We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Apartments

Save Saved
You added Shamrock Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shamrock Apartments
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   J. Quintinus Street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1300, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
2 EUR discount per ticket
Ranked #1 of 7 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

These Apartments are spotlessly clean and very large, they are in a very good location as everything you need is on the doorstep. The pool whilst not large was great and we really had lots of use from it, we came out of our apartment door and the lift was right there, up two floors and we were at the pool. We reallised before we arrived that the pool was small and resigned ourselves to just using it as a plunge pool to cool off as we expected it to be crowded but most of the time we had the pool to ourselves. We used to have a good swim (you just have to do more lengths) every morning and then when we got back to the apartments in the afternoon we had a another swim and there was always room. Because the pool area is quite small with about seven sunbeds (although there are another six or seven on a sun terrace) everyone around got chatting and we spoke to most of the people who were staying there it made for a very friendly atmosphere and nobody hogged the beds, people just had a sunbathe and then left so anytime you wanted a sunbed there was always one available.
I agree with other reviewers that an electric kettle would be good but it is not essential as the cooker boiled the kettle fairly quickly. Some people have said that they had a toilet roll when they arrived but the two apartments that we and our friends had did not have any when we arrived and I do think that just one should be provided as this would cost very liittle and would be good if you arrive after the shops are closed, and although I had expected none my friends were surprised at this.
While we were there our toaster packed up so on our way out we knocked on Antida's door and told her, by the time we came back there was a new toaster ready for use.
We were also a bit bothered that there were no safety deposit boxes at the apartments as we did not wish to carry passports and money everywhere with us, I e mailed Antida about this before the holiday and she kindly offered to put anything we were concerned about in her safe. I took a PVC bag and we put our things and our friends in the bag and they went into the safe, we had to go for money twice while we were there but it did not seem to trouble Antida and so this was very much appreciated also one day while getting some money and having a chat she printed a list for me of local places of interest. The only down side to these apartments was that while we were there there was quite a lot of building work going on and whilst it had almost no effect on us with an apartment at the back our friends were at the front and directly below the work and it was very noisy and started very early in the morning so they found it very annoying, but when we go again I am sure this will be finished
When we booked we asked for a high floor with adjoining rooms and we had both, and the family where very pleasant and helpful overall we had a great holiday and we will definitely go to Malta again and we will stay in these apartments again and I would have no hesitation in recomending these apartments to friends and relatives but a word of warning if you want five star accomodation these apartments are not for you they are large, clean, basic and good value for money
Also there are two lovely restaurants as you leave the apartments and turn into tourist street one is La Sopressa and the other La Stalla opposite one another both with a thirteen euro three course menu and both very good value with bread & butter and garlic bread and dips at no extra charge also the Sea Shell fish and chip shop next door to La Stalla with Cod, Haddock or Scampi chips & peas for five ninety five including bread & butter all in all the whole holiday was very good value for money.
The only place we did not like was the George Pub just up the road as we had a meal in there on the Sunday and the food was awful when I complained that the yorkshire pudding was inedible as was the Gammon the man said it was not up to the usual standard and that was it not even an apology

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good but I would prefer a high floor the rooms at the front have a view over a fiel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    42
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the "Shamrock" for the second time and it was just as good. Antida (the owner) picked us up from the airport, so the transfer was effortless.

The apartments are located just off "Tourist St" - a perfect location. It's only a couple of minutes walk to the promanade,bus station and about 5 mins to the square. Although there are bars and restaurants within a minutes walk, the apartments are very quiet and there is no disturbance.

