We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Euroclub Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Euroclub Hotel to your Saves list
Euroclub Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fliegu Street, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had a wonderful time at the Euroclub Hotel, staff very friendly, rooms were clean and tidy and the food was wonderful. Thank you for making my families stay so great.
If you would like to go into the square at Bugibba then do yourself a favour and visit the Chimney Cake shop, cakes brilliant and staff were polite and friendly and not out to rip you off. Forget the underwater safari not worth the money, blue lagoon was beautiful but packed out, but the trip around Malta was worth the money. Flew with Easyjet and would recommend them to everyone, crew were polite and happy to assist you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    76
    70
    45
    75
See reviews for
46
151
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I would first like to start by saying that i have visited Malta 7 times now staying in different hotels on different budgets, I love Malta and the Maltese people but had staying in this hotel been my first experience of Malta i would be put off ever going back!! We stayed at this hotel between Aug 19th and Aug 26th and we booked this hotel based on reading quite a few good reviews but it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in!!. As soon as we were dropped off outside i had a bad feeling and it just got worse upon entering the place. It is dark and dingy with narrow corridors, paint peeling off walls etc. The room we werefirst in had no hot water and the bathroom door would not close properly, no air conditioning just a ceiling fan that looked like it was about to drop from the ceiling and it also made a terrible noise all night. The room was on ground level with just low walls seperating you from the rooms on either side and the street and the sliding door onto the balcony would not lock so we did not feel very secure, especially about leaving anything in our room while we were out!! I complained the same night and was told to speak to the manager the next morning at 8am. When i did go to find to him i was told i had to wait as he had not arrived yet but even when he did the woman behind reception did not tell him i was waiting to speak to him and he left again!! I was fuming and demanded our room be changed which luckily it was later that day but the receptionist woman Maria was very off with me for the rest of our stay and never spoke to me unless she had to.
Also, we had paid for half board but ended up eating out all but one night of our 7 night stay as there was just no choice at all. The one night we did try the food our only choice was boiled potatoes, 2 veg and a meat (not sure what) in a sauce (also not sure what it was) that was it!! My partner asked if there were any desserts for his daughter and a peice of cake was brought from the kitchen but none were offered on display so you weren't to know they were even available!! no drinks included either. Breakfast was one type of cereal that looked like cheap cornflakes (the milk was warm) brown or white bread, under cooked sausages, greasy bacon, fried eggs and beans. The orange juice was watery or you could have tea or coffee. There was also one type of meat on a tray, one type of cheese and some boiled eggs for a more continental breakfast.
We were also advised by another holiday maker staying there not to use the lifts as she had been stuck in one of them the day before and apparently it was a regular occurence, the staff are actually told to listen out for the buzzer sound to alert them it was stuck again!! We just used the stairs but were on the third floor so it was abit of a pain every day!!
I had also enquired about use of a luggage room and somewhere to freshen up on the day we were to leave as check out was 11am but we were not getting picked up for the airport until 6pm i was told it would be fine but when it actually came to it we were told we had to just leave our luggage in reception all day and use the pool showers but we were not allowed to use shampoo or shower gel!! we also had to change in the reception toilets that were barely lit!!
I couldn't leave the place quick enough and although i could just put it down to experience and forget i ever went there i really need to write this review in the hope that i can even save one person from making the mistake of booking there. The ONLY positive point is that it is located ideally for the bus station and alot of local bars etc but there are plenty of other, better, hotels around so please choose one of them instead!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

where to start !!!!! no rooms with aircon even tho advertised ....no double beds although that is what was booked and paid ....truly truly rude staff !!!!!!! a shower that wasnt fixed to the wall and was worked on everyday of our stay of a week but never fixed also at early hours everyday so when finally got to sleep as no aircon or fan that worked were woken by workmen that did nothing to remedy fault...had to go out and rent fans myself as no alternative was offered at all to the lack of cooling supplied ....given towels with large holes in and when shown management just shrugged shoulders and ignored .....had to ask on daily basis for toilet roll as maids didnt even do that when there as well as no cleaning so god knows what they did do apart from being rude ....food ...dont go there if you value your teeth or stomach

Room Tip: try a different hotel ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed between 02 August to 09 August 2012 on a half board basis. We chose Euroclub because at the time of booking there were plenty of good encouraging reviews on TripAdvisor.

