We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my idea of a hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Hotel to your Saves list
Coral Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Pioneer Road, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Bugibba B&B and Inns
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not my idea of a hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

our reception was not very enthusiastic and we had to find our own way up to our room, so not a good first impression. The room looked alright but soon we discovered the drawbacks:
very inadequate reading lights
the balcony view was a brick wall
the beds were not comfortable, which meant we slept poorly
we had to pay for tea making equipment and I had to make a down payment for a hairdryer.
In the dining room the food was unattractively presented and worse than the food I cook at home.

The good points were:
good rooftop pool, which we couldn't use as too cold for swimming, but pleasant for lying in the sun when it shone.
It's only two doors up from an excellent cinema where I watched Alice in Wonderland in 3D!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    65
    61
    40
    26
See reviews for
26
135
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We arrived courtesy of 'Mercury' pickup around 3 in the afternoon. No one to help with our bags Checked in and staggered up to the third floor to a frankly diappointing room. The balcony has no view (we were at the rear of the Hotel) and one stares into a 'Berlin Wall' type of construction.. The beds were old and when one turned over in them, it sounded like a Chinese orchestra striking up !
. On arrival we asked about tea making facilities. Not available until tomorrow we were told and they will cost £3.50 per day. You wil also have to pay for a t/v console and a deposit for a hairdryer. All pretty negative.
The food was just about acceptable( for me at least, but not for my wife) The breakfast was O.K. but the morning juice is Squash. On the plus side, the toaster works well although how to work it takes a bit of figgerrng out! Coffee (Nescafe) and tea are from a machine by the wall. I HATE Nescafe (devils brew) so no morning coffee for me!No fruit is served so we bought our own and ate it in the bedroom. The staff are friendly and the rooms are kept clean, but the Hotel is understaffed and the receptionist also serves in the bar.
We had to leave early for the airport but the taxi (due at 4.45 a.m. did not turn up until 5.30a.m.) Not sure if Mercury or the driver was to blame.
Alastair Craig
Folkestone,
Kent

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Went with my mother and 11 yr old child on an all inclusive basis. Hotel is suited for over 65's and British. The food on the menu is British and the lunch menu is more like a "kiddies menu", chips, eggs, cheeseburger, egg burger, cheese and ham toasties...I'm sure you get the picture. This is a small hotel with 40 rroms and the dinner menu is limited, but edible. There was no fruit on the menus. The weather was chilly therefore we needed heating in the rooms in the evening, however the system blew out cold air, eventually after 6 days of asking for the heating to be fixed, the engineer came and that evening we had heat, however the system made really loud gurgling noises and so we has to switch it off. Staff were very friendly, however the hotel is understaffed, with the receptionist doubling as the bar worker. There is no back to the hotel, the only seating area outside is the small front with around 12 chairs. Pool was small with alot of dirt and the occasional sweetie floating. The bedding was clean however the grouting and cleanliness of the rims of the taps were not of a hotel standard. If you like British food you will enjoy this hotel. I did not see any fitness suite and no massage/beauty area, and there was definately no hairsryer in the room. I asked for towels for the pool and there was a charge of €6 per towel and when they are returned you get half your money back. I asked for acoffe making facilities for the room and was told that there was a charge of €3.50 per day, no fruit offered at the hotel. Did not like Malta as it reminded me of a war zone, with the building all empty and draped with for sale and rent everywhere, unfinished roads, half built hotels, dog poo every where.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

My wife and myself stayed at the Coral in October 2009, booked for ten nights, all inclusive.the room was basic but clean enough but we were given a room at the front of the hotel which is on a main road and the noisy traffic started around 6.30 every morning. Not so good.
The restaurant served a reasonable breakfast every morning, lunch was a bit limited we were given a snack bar menu, the evening meal was acceptable.
Most staff were friendly but it seemed like thy had to multi task serve in the bar, restaurant,reception etc so if there was no one looking after the bar you actually had to find someone, Not so good. We went into breakfast one morning and was shown to a table, we decided to move because the table had a " wobble" the waitress took a dislike to this and actually threw down the cutlery onto the table and you could see the annoyance on her face, Not so good.We were moved to the Coral Hotel after about a week they said the hotel was closing for the season. The rest of the holiday was fine but the Coral receptionist promised to re arrange our transfer to the airport and yes you guest it they never did. Not so good

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Mario and his staff could not have been better. Any help or information was given with a smile. No entertainment is what they said, so we sat on the terrace and all the guests made their own. What a friendly atmosphere! We would go back there any time; it is great!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I travelled to Malta on the 26th August with my partner. When we first arrived we wondered what we had booked in to however over the week we were there we got to like the place. The staff were friendly, the food was good (definitely edible). We went All Inclusive and had to sign a receipt after ordering drinks, the prices on the receipt seemed fairly high (2.50 for a pint of water!). The pool area was fairly small but it got us talking to other couples on holiday, who also seemed to enjoy their time in this hotel. The rooms in the Hotel was of a good size. The only draw back was the air conditioning...or lack of. They have a unit and also a ceiling fan but both are pretty poor and do not cool the air down.

The hotel was well located with Bugibba Square and local shops a 5-10 minute walk away.

I would highly recommend going on the Comino Island trip. We walked down to the square and paid 15 euros each for a half day trip. St Paul's Island (the first stop off) was pretty boring but once you get to the Blue Lagoon you will be amazed. It was beautiful, clear blue waters which is lovely and warm :-)

Despite the poor air conditioning I would recommend the Hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

If you want to book this hotel all inclusive book the Canifor half board and get upgraded here for free!!! We paid all inclusive for this holiday at this hotel and asked for a front room, we were advised no front rooms were available but everyday people were being moved from the Canifor Hotel and getting sea view rooms and being upgraded all inclusive at no extra charge.
Hotel iwell situated for the town centre, I think it is run by Basil Fawlty and Manuel but we are still looking for them.Food is very British and Ok but I wouldn't go further than that and I wouldn't book this hotel again,

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Address: Pioneer Road, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.