We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we had to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Restaurant

Venus Restaurant
pioneer road, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2157 1604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Bugibba
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So good we had to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We are regular short-break travellers and search for good eateries with the asasistance of this (TA) medium. On our second night, because of the reviews, we visited Venus.
It was not particularly interesting (perhaps we are not chic enough) and we almost passed it by. However remembering , never judge a book.... etc we ventured into the 'waiting room'.
The staff were friendly and welcoming.and the appetisers were excellent. Three of us combined our starters and shared. I have never encountered such tasty and tender octopus.
The mains were also excellent with melting veal and technically perfect (in our opinion) chicken Kiev.
We had a minor spat with the manageress re pricings and interpretation etc, She managed it well and we were more than happy with the outcome.
We searched for the remaining days but came up with nothing coming close to the Venus experience, although the overall standard was quite good.
We returned on our last night and despite the fact that the restaurant was now packed, including a group of approx 20, we had another amazing meal. We all ordered different courses and were equally pleased with our choices.
The costs were very reasonable with an excellent value 20 Euro special set menu. Going al la carte was not a lot more but the real value was in the quality of the food.
My only regret was I didn't visit it every night. However, quite correctly, some of our party wanted to explore other options..
If you visit Malta then do not miss a trip to Venus - it truly is out of this world! (sorry)
This is my first blog on TA so how impressed am I and I am sure u will be too!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmgera, Owner at Venus Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
We and the staff of Venus Restaurant would like to thank you for your comments.
Regards,
Michael & Julie Gera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    95
    14
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food in a modern setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Great, well-prepared food from their set menu (at € 20!), well served in pleasant bright and modern restaurant, good Maltese wine and pleasant attentative service. A good find in an area that houses many mediocre tourist-oriented restaurants.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmgera, Owner at Venus Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
We and the staff of Venus Restaurant would like to thank you for your comments.
Regards,
Michael & Julie Gera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We had 10 days in Malta and tried different restaurants in different cities for both lunch and dinner. By far Venus was the best experience. We came here twice for dinner and both times the experience was outstanding.

Great atmosphere (music, interior), superb service and fantastic food!
The menu is rather limited in range, but we liked that very much, since you are then sure that they are really good at what they do!!

We tried both chicken, duck and rabbit. Everything really tasteful and perfectly cooked.
The set menu they offer for 20 euroes for 3 courses is a bargain! In my opinion it should cost 3 times as much.... Also they have daily specials.. If you get the chance try the spicy fish cakes or Tuna for starters!!

I surely can give Venus my highest recommendations, and the restaurant itself could be the reason why we some day will return to Malta! 5 big starts from us!

In Danish:
En absolut fantastisk madoplevelse, som fortjener 5 store stjerner! Er du i området må du ikke snyde dig selv for en fantastisk middag og madoplevelse her !!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmgera, Owner at Venus Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
We and the staff of Venus Restaurant would like to thank you for your comments.
Regards Michael & Julie Gera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice English restaurant in the midst of tourist traps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Great refined British atmosphere with decent food. Well laid out restaurant.

Would have liked a greater selection of local dishes (or fusion dishes). Service was alright, but overly friendly at times - a reservation for professionalism would have been preferred.

Having said that, I would still recommend a visit if you miss English food and ambience whilst on a long trip in Bugibba.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmgera, Owner at Venus Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
We and the staff of Venus Restaurant would like to thank you for your comments.
Regards,
Michael& Julie Gera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
“Refined and tasteful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Venus would have at least one Michelin star in every other country. In Bugibba (Malta) it's 'just' another place' where you can have a 3-course meal for € 20 (don't know how they do that...). But...the price is where every comparison ends.
Contrary to other restaurants in Bugibba, Venus has a great atmosphere and the service is excellent. The staff is intented to make you feel welcome and special.
But of course, the most important is the food. That's tasty, refined en of high quality, fresh and modern. And any special request, even vegetarian, is prepared with creativity and love of food. Absolutely recommended!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmgera, Owner at Venus Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
We and the staff of Venus Restaurant would like to thank you for comments.
Regards,
Michael & Julie Gera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venus Restaurant also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Venus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.