We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breath of Fresh AIR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paulus Restaurant

Paulus Restaurant
49, Bognor Street | St Paul’s Bay, Bugibba, Island of Malta 2660, Malta
+356 7755 1102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 101 Restaurants in Bugibba
Price range: $31 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Paulus Restaurant one can enjoy a great dining experience, ambience music with a great view of St. Paul's Harbour.We have some wonderful seasonal dishes and a selection of premium wines at great prices for you to enjoy with your meal. We aim to serve the very best food.We thrive on sourcing, preparing and serving superb seafood, which is so full of genuine Mediterranean flavours.Our a la carte menu & set menus are created with care and with our great passion for quality and flavours.
Madliena, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Breath of Fresh AIR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had often passed this restaurant and being lovers of fish kept meaning to try it. We were also impressed with the move upwards of the ratings. Eventually we made it early evening on Easter Sunday having not been able to get in for lunch. The reason for its popularity quickly became obvious. The fish is fantastic,the prices very reasonable and the French chef cooks with love,sincerity and great skill. My wife's prawns were succulent and my red snapper superb. It had to be because although not on the menu, Chef said with great authority it would work and it did. We look forward to our next visit very soon. Thursdays are very often lobster and oyster nights, Can't wait!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    29
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Found this jewel by accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to you all for two great evenings. Food excellent and service attentive but not overbearing. Good luck to you at all Paulus especially the the Swedish chef from Swansea

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited here on the last night of our trip. We stopped in on a whim and were blown away by the friendly and accommodating service, warm atmosphere and authentic cuisine. The head chef was our host for the evening but the food was still prepared to the professional standard that can be expected from some of the top restaurants in other major cities. Standing out were the squid in lemon and white wine as well as the octopus in traditional Maltese tomato sauce with capers an olives. We also had our pick of fresh fish selected at our table as you would a cut at a fine steak house. Very diverse and affordable wine list as well! I'd recommend to anyone visiting Malta regardless of where they're staying.

Two starters (squid and octopus, huge portions)
Local fish to share (similar to red snapper)
Bottle of wine
€56

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The staff were professional and friendly. Everything was going well until the main course. There were 3 tables being used so the place wasn't busy. There was a long wait and when the food arrived it was cold. There seemed to be a breakdown between the kitchen and the servers. We both decided we would give them another chance as the restaurant is lovely and the food was good, although cold - maybe an "off" night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, England
1 review
“This restaurant made my holiday a very pleasant experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The waiting staff were polite and helpful and the food was delivered fast and in good quality. I would recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulus Restaurant also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Paulus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paulus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.