The apartments are very spacious and have every thing that you need - including a full size cooker, toaster, large fridge etc. A few small touches that would enhance the stay would be reading lights in both bedrooms as the mains lights are too bright when reading. Some off the apartments have air con - and some more will have it installed for next year. There has been plenty of work being done on the top floor where the swimming pool is including a new lift. All the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful so if you did have any problem I feel sure they would sort it out for you
Its a great place and we will certainly be booking with them again - just check out the web site for current prices and details

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the early sun - the ones at the back get it from early afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

such a well priced clean and spacious apartment , everything we needed there we had it , and more the pool was fantastic being on the roof meant it really wasn't that cold , the actual apartment itself was clean and everything worked well , we came here to do model photoshoots so the pool and the sunset shoots on the roof and surrounding area of the hotel was fantastic , the owner was so welcoming and friendly she greeted us told us everything we need to know showed us to our room and made sure we settled in ok , was a brilliant stay will defiantly be coming back with my family soon

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after 11pm on a Sunday night, and were welcomed in by Antida. The 2 bedroom apartments were more spacious than expected, with kitchenette (oven, sink, kettle, toaster, cooking eqipment, crockery, glasses and fridge), lounge (armchairs and couch), dining area for 4, large bathroom between the 2 decent sized bedrooms (each with cupboard and bedside tables) and two balconeys. It was also sparkling clean! It's very self-contained with guests needing to purchase own soaps, dishwashing liquid and more toilet rolls (1 is supplied). Towels and clean bedding is supplied. We stayed early summer and apartment was getting warm, fans are provided in bedrooms, but maybe one in dining/lounge would be good too. Free parking is available close by, as well as supermarkets, restaurants, shops, pastizzeria, and close walk to waterfront. Renovations were occurring to apartments when we stayed, but we weren't bothered by building works. Pool upstairs is nice, as is views (watching weekend fireworks and sunsets). Only negative is it can be noisy from upstairs neighbours and outside locals at night/early morning, but earplugs work well :) Wi-fi worked very well and tv had better stations than expected. We will happily return and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This apartment was extremely well priced. The apartment is basic, but clean and a lot bigger than we thought it would be. It is in a good location, central to most things in Bugibba. The kitchen is basic but useable. An electric kettle would be handy though. We paid to get wi-fi it worked perfectly the whole time. There were fans in both bedrooms, however a fan in the lounge room would have been nice, as it could get quite hot in the apartment. Did not use the pool, but looks like they are going to make it a nice area, they were doing a lot of renovations. View from the pool area is nice. One more thing, they provide you with a roll of toilet paper, but then you have to purchase more, there was also no dish washing liquid or cloths, these too had to be purchased. We have stayed in many apartments and this was the first that did not provide these things. But all in all a good stay at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

After a shaky start to our holiday, us being in Malta but our cases still in Birmingham and 5 days before we saw them, we were welcomed to the Shamrock Apts. by the owner Antida and shown to our very spacious 2 bed apartment. It was on the basic side but very clean and nearly everything you could need, perhaps a microwave would help especially if you have small children.
Antida pulls out all the stops to make your stay a good one, she found us a hairdryer (ours being still in Birmingham) to use, rung Malta airport every day to enquire about our cases and was genuinely helpful and careing.
The area that houses the pool on the rooftop has been extented, so there is now plenty of space for sunbathing and a lift has been installed that makes life a lot easier.
Everything is so close by shops, supermarkets, bus station and of course the sea front, it makes staying at the Shamrock Apts. great.
So all in all we had a fabulous time in Malta and the Shamrock Apts. and hopefully we will be back to stay very soon Antida.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Excellent accomodation . Fully equipped - very clean . Antida very helpful . Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shamrock Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Apartments

Address: J. Quintinus Street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1300, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shamrock Apartments 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Apartments with shared swimming pool are centrally located and located in a very safe neighbourhood in Bugibba in St Paul's Bay area in Malta. The Shamrock Apartments are 8 minutes by walk from supermarkets, bus station, main square, sandy beach, banks, restaurants, pubs, casino and other any tourist services and facilities. The Shamrock Apartments is a small family-run business and a unique feature of the Shamrock Apartments is its rooftop swimming pool with sea views. Other facilities include: Inroom wireless internet access (WI-FI) in the apartment, ample free public car parking, free lugguage storage, passenger life and office to assist guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Shamrock Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Apartments Hotel Bugibba
Shamrock Apartments Malta/Bugibba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.