We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succeeded my expectations. ......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Restaurant

Venus Restaurant
pioneer road, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2157 1604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 93 restaurants in Bugibba
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bugibba, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Succeeded my expectations. ......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this restaurant , you will never be disappointed try the venison fillet , its signature dish for me, mostly I took all the dishes on the menu, everything seems as fresh . Keep it up........

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    274
    83
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I visited venus restaurant for our anniversary and was not disappointed!
I'm a little bit fussy with food and not keen on sauces but the food was delicious!
I had the local cheeselets for starters followed by the duck, and my husband had a tuna starter followed by the steak. All of which were amazing! Cooked to perfection!
Service was outstanding also, could not of asked for a better evening!
Portions were very generous.
Well worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An upmarket eatery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant is really something special, but that is reflected in the prices which are double those of most of the other restaurants in Bugibba. We ate there on the last night of our holiday as a special treat and were not disappointed, both food and service were very good. The restaurant, itself, has just been refurbished and the decor is very tasteful. We chose to eat outside where the main problem is the same as we found in all Maltese restaurants- swarms of flies!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely bloody marvellous. Our second visit and it was sublime. Thank you for looking after us and the best cuisine on the island! Planning our next visit, or two or three.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Semi-hidden gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was something of a revelation; a foodie oasis in a sea of fast-food. Can't fault the service or the food or the premises, the only thing that might lose it marks is its location which is in the heart of Bugibba's busy, tourist-filled centre. On the other hand, I shouldn't complain as it is also only five minute's walk from our apartment :)

This was our first visit to Venus Restaurant, something we'd promised ourselves we'd do for months. We visited with friends who were over from Denmark and as this was their penultimate night in Malta, we thought we'd do something special.

Not disappointed AT ALL! Excellent food -- it's about 200 metres from the sea and the fish was super, super fresh -- friendly, attentive service and clean and well-presented establishment.

The m'aitre d' showed us a huge platter of freshly-caught fish and shellfish with lovely sea-bream, red snapper, flying fish, meagre fish, prawns, razor-clams and oysters, taking the time to explain what each one was, when it was caught (a handful of hours earlier) and how they might prepare it.

I had a truly delicious gnocchi dish to start, in a parmesan and orange zest sauce with a thin slice of balsamic-caramelised liver; very rich, very unusual, very tasty. For my main, I had grilled flying fish accompanied with a selection of tray-baked vegetables.

We washed it down with a really nice local rosé from the Marsovin vineyards.

Very, very good, look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venus Restaurant also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Venus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.