We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to spoil the holidays” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Bugibba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Bugibba to your Saves list
Blue Sea Bugibba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tourist Street PB1026, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB05, Malta (Formerly Bugibba Holiday Complex)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Bugibba
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best place to spoil the holidays”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We got this hotel for very moderate price, so we didn't expect anything outstanding. Actually the only thing we wanted was a room with basic accommodations, because we didn't plan to pass a lot of time in the hotel.

The reality appeared to be even more “basic” than we though. No hair-drier, no shampoo, no gel in the bath-room, just a micro-soap. To put the things even funnier, the were no European-style changers for the electricity in the reception, (the hotel has British-style electrical sockets), so we had to wait till the next day evening, when we got them for the 5 Euro deposit.

The first room we got had toilet cistern broken. The door-window of the balcony didn't close well enough (with the window to the street and karaoke-bar in front of us the nights were not calm at all), and the walls were partially “stripped”. We informed the reception, asking to repair at least the cistern, but it was in vain.

We decided to not pay attention, and enjoy the stay as it is, because the island itself was wonderful. And we succeeded, till the moment when a big group of teenagers entered the hotel. I guess it was a kind of convocation trip, but actually the purpose of their trip doesn't matter, because they behaved themselves like the mixture of a traveling zoo and barbarian troops, extremely noisy, highly disrespecting and rude, and even aggressive.

We had bad luck, because on our left were the room of the girls, and on the right the room of the boys, so you can just imagine the all-night “peregrination” we had to “enjoy”. Sometimes they missed the room and knocked to our door. Next day I asked them very politely to stop the noise, and firstly they apologized. But then continued, already with personal insults, so I had to speak with their professor, but with no result. When they organized an all-night party, I had to call the security. The security “calmed” them only for a 5 minute, then the party continued.

So we insisted on changing our room, with the new one as FAR from those youngsters as possible. We got it one only after strong talk with the reception, “threatening” them with the high management. I have to say that another room was much better, at least everything was functioning in the bath-room, and the door-window was closing quite well. We passed really good night or two good nights there... till the new groups of the teenagers came. This time they were many, so they occupied the whole hotel, and there was no calm corner anywhere.

So, what we got is bad room with broken facilities, noisy nights without sleep, personal insults from the bad-educated and uncontrollable teenagers, not very good treatment from the reception, and finally, spoiled holidays, in spite of all our intentions to take it easy, and really low demands as for the level of the hotel.

Somebody would ask, if there was at least something good in that hotel. I would mark two things:
1. The small indoor pool with jacuzzi.
2. The yogurt which they propose for the breakfast. And that's all, actually. Unfortunately, these things were not able to compensate others. Because, looking back, I understand that almost all time in the hotel we passed quarreling with noisy teenagers, speaking with the reception or packing and unpacking our things, trying to get the room where we could sleep a little.

As far as I understand, it was not just coincidence, but the policy of the hotel's management. So I would strongly not recommend this hotel to those who want to have rest at night.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view to the pool are better during the night, but in general I would strongly not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    50
    71
    54
    119
See reviews for
67
124
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Room was a bit pokey and smelled of smoke, no other rooms available so had to stay put. Bed was comfy, very comfy and although we were facing the road room 4418 it wasn't too noisy at night and with earplugs we both had 2 weeks of good nights sleep. Our friends in room 4419 could not flush toilet which caused a few problems. Food at dinner was good, it was 3* and we got good 3* food. Lots of choice and nice staff. Lunch was limited in choice but was fine, the same for breakfast. The exception to this was the WONDERFUL blood oranges which tasted like a piece of heaven!!!!! Drinks were good, coffee acceptable, lounge areas were comfortable. Weather was awful for the 2 weeks so no opinion of outdoor pool or surrounding hotel area. My husband says the indoor pool and jacuzzi was fine. All the staff were lovely especial the young Hungarian woman in the bar, reception were slightly abrasive when I asked to change rooms and said we had the best that was available!!!!! All in all we all had a good holiday even tho the weather was terrible for 2 weeks. Don't expect the Ritz bit you are not paying Ritz prices and really do get what you are paying for. Advice..... Take your own coffee if you like good stuff and protect yourself from Mosquitos that are rampant and hungry!!!!! Get around the island by bus, they are cheap and efficient and also visit the FALCONRY, it's a very special place run by very special people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

i arrived at 22.00hrs got given the keys to my room,,,, walking up the stairs to my room there were 3 men very drunk and fighting on the stairway,,,, room was in a terrible condition,, roof falling through paint coming off walls air,, one sheet on bed with very thin duvet which had no duvet cover on it ,,,,,, the staff were very rude, when going to reception to ask for anything the staff wouldnt even look up at you to see wot u wanted,, they just sat there reading a magazine,, i had to ask them if they were going to talk to me,, very rude,,,, every single night people would get absolutely hammered and there was always a fight either in the bar or on the stairs going to your rooms,,,, i complained to the night staff and all they would do is tell them to be quiet,, well this went on for the whole 9 days i was there,,, the breakfast was terrible one day i put some ham on my plate and it had gone off it smelt and tasted discussting,, the entertainment in the bar was terrible,,,, i no its cheap hotel but u would expect a little more from them,, Would never stay here again and i think the staff need some sort of customer care training,,, the cleaners only made the beds and left all the rubbish in your rooms left all the cups in the rooms crazy system,,, sat by the pool one day and three men came along,,, drained the pool out and started digging with a digger to take slabs up we were sun bathing how mad is that,,, dont stay here it is awfull it should be shut down ,,,,