Upon arrival we were greeted pleasantly and after a short wait we were shown to our room. The room was basic but had the essentials wardrobe, chair and dressing table, english plugs etc. We did not have air con but some rooms apparently do. The ceiling fan in our room didn't work properly on arrival, however, we were provided with a desk top fan until the ceiling fan was replaced the very next morning. All was well and we were looking forward to writing a glowing review on here. Until...that evening, we went to the dining room to be greeted with some beef slop and chicken slop and kebab-shop-style salad. Neither of which looked at all appetising. Instead, we decided to search the local area for somewhere to eat, ending up in Bugibba Square. The next day we discovered our toilet would not flush. We went down for breakfast (which again wasn't great...sausages were boiled and didn't look cooked, eggs weren't thoroughly cooked etc) and informed Reception of the issue with the toilet. They informed us it would be looked at and fixed so we went out for the day. When returning back after a long day out we found that the toilet had not been fixed, instead the workings of the cistern had been removed and left on top of the cistern. Back to Reception we go. They went on to say that it had been fixed. A little while later, a maintenance man arrived and reassembled the cistern. Later that night, after returning from a meal out, we were greeted with a puddle in the bathroom surrounding the toilet. And so, we return to Reception, again, to be told there was nothing they could do at this time (approx 8:30pm) as the maintenance man had gone home. Instead, they said they would provide us with towels to soak up the water (which was given to us 45 minutes later!). The next day we reminded Reception of the leak and went out for the day. Came back, and, guess what, we were greeted with another puddle. To our knowledge this toilet is still leaking. Because of this leak, I moved some of my toiletry items into a carrier bag and moved them away from the toilet, when we had returned to the room, the bag of toiletries had gone and Reception stated that it had been thrown away because it was near the bin!!!

Euroclub has a lovely pool and the pool area is a sun trap. However, the pool is open 8am-6pm to non-hotel residents and at weekends, hotel guests will struggle to get a space by or near it. The pool and pool area was thoroughly cleaned everyday in the morning.

Euroclub is in a fantastic location with the necessity right outside (newsagents, supermarket, pharmacy) and more restaurants and pubs than you could visit in a month. Qawra and Bugibba are very well equipped places for tourists. The 'beach' is a 3 minute walk (if that) and Bugibba square is about a 10 minute walk, with lots of bars and cocktail places on the way (and they have 5 litre cocktails!!!).

Although we were disappointed with the hotel it has not turned us off the area and we will return to one of the many hotels neighboring Euroclub. If you have to use this hotel, do so on a room-only basis as the food was not worth the extra you pay for half board. And definitely request a room with air-con!!!!

Room Tip: Recommend inland view of pool because the road is very noisy at night and definitely request air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After being disapointed with our appartment the barman at Mc Cormack's suggested Euroclub. How pleased we were that he did. As soon as we arrived we were shown to our basic but clean room by the lovely Carmen and made to feel very welcome. All the staff were lovely. We enjoyed our stay so much we are going back in october. It is in a great location right next to the bus station. The pool is a good size, even if I was the only one swiming in november, there is also a small indoor pool. Our room was cleaned daily as were the beds and towels. Yet again thank-you to Sayed, Carman and Maria for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

No air condition, not working old TV, broken furniture, cockroaches nest in the bathrooms.
Booked this hotel with my boyfriend for a week but we moved out after the 2nd day because we could not stand it anymore. The broken chair injured my boyfriend, the manager blamed us for that, kept yelling and being very arrogant to us! No apologies or solution at all!!! We have an open dispute in our country now.
Huge cockroaches nest in the bathroom made me almost to a heart attack! Never since that huge cockroaches in my life..they literally were 6-7cm big..CAN YOU IMAGINE THAT RUNNING ON YOU???
Very arrogant manager with low education and poor English! He didn't even tell us his name, he just said he is from Egypt...
Please, listen to me and do not ever stay there! You do not want to experience what we did!

Regards,
Lena

Room Tip: Rooms have no air condition and with huge window to the rusty tubes and sewerage in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

just back from malta pleasant hotel room air con and fan ( bonus ) meals buffet style . breakfast good cooked and continental . dinner good variety over 2 weeks .2 mains and salad bar , soup ,sweet . close to bus station . watsons bar onsite and across from incognito will be on list next time in malta

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Euroclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euroclub Hotel

Address: Fliegu Street, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Euroclub Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places and HostelBookers so you can book your Euroclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euroclub Hotel Qawra
Euroclub Hotel Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euroclub Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.