We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but pretty basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mavina Holiday Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mavina Holiday Complex to your Saves list
Mavina Holiday Complex
Triq il-Fliegu, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bugibba
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value but pretty basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The Mavina Hotel is situated in central Bugibba, which is a busy tourist trap. We elected a self-catering room, 301, and it was clean, had adequate cooking facilities, bathroom and balcony. There was no air-conditioning but the ceiling fan helped a little. The swimming pool was clean but too many kids splashing around in the adult section. Restaurants at the resort were good and we ate out for all meals. Staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful. The holiday was arranged through Mercury Direct and I cannot fault their efficiency. Our pre-booked private taxi to and from airport was prompt, the representative was helpful. We booked a Three Island Boat trip which stopped at the Blue Lagoon for two hours. This lagoon was very beautiful but horrendously over-crowded, no where to sit, no shade, with people spread over every square metre, enjoying food from the hotdog and burger stands. This excursion should be avoided at all costs, 55 euros, for a day on a boat looking at seemingly endless limestone cliffs. Overall the holiday was good value and great for sitting drinking a latte and people watching.

Room Tip: Although the view is not great, chose a room on the back of the hotel overlooking the pool, as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    63
    40
    13
    14
See reviews for
32
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

staff nice but rooms need to be updated and linnen and towels need to be replaced more.

air connditioning is necessary as the ceiling fan is not good enough and the fan you can hire is simply not good enough

Room Tip: take sheets and be prepared to purchase own toilet rolls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Apartments were clean, staff friendly and pool spotless. The apartment decor was dated (green bathroom suit!) but was all very clean with a small but perfectly formed kitken, though we didnt cook in the apartment it had 2 hobs, grill, oven, toaster, kettle and fridge. The reception staff were very friendly and good at suggesting things to do and what bus to catch. A few reviews on here said it was noisy but we found this not to be the case. Pool was very clean, with hardly anyone in it, which was good as area around pool was small. Sunbeds by pool were 1 euro per day but at least this mean no getting up early to put towels on sunbeds! Room was not cleaned on our stay of 1 week but towels and bins were changed.
Apartments were in a good location, near the center but not too close to suffer from noise.
Beach: 5 minutes
Bus terminal: 5 minutes
Bugibba square: 10/15 minutes
Nearest supermarket: 30 seconds

Room Tip: A room at the front gets the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

staff brill rooms clean food good just one night we had chicken drum sticks more like chicken match sticks but would go back againe loved it there

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

As a regular visitor to this sunshine island,i have stayed in 1or 2 hotels/ apts.My long term hotel THE'Rocomar' closed many years ago now,so it was to my delight to find such a friendly hotel to be of a substitute.It is located just round the corner from where the'Rocomar' was and is in touching distance from the beach,bars & bus station to all parts.I found my stay here to be very pleasant,as were all the staff.I also found the place very clean and tidy.When i return to 'Malta' i will almost be certain to try and stay here again.!1st class for the money payed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We had our honeymoon here in April 2003, (couldn't) put that as a date above).
I had recently had my lower left leg amputated and had a wheelchair as well as a prosthetic leg.
The staff almost fell over each other to help.

Because of financial restraints we were on a very tight budget and also had to book last minute, as we got married on 5th April but I didn't get my leg until the very end of March, so we didn't know what we were doing.

However we had a great time and did the tourist bit and also enjoyed the hospitality of Francis at The Little Waster Pub, I managed to slip in the bathroom and broke my arm so missed the delights of the pool but my new wife loved it.

If we can ever afford passports we'll go again, and now my Aunt lives on Gozo a double reason for making the trip.

If you weren't wasted, the holiday was. Enjoy

Room Tip: go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

If you turn up here and they offer you a room in Block A, don't take it. Otherwise you will be treated to all the noise from the bar, kitchen, and music from the pizza place next door echoing up the stairwell til all hours of the morning. I'm also convinced that staff members had accomodation on-site as there seemed to be televisions on in some of the rooms 24 hrs a day.
The room itself - I would describe as spacious, but as welcoming and comfortable as a common room in a detention centre.... The furniture is reclaimed 70's, but not in a hip way. The headboards on the beds were those white, padded, PVC affairs with buttons missing and nice yellow staining from countless other heads. The chairs were 1970's school chairs. You know - the metal ones with wooden seats and back rests? The bathroom had a brown suite, stained (I'm hoping) by the mineral content of the water supply and not by poor cleaning-up after the previous occupants.
The kitchen had a fridge, 2-ring cooker, kettle, and toaster. The fuse box was a bit temperamental in that whenever we used the cooker, the entire electricity supply to the apartment was cut off.
All-in-all, very disappointing. Probably fine if you literally just want somewhere to lay your head for the night, but if you like somewhere nice to come back to relax in the evening with a book and a bottle of wine, forget it. I will definitely not be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mavina Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Holiday Complex

Address: Triq il-Fliegu, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Mavina Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Mavina Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mavina Holiday Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.