We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bognor Bar & Restaurant

Bognor Bar & Restaurant
Islet Promenade, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 93 restaurants in Bugibba
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bognor Bar & Restaurant is under NEW MANEGMENT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Disgusting place. I visited Bognor a few nights ago with my girlfriend. The place was dirty, the food was horrible and we witnessed the waiters putting pieces of food from plates that diners had finished with back into containers (I guess to be recycled). We also watched the waiters eating off diners plates.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

32% Recommend
    10
    16
    20
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had three nice evening meals here. Friendly welcoming staff, good food, large portions. Never had room for a dessert! Good Maltese wine to drink. Lovely outlook over bay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kildare
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worst member of staff ever, wish I could give a minus score”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stopped here last night (25th July) just for a cocktail and got a nice seat looking out over the sea. We ordered Mojitos and they were just ok had Lemon instead of Lime and very few mint leaves. We had not been given a bill so we just went up to pay. The Maltease girl serving behind the counter was unbelievably rude. She shouted at us, and I am not exaggerating when I say shouted at us, because we did not know our table number! She demanded we go back to find it but I refused and told her she was the rudest person I had ever met. One of the other staff members spoke to her in Maltease and she somehow managed to find our bill. I am sorry now that I did not ask for the manager or at least take down her name but I was so so shocked by her outburst. I have worked in customer service for many years and sometimes I might have felt like shouting at a customer but you simly can not treat customers the way she treated us. I do not know how she has a job and I think it is fair to say I will not be going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Started ok and went downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We went here for lunch one day and ordered from the three course set menu, which was reasonably priced. The food was really tasty although I'm not sure how fresh it was. Had a microwaved feel about it. The view is just stunning. The service was slow and we had to remind the staff to bring the bill before getting up to find someone on the third occasion, which meant we'd finished our food, but were there about 40 minutes trying to pay. The place wasn't busy. Us and maybe four other tables, so no reason for it. There were lots of staff walking around trying to look busy, but not really doing very much.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice people and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

A terrace / restaurant welcoming, clean and very good service. The portions are huge, food is tasty. I was 2 times a week and serving octopus in wine was a delicios. Also, find here an excellent cream-coffee, only 2.5 euros. Prices are ok, but attention to the bill. Sometimes wrong, but not intentionally, so inadvertently.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bognor Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Bognor Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bognor Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.