We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, but clean and very nice staff. Doubt i would return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sea View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB04, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in Qawra
niteowl2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very basic, but clean and very nice staff. Doubt i would return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Very friendly staff and very clean hotel. The rooms however are very basic. You will either get a bath with a shower head or a walk in shower. The Bath towels are also likley to be somewhat thread bare. The hotel is not air conditioned and the rooms contain a fan, however this is really no use at all and the rooms are very warm. The main thing that lets this hotel down is without doubt the food. It is very bland and basic and some meals contain the leftovers from the night before, and If you love apple pie you are in for a treat as it was served as a sweet 7 nights in a row. That said i cant say all the meals were bad. The drinks are a fair price around 1.80 euros for a pint. One thing to note is that locals do use the pool so it may get quite noisey during the day. There is also a dodgem ride over the road which is noisey at night but you cant hear it when the doors are closed.The hotel is in a good location on the seafront and close to many bars, shops and the bus stop. The seaview hotel seems to be particularly popular with the older generation. If you are after luxury this is not the place for you but if all you are after is a bed for the night then you may want to consider.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    27
    16
    23
See reviews for
20
59
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

food ok if u like undercooked or microwave meals and the same pudding everynight if u stay half board like we did ..also u must like straycats that run around while eating and take a fly swatter as u will also need it .we give this hotel 1 star because view and cleaning staff were lovly apart from that nothing to add oh yes the pool is used by the locals so dont expect to get a sun bed weekdays or use the pool until late at night

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborugh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We only had 28 days but which we had 8 weeks.All the staff are very helpful and friendly,the food was exultant too we stayed on H/B
which we don't often do.Most of the guest was very friendly.
The room we had was only about 10Ft x10Ft but had a bathroom with walk in shower which was very nice and OK for the two of us.Looking forward to next visit next year but at least 8 weeks then.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

Stayed at the Qawra Palace Hotel in Qawra in November 2008. Staff, Accommodation (Sea view) and Entertainment was excellent. There was entertainment on every day whether it was carpet bowls, whist, tea dance in the afternoons and a choice of Ballroom dancing or Singer/Entertainer at night, oh not to mention Bingo as well. If there was football on TV you were spoilt for choice as there were numerous venues to sit and enjoy at. Bar prices were reasonable even though the exchange rate wasn,t in your favour. It also has a Cafe attached to the foyer and is open every night until 1pm so if you need a nightcap or a cup of tea and a slice of cake it,s available. It is not for young couples or with children as the guests are mature in age in other words elderly. Food, there are at least 3 main choices for evening meal but the soup starter is absolutely perfect as are the desserts so you will not go hungry. A lot of guests go regular to this Hotel and stay many weeks and come back every year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Stayed for 2 weeks, party of 6, my husband,2 kids, me, my dad and step mum(who is wheel chair bound). Management and staff couldnt do enough to make sure we had a good holiday.
My dad & stepmum have been before but was our first time in Malta and we fell in love with the island and its people.
The hotel is clean, tidy and the staff always smiling and happy to help. The rooms are basic but always clean. The beds werent the most comfortable but we were always so tired after swimming etc that it didnt spoil our sleep. My parents were on the ground floor and found it easy to get round the hotel with the wheel chair. Food was always good, something for everyone, even my fussy 8 year old (we went half board).Small swimming pool but gave my son confidence and he learnt to swim. Varied evening entertainment though we prefered to sit in the downstairs bar facing the sea and watch the world go by.
Mdina and Valletta well worth a visit and kids loved the water park.
All in all a Wonderful Holiday, will definitely go back.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

Returned early hours this morning after my party of 4 had a very enjoyable holiday, age range 14 to 80 years. Previous reports made me a little concerned however over the holday each day we liked the hotel more, Hotel is between 2 and 3 stars in my opinion and has guests from all over East and Western Europe but English is spoken and all writing is English. Checking in with the night porter was no problem. The lift modern and reliable. The cleaners kept our 2 rooms clean, towels were a bit hit and miss but improved, the hotel inside and around the pool was always clean and staff very pleasent and efficient. Views are terrific, we stayed half board and the dining room overlooks the wide bay.Our 2 rooms overlooked the pool and noise from entertainment could bother some people if wanting an early night, music ended about midnight. The pool is quite deep but the there is a shallow childrens pool. The pool area was pleasent to relax and sunbathe whilst not too many were around but the last couple of days with the arrival of more guests and childen a bit more noisy. Meals for us were fine, continental breakfast or pay extra for English. Drinks ordered from the bar are good (nice cappucino) but at breakfast from machines fruit juice and tea is very poor. Take your own teabags,they will supply a pot and hot water on request. Also as others have said take a travel kettle for your room. Sockets are British 3 pin. Evening meals are 3 course, soup and pasta starters always very nice with a chilled salad bar to help yourself. Main courses acceptable, vegetables mainly very poor for some reason, frozen mixed veg very regular but meat and fish ok. Deserts again ok, e.g. gateux, apple pie, cream caramel, ice cream. All set meals were value for money, you can order from the a la carte menu if you wish.
The bar prices are fair but they run out of certain beers which is annoying but in fairness offer alternatives.
Evening entertainment is every night and is a little better that none at all.
Bathrooms are currently being improved, ours was clean but a little worn where as our other room had a refurbished bathroom that was much better. I expect they will all be completed eventually. Air Malta were excellent, I would recommend this airline and Murcury Direct provided a good service. We hired a car for 3 days ( they drive on the left) but use the local bus service to visit Valetta. The day around Gozo by coach and ferry is a good excursion and the Comino Island and visit to the Blue Lagoon boat trip great if you like snorkling. Cant wait to go back and would be happy to stay at The Sea View again. If you want fine dining then pay a lot more. Swimming in the sea is from rocks mainly so if you want a beach holiday avoid Malta but the island has much more to offer and more than compensates for its lack of soft white sand.

  • Liked — Location, views, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — 2 single beds slipping apart, no aircon in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We have stayed in this hotel for one week. I should say from the beginning that there is no A/C - it wasnt in our room at least. Very modest main room, its quite small as for common european - its rather for chinese guys than for europeans with a height at least of 180cm :). There was a TV without a Remote Control - which you should rent at the reception for some euros - dont remember the exact price though. Outside there is a nice small pool. Fridays and Saturdays are very loud and crowded there - so its quite hard to get asleep ealrier than 1AM on those days. But, overall, if you have limited budget and wanna have quite convenient location in the center of the town - then thats just for you :)

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB04, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Qawra
Sea View Hotel Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.