drinks given in plastic glasses. if you are thinking its a cheap holiday think again. it cost me over £500 and then more money to change hotels.spend a little more and go to a better star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
It is with regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Our housekeeping work daily to clean all public areas and every second day service the rooms of our in house guests.

The hotel catering team work daily to provide a varied menu but unfortunately cannot provide for each individual taste.

Although we thank you for your comments and feedback which helps us continue to improve our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel there was a crowd of drunken brits, this being the middle of the day. The receptionist was sort of helpful even though she hadnt a clue as to where our room was! Around the pool somewhere apparently.
The room was quite good itself, two double beds and a seperate bathroom. No fridge, drinking water or tea/coffee making facilities. It was a little worrying that the ceiling fan was hanging on for dear life though.
We asked for a room with a balcony, which we got but id suggest to ask to have one overlooking the pool as our side was an apparent bus stop and such like. Quite noisy really.
The food was not up to any sort of standard, quite embarrassing for the hotel really. Not worth going all inclusive, unless you are capable of drinking your weight in beer or wine! We had one meal at the hotel, after that we never went back to their "restaurant" . Bar staff where rude, drinks are rancid.
Cleaners where really good, much better than the rest of the staff.
If you are a larger drinking chav this place is for you! Yes,it is a budget hotel but manners cost nothing. I would never go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It is with regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

As you are aware you booked a low cost 3 star hotel in Malta with very competitive prices.

We do advertise that our entry level rooms which you booked do not provide certain facilities.

Our catering team currently provide meals for 600+ guests daily which are checked and consumed by the hotel management.

With the above said the management team work visibly to rectify any guests personal dissatisfaction it is with regret that you did not avail yourself of this service.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments

Address: Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of the Blue Sea San Anton, in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba and just minutes from the beach ensures you will enjoy your stay. The quality of the hotel and its amenities will allow you to relax and discover all of the attractions that Malta has to offer as one of the most beautiful islands in the Mediterranean. The Blue Sea San Anton Bugibba is located in the municipality of Saint Paul's Bay. Visitors will love this little coastal town with its wonderful beaches and streets full with restaurants, shops and bars. The capital, Valletta, is just 15 miles away. The rooms at the Blue Sea San Anton are comfortable and well equipped to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. They are spacious and each one has a private bathroom, TV, safe-deposit box and telephone. Most rooms have a balcony. To make your stay a great one the hotel has a restaurant, outdoor pool, sun terrace and gardens in which to relax and wind away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments Malta/Bugibba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.