We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A major disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bugibba
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A major disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived at our hotel only to be advised that we would be moved to one of their sister hotels due to an issue with hot water in some of the apartments. The hotel we were moved to was in the middle of a very busy nightclub area so was not at all the kind of place for our planned romantic holiday celebrating our 1 year anniversary. They have offered us one week free but still have to find cheap flights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    223
    202
    113
    166
See reviews for
187
319
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The friendliness of the people we met made our holiday made a lot of friends and there was lots of kids so my nephew had a great time. The games room is bad all the machines are broken and it is a right mess. The pool is so cloudy from everyone wearing suncream which you need to wear especially the kids as it was in the 30's. The pool should have been cleaned but never saw anyone do so, you never felt refreshed when you went in it. It is also a nightmare getting sun beds so you usually have to sit on a chair. The room was cleaned once but not really cleaned just new sheets towels and bin emptied didn't even replace loo rolls had to go and get them from reception. Also the towels were not changed so had to ask for them too. The room is really hot there is a fan but it is just blowing warm air round. When we got there at about 1 we waited till 6 for our room which was really disappointing as this wasted a day of our holiday. One family had to go and stay in another hotel for the night and then come back the following day and got there room about 6 so they lost 2 days which is not on. The staff were mostly really friendly. The night entertainment was good but there could have been a lot more imagination spent on the kids entertainment in the day time. The food was ok same as usual for all inclusive always cold and the same stuff every day not much variety, just aswell there was a mcdonalds down the road as my nephew would not eat the food. Though for the money you cant complain and as it was so cheap you could afford to eat out a couple of times. Malta in general is a lovely place and would go back again but not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment as it has balcony and fridge etc and they are spacious, but there is no air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Blue Sea ! never again , Just arrived home from one week at the blue sea hotel, st anton (all inclusive), this is a WARNING to all all others who are thinking of doing the same. Having arrived at 8 30 pm i was told it was to late to have a meal, We do not serve meals after 8 30 pm.I had to go to an outside restaurant at 845 pm. The receptionist was most disinterested about our plight, I was also given a note saying the t.v.was not working correctly ,we had no remote control to check this.No air conditioning in the bed rooms or the corridorsof this hotel.The room was large but sparsely furnished in chipboard, bed ,bedside table dressing table and wardrobe.Bath room shower was leaking this was because of the cheapest shower hose,tolet looked disgusting is there on bleach in Malta.Our dedspread had two large boot prints on the inside as if someone had walked over it. Having Not received clean bed linen and towels after 3 days i phoned the reception 4times with on reply, the last time i waited 16 mins but still on reply.Then i went to the receptionand asked for clean linen and towels but i was told by the receptions that i would only change our bed linen at home once per week!she said as a concession they would do the things asked for,they did the next day but did not remove the offending bedspread The food at all times was disgusting, stewed streaky bacon.sausages were processed chipolatas,beans were watery,plum tomatoes looked very old, the scrambled was in a block looked and tasted revolting.the toaster did not work correctly as i had to put the bread through the toaster three times,and they had chips on at breakfast time!. All the meals were cold ,no temperature checking or recording of the food at any time.The lunch did not improve with cold processed food,the evening meal was the same processed cold disgusting food,all the left overs were recyceled to the evening meal or the next days lunch.this went on all week. I only seen 3 sweets in 7 days all the same every day,sponge topped with dream topping, angel delight in plastic drinks cup and sorry looking choclate tart. con/t on new page,

Room Tip: never never never go to this so called hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Faulty towers times 10,if you are looking at this hotel,do not book,the food is awfull,the drinks are ok,but served in child like plastic cups,two gulps and there gone,the hosekeeping staff well wot can i say my husband found one washing in our bathrm,another taking a snooze on one of the befs,,reception,useless,when arrived rm not ready told 3 o clock,so went out got bk at 4 asked abt rm,cleaners had key,half hr before given key,5 min before reception decedided to tell me this ,one ignored me completely,the otherdeceided to make a personal call on her mobile,i had to ask what was happening,pool area and poll to small,water in pool funny grey colour,no shada at all,the food is never hot,only like warm at best,do not book this hotel,the rms,fans useless,to hot to sleep,that's if u can for all the noise,no the place is a joke,by all means come to Malta,Malta is lovely,and the people are too except most of staff at this hotel,just stay in another hotel,with a different hotel chain,because from what i gather people who are at blue sea st George are finding it even more hell,they are falling ill and blaming the food,a few got transfers here and said this was better than there but not brillant,so don't book a blue sea hotel,

