We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“places to avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bugibba Holiday Complex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bugibba Holiday Complex to your Saves list
Bugibba Holiday Complex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq it-Turisti, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB05, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Bugibba
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“places to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

hotel was pretty reasonable but spoilt by management. Maltese staff were great, the imported east european staff were curt and surly, poor english too.
the air conditioning was a bad joke. it only worked on the last night of our holiday. the local temperature was in the high 80`s with humidity at about 60-70% and no air conditioning.
the lifts were ok from ground floor going up, but returned to ground floor where they stayed till someone wanted to come up, you couldn`t summon the lift to bring you down.

give this place a wide berth, avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    48
    70
    51
    113
See reviews for
62
120
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

just returned from this hotel it is an absolute [--] and should be called THE BUDGET HOVEL ,the food is terrible and is the same day in day out if you like pork fish and chicken every evening and scrambled eggs or boiled eggs for brekkie , the place is noisy old worn and decrepit and full of foreign students the place should be bulldozed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently returned from staying at the Bugibba Hotel in Bugibba and have to say what a fantastic hotel it was. My friend and I stayed for a week on 14th September and it was a wonderful holiday. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and always had a smile. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day, the cleaning staff work very hard. I will definitely go back to this hotel it can only get better as I know there is a bit of a refurb going on. Many thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have just returned from a two week vacation in Malta and my wife and I stayed in the Bugibba Hotel Complex. It would be churlish of me to complain as we have very little to take umbridge with. Our rooms though smallish were nevertheless comfortable, with a Tele supplied. The bathroom was spotless, cleaned every day by an extremely pleasant lady, who also made our beds and left clean towels when needed. The room and balcony was swept as was the bathroom. No complaints about that. The food was fine and plenty of it (I didn't see anyone leave it behind) the breakfast was: Juice, cereal and a selection of cold meats and salad. There was a cooked breakfast available for €3. Although the Hotel would benefit from a good upgrade nevertheless for convenience,value,helpful staff etc. it was money well spent.

Room Tip: we had a room & balcony facing the main street and we slept like logs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just returned from a week at The Bugibba Hotel and felt compelled to write in response to all the negative critisms that have been entered onto Tripadvisor.
We were a little dubious after reading all the reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised on entering The Bugibba Hotel.
We arrived in the small hours to be greeted by a very helpful and courteous receptionist who showed us to our room.
The room was of a good size overlooking the pool - clean, tidy and welcoming.
Having read about the noise element, I can say that we had no problems with the noise throughout our stay, in fact it was surprisingly peaceful.
We only experienced 1 cockroach throughout the duration, but what do people expect when abroad? Staff to be on standby day and night to check every nook and cranny in every room waiting for a critter to rear it's head?
The room service was second to none - these ladies worked all the hours in the searing heat cleaning every room and changing towels and bedding on a daily basis. Having passed by some of the rooms - it is the guests that need to address their personal hygiene and have a little consideration for staff having to go in and clean up after them!!
The pool area and the amenities around them were absolutley fine - staff were out at the beginning and end of the day cleaning the area and clearing away other peoples debris as it was obvioulsy too much effort for them to pass by a bin!
I will admit it could have done with a lick of paint in places, but with the amount of traffic passing through the hotel, this can not be done during the main season.
Take a moment to consider - how many people made their booking due to the competative price?
If you want luxury - go book a luxury hotel.
Take a look at the bigger picture and spare a little thought for the hardworking staff who have to tolerate people's moans and groans sometimes about the pettiest of things - just because they can!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here last year and refurbishment was underway sothought we'd give it another try....what a mistake. Firstly there has been minimal improvements i fact the 'indoor pool' wasn't even open...in peak season too.

We booked a Superior Room (at an extra cost) to be told on arriva that tey do not have Superior Rooms, lucky for me I had printed the details from their ow website so had a copy...surprisingly they found a so called Superior Room....this was identical to the standard room with the only addition being a very small flat screen TV...but no remote!

We still had to pay 5 Euro per day for a fridge, no tea & coffee facilities (unless you wanted to pay extra) and the 'air conditioning' was so noisy it was like being under the flight path into Heathrow Airport.

We were on the 7th Floor and during our 10 days stay the lift was broken on 6 occasions.

Yet again the B&B was a very poor standard continental....I will never stay at this holtel/complex again.

Where ever your room is there is noise into the early hours....'entertaiment' from near by bars at the front and hotel entertainment (if you can call it entertanment - I sing better that the acts there)

Room Tip: Don't stay here would be my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all I want to mention that I am working in 3 star hotel in Scotland as a Receptionist. The Bugibba should never been given 3 stars! Customer service at the Reception, Dining room and Bar is very poor. There is no tables cleaned available when having breakfast and staff don't seem to take care of it at all. They are never in rush of anything, they don't really care that you don't have place to sit. Reception staff is not welcoming at all.

We have booked self catering apartment and got standard apartment upgraded to half board what was reasonable. We didn't expected that we will get such a poor quality room in 3 star hotel. There was no air-condition in the room at all and had two fans in each room. One fan was broken so we reported that to the reception. They fixed it straight away but it was still too hot in the room. We couldn't sleep at all!! The worst was bathroom. There was a dump all around the bath and there were stains on shower courtain and toilet sit. It was so awfull!!

What disgusted me more was that there was someone who sicked up in the middle of the hotel entrance, next to the bar and people were sliding on it all night as there was no one who could be bother to clean it. Bar staff didn't care that someone could break their leg.


I don't recommend the hotel at all and I would never ever come back there again! Even for the price we paid (£400 for 9 nights for3) I would rather spend more and stay in better standard hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bugibba Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bugibba Holiday Complex

Address: Triq it-Turisti, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bugibba Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Bugibba Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugibba Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Bugibba
Bugibba Holiday Complex Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bugibba Holiday Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.