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Bugibba Holiday complex is an edifice opened 11 June 1989 and has been stuck in a time warp ever since. It has all the charms of a Gulag but without the barbed wire and guards, however you were free to come and go. The rooms were about as inviting and as comfortable as a custody suite at your local police station, our beds were 2'6'' wide. The queue flow at the tea, coffee and toast dispensers was chaotic, everybody got in each others way and the machines kept breaking down. The food was mediocre but did no harm, the chefs, must have signed up to the hypocratic oath. Bugibba was a terrible place, if you were brought here blindfolded and then given sight you could think you were in war torn Syria. It was strewn with litter and dog faeces, the pavements are narrow, barely passable by two persons. This highly urbanised, high rise town is a very depressing place to spend a holiday. The streets were full of dilapidated high rise apartments and flats for sale and they appear to be building more. The streets are so narrow and the buildings so high that hardly any sun reaches the street for very long. It is about as wheelchair friendly as Mount Everest. The restaurants are,characterless, uninviting and serve, mostly, junk food. The town has no beaches, there's hardly anything to do, the only thing it does not have is a Round--a-bout Zoo. Hire a car and there's no where to park, Malta has a good bus service but slow, it takes 1/14 hours to travel to Valletta, 10 miles away ,however the fares are low. The Maltese do not deserve an income from tourism because they make no effort enter the 21st century, Malta needs knocking down and rebuilding. They are like the Spanish and Cypriot lemmings that have already gone over the same cliff. People come to Malta once because they know no better, if they come twice it's because they are sad or refugees escaping the depths of despair. Goodbye Malta and good luck.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

staff in the food hall were great ray mary angie & silve on front desk lisa all good food got a bit bland in week 3 but better in week 4 & then the noise boy racers big bore exhaust wheel spin beat box up full 24/7 3bars across the street full blast till 1am & when thay stop the fighting starts in the hotel until 4am just as you drop of the gas man starts blowing his air horns @ least the ants & cockcroach made no noise and we got what we paid for whitch was not a lot

Room Tip: only go pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I ve been in this hotel together with my wife in 2007 for 7 days. Now when i am looking those fresh photos from 2013 i can only say that all is the same even worse.

The rooms are stunning, swimming pool is very small, the food... no comment. It is in the same centre of Buggiba so you have to walk about 10 minutes to look the first beach.

I can only say.....dont go there!

Room Tip: I think there is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, the staff couldn't do enough for you. They were friendly, polite and went out of there way to help you. The rooms were cleaned every day even if they didn't need it. The facilities were excellent. The food was okay nothing to write home about (if you know what I mean). I paid £457 pounds for 28 nights Bed and Breakfast, that was including flights with Air Malta. I intend to go back next year for longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Bugibba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Bugibba

Address: Tourist Street PB1026, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB05, Malta (Formerly Bugibba Holiday Complex)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea Bugibba 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Bugibba Hotel & Apartments is an ideal choice for those looking for a charming break in the popular St. Paul's area of Malta. Just a five-minute stroll from Bugibba's pretty seaside promenade and town centre, families, couples and friends will enjoy the comfortable facilities and pleasant service of this delightful 3-star hotel. The 173 Mediterranean style rooms and apartments centre on a spacious outdoor swimming pool complete with terrace and sun loungers perfect for relaxation and revitalisation, plus a separate children's area. Guests of the Bugibba Hotel & Apartments can also enjoy a large indoor pool (non-heated) and Jacuzzi, providing an idyllic space to retreat to if the Maltese sun gets too much. Further facilities include an outdoor pool bar, 24-hour reception, gift shop and Wi-Fi to make every stay as comfortable as possible. Decorated in a traditional style, each accommodation includes an en-suite bathroom with bathtub, cable TV, air-conditioning and heating. Many rooms enjoy a private balcony with attractive views of the pool or internal courtyard. For guests who opt for an apartment stay, a kitchenette complete with fridge and cooker is provided, great for preparing simple meals from the fresh, Mediterranean produce available nearby. Those who prefer to leave the cooking at home can make the most of the hotel's modern buffet style restaurant, complete with al fresco dining available during the summer. There's also Jack's Bar, reminiscent of an English style pub with regular entertainment, and a pool bar offering a wide range of drinks and light snacks to keep hunger at bay. Being perfectly located in the centre of town, the Bugibba Hotel & Apartments is close to the seafront, restaurants, bars and shops. The resort's lively main square is within walking distance, as are public transport options that link you to the many fantastic sights and attractions that Malta offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Sea Bugibba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugibba Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Bugibba
Blue Sea Bugibba Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Bugibba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.