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back a week here. I know its just a 3 star but ive stayed in plenty 3 star hotels and this one is by far the worst 3 star ive ever stayed in. We were told there was air con and there was in reception and in the restaurant but NOT in the rooms which made it impossible to sleep at night with the heat and humidity. There was little variation with the food one day to the next in the restaurant and at best the food was warm. The rooms were supposed to be cleaned every two days but our room was cleaned only twice in the whole week we were there. When the maids did come in all they did was change the towels and sheets, nothing else was done. The swimming pool was far too small for the 450 guests crammed around the pool area. There was a sign saying only 40 people allowed in the pool at a time but like all the safety signs around the pool area most people just ignored it. The pool area was filthy too. Dont understand the positive comments about the entertainment unless of course you find Bingo, darts and pool highlights of your holiday !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Poor standard rooms, noisy at night. All inc non existent unless you like cheese slices and ham rolls. Unsuitable for kids - no all inc ice creams, crisps etc. Food terrible, Vegetarians don't go there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Never done a review in my life but this was too bad to ignore!! Firstly, I had balanced expectations (after all I had paid a budget price) so I was thinking along the lines of Butlins. Let me tell you Butlins was 5* luxury by comparison to this! Worst of all was the blatant rudeness of the staff, in particular the reception staff. Unhelpful, rude and uncaring. My child cut her foot on a sharp tile in the pool (which was otherwise fine)and when I reported it to the receptionist she looked at me with irritation and said 'Yeah? What? Do you want a plaster?'. SHOCKING!! As for the food it was O.K. at best (as long as you like school dinner type food), on the plus the meat was always very well cooked and varied and the desserts were pretty tasty. Main problem in dining area is there is no attempt to control the flies (like scented candles etc) so they are buzzing around constantly! The sheets were changed once all week and the towels twice(one was 12 hours after we arrived so common sense clearly applies here too) and NOT every other day as claimed-don't bother complaining as they tell you its 'impossible' that that's the case. Very basic accommodation but on a par with what I was expecting and the room was spacious and generally quiet. Could have done with floor being moped.No air con in the bedrooms so boiling hot (but hotel dont claim otherwise so cannot put them down for this). They have no concern about insulting their guests as they speak to each other like dirt so why respect the paying customer?!The best thing this hotel could do is get new, helpful staff as it would make everything bad about it not seem so dire but instead it simple highlights how crap it is in general! A budget holiday should have budget expectations but friendliness and being polite cost nothing, cleanliness and safe facilities should be provided at ANY star hotel so being a 'budget' holiday does not excuse this in any way. Would defo go back to Malta as beautiful country but will NEVER come here again. AVOID AVOID AVOID.

Room Tip: avoid poolside rooms if you want less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments

Address: Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of the Blue Sea San Anton, in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba and just minutes from the beach ensures you will enjoy your stay. The quality of the hotel and its amenities will allow you to relax and discover all of the attractions that Malta has to offer as one of the most beautiful islands in the Mediterranean. The Blue Sea San Anton Bugibba is located in the municipality of Saint Paul's Bay. Visitors will love this little coastal town with its wonderful beaches and streets full with restaurants, shops and bars. The capital, Valletta, is just 15 miles away. The rooms at the Blue Sea San Anton are comfortable and well equipped to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. They are spacious and each one has a private bathroom, TV, safe-deposit box and telephone. Most rooms have a balcony. To make your stay a great one the hotel has a restaurant, outdoor pool, sun terrace and gardens in which to relax and wind away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments Malta/Bugibba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.