We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit in 18 Months. You Get What You Pay For.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Hotel to your Saves list
Sea View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB04, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Third Visit in 18 Months. You Get What You Pay For.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We returned to The Sea View Hotel for the third time in 18 months for a 3 week stay on half board. It was nice on arrival to see familiar faces on Reception, the Bar and Restaurant from previous visits. You get what you pay for here, we paid for a Sea View room and we got a Sea View room, we paid for Half Board and we got Half Board. Yes the rooms could do with a coat of paint, but you are not buying the room and if you are on holiday how much time do you actually spend in the room. Shower and sleep. The Half Board is more than adequate for what you pay. £1250 for a 3 week half board stay. The Hotel is very central for everything and the sea front views fantastic. With views over St Paul's Bay and Gozo in the distance. When you book in here you need to remember it is 3 stars. As with most Hotels in Malta you need to either bring a Kettle with you or hire one on arrival. The Pool and Pool area are clean and tidy and enough sun beds to go around. Just enjoy yourself, you are on Holiday, don't spend the time looking for every small little thing you can find wrong. We plan to return again next May for a 4 week stay.

Room Tip: Pay for the Sea View it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    30
    23
    30
See reviews for
23
71
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We knew this was a budget hotel but it was horrible, dingy, scruffy and with only one receptionist, Anna, who was a pleasure to deal with. We booked a sea view room which helped, and there was entertainment in the bar every evening. Apart from that it is hard to find a positive thing to say. There were lots of small marble steps throughout the hotel, some impossibly steep, others just small enough to trip you up, even in our box of a bathroom so you need to be agile! The bathroom along with all other areas needed a damn good clean. Our room did not even have a wardrobe, just a recess with hangers. There was no hairdryer or fan as advertised.Breakfast was ok but very limited, if the usual waitress was missing it was chaos. After a week we decided to move elsewhere, when we informed reception the woman seemed neither surprised or interested as to why. If you are prone to depression avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Can't imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and i have been to malta many times, and stayed at various hotels, we booked the seaview as we knew someone who had stayed there many times, i must say i was very dissapointed with the first room, we had booked pool view and ended up at the back with very litlle to look at, thanks to Sandra on reception we were moved the next day to a better room and if i could have the same room i would'nt hesitate to return. breakfast was very good. Its outdated but with a little tlc it could be a very nice place as its location has everything going for it. met some really nice people and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We went to this hotel in February of this year as it was a retirement present from my husband.
We have friends who have stayed at this hotel and they spoke very highly of it, so I was looking forward to going.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were dropped off by the driver at the door to the bar and not the hotel entrance. we had to walk through the bar, through the restaurant, into a lift and go up one floor.
Once we got into the room,I can't say that I was impressed. There were 2 single beds in, (no problem with that), a heater to plug in if the rooms got cold (which they did on a night time) a table in the corner, and a wardrobe in the other corner. As you enter the room, if you turned left, you went up a single step into the bathroom which contained a bath with an overhead shower, a basin and the toilet, (all which had seen better days). Never mind, you only sleep there. Went to open the balcony door, only for it nearly to come out of the runners. Had to call the receptionist to come and put it right. The balcony, you could not sit on as the 2 chairs and table filled the balcony and there was no spare room for a person to get on it.
After a few days, I went down to the receptionist and asked her how often the bed lined should be changed and she said every other day. I informed her that ours hadn't been changed once and we had been there 7 days already. I will admit, the bedding got changed straight away, but then again, only another once before we went home.
I was not impressed with the cleaning of the room as I could tell when the room had not been cleaned as sometimes the marks, hairs in the sink of the previous day were still there the next day after it was supposed to have been cleaned.
I cannot fault the food at the hotel. The breakfasts were out of this world and you could have anything you wanted and for your evening meal you could choose from 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 desserts. The food was excellent as were the staff who waited on you for your breakfast and evening meal.
The hotel itself needs updating from top to bottom and certainly needs decorating.
For all of the above, if the hotel smartened itself up I would still go and stay there again but there has to be a vast improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Back again to this little hotel.same staff as before,pleasant and very helpful.Clean and tidy room with beautiful views. Also visit the Aquarium,brilliant bit of work using a submarine shell as part of it. Will be going back again next year..

Room Tip: Book a sea view room overlooking st Pauls Island,with Gozo as a back drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Recently returned from four week stay.Would reiterate much of earlier comment. Hotel staff are excellent,rooms are adequate if in need of update & food quite good.Altogether good value & it is obvious why so many of the visitors return year after year.

Room Tip: Might be some road noise at front?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times now. Although the decors a bit dated I actually quite like it. We've stayed in a standard room and upgraded to a sea view on 2 occasions. The balcony in the standard room was v small. The seaview rooms balcony was lovely. On one visit we were put in a v small seaview room, it was adequate for a short visit but we were staying 3wks with a 2yr old so we asked to be moved, a new room was found for us in minutes. The rooms were kept clean and beds/towels changed regularly.
The pool area is v clean and never felt busy. I did feel the childrens pool was quite deep for young children, would of been better paddling pool size.
The food was a bit hit and miss, it was nice, but for example if the choices were pork chops or omelette, you would get the same veg with both. So you could end up with omelette and cabbage. It wasnt a problem particularly, it added to the holiday fun guessing what we would end up with.
The hotel does seem to cater for the older generation, we were in our late 30's and by far the youngest. But that was great for our young son who was totally fussed over.
The evenings entertainment was usually someone singing with a keyboard, but we were away for quiet breaks and arent the kind of people who stay up partying.
If your looking for a good base, close to the bus station, restaurants and shops then this is great for you. If your after a lively holiday, partying half the night then id look somewhere else.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB04, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Qawra
Sea View Hotel Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.