We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea View Hotel to your Saves list
Sea View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB04, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Stockportr
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another good holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th time we have stayed at this hotel and anothet good holiday was had by all in our party. Yes I agree that maybe the hotel could do with being updated, you get what you pay for, especially when you hear bad reports about other hotels in the resort and they are supposed to be better hotels than the Seaview. I won't change hotel, as this is a small friendly hotel, the staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you. Yes there is entertainment on every night, but it is different every night. Food is good. what more could you want from a holiday. All I say is make your own mind up.




  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    34
    26
    32
See reviews for
25
78
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here first week in September. Small room, no air conditioning, fan kept on with aid of sellotape. Terrible mattresses which were changed mid week. torn towels. Breakfast basic. Plagued with mosquitoes. And the music was soooo loud. Our room looked over the pool - no sea breeze - where the karaoke was held and there is no choice but to listen to it. Nothing wrong with people enjoying themselves but if you pay to stay somewhere you should have the choice of whether you want to sleep or be "entertained" with people murdering New York New York! Dont stay here if you value sleep or comfort.

Room Tip: At a hotel up the road!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days June/July this year. The hotel is in a perfect location right on the seafront and convenient for shops, buses and walks. Our room was small but that was fine, we had a basis bathroom with a tiny bath. Fantastic seaview from the balcony which was not overlooked by anyone else. The hotel is dated and could do with refurbushment but it is kept clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a very small pool and the pool area is particularly lovely and peaceful with a nice bar with reasonable prices and the sea is just across the road anyway. Entertainment round the pool at night was ok to just have one drink before heading somewhere else - it wasn't noisy and it finished early anyway. We were on half board and found the food good, it was waiter service which I liked and the food was always freshly cooked and piping hot. A bottle of well chilled wine was only 6 euros and you could sit as long as you liked - the dining room faced the sea so it was lovely.

For what we paid, £25 per person per night, for bed breakfast and evening meal we could not complain. The hotel was cheap and cheerful, Malta is beautiful and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

at first sight we were dissapointed about the room, but actually in the end of the week we came to like the hotel very much.
cleaning every day, new bedsheets and towels. very serviceminded personel and an amazing location close to beach and center of the city.
Only thing missing was aircondition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sea View Hotel from 23rd June to 3rd July. The room wasn't air conditioned but we asked for a fan and one was brought right away; we had a brilliant sea view and we slept with the balcony door open so we got a lovely breeze from the sea. The staff were all very friendly and helped whenever we asked for it. For the price we paid for our holiday we didn't expect too much but it panned out well. Food was good and again staff A1, Beds were made up every day and so we had no complaints there. Our only rant is that we had to give our keys to the domestic staff so they could get into your rooms to clean. If you needed something from your room you had to search for the domestic which was a little frustrating. All in all though; we both enjoyed it and would book again because the shops and entertainment was just down the road; the hotel had it's own entertainment which was ok. Buses very frequent and you could go all over the Island for just €2.60. Very nice holiday all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash Cornwall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed 28th June to 5thjuly.i went with my 2 daughters aged 19&23. We had a nice time,the shower was fine,the music didn't bother us as it ended at 11pm. The towels were old & sometimes we only got flannel size ones.one day we had none,We complained & the girl on reception said she would go & get them knowing she was going straight home.The person who I guess was the manager seemed to be always stressed,I don't think I would enjoy working for him.Pool was nice,prices ok.Quawa itself is lovely.Everyone friendly &all speak English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On paper the Hotel Sea View was just what we were looking for. Small, in a fairly quiet location and with sea view rooms available. On arrival we were allocated room number 1 on the ground floor with balcony overlooking the sea. It seems that we were unfortunate in being given one of the smallest rooms in the hotel, other rooms in the hotel are larger and we met guests who were very pleased with them. The first thing that we noticed was that with the door closed and window open the wind howled through gaps in the ill fitting door making a terrible noise. When I complained about this I was told to shut all the windows and use the free standing fan. This had such a short power lead it was not practical to do so as the only points available were close by the head of the beds. The other problem with keeping all the windows closed was the the smell of sewerage every time you entered the room.

The shower room itself was a decent size but clearly with very old fittings. Rusty bolts holding a plastic toilet seat that had seen better days. The walk in shower was a decent size and the water hot and plentiful at the times we used it most. Clearly the water heating was on a timer as there was the odd occasion when turning on the hot tap produced luke warm water. The towels were changed daily but like everything else had obviously been in use since the hotel opened and were very well worn. The room maid did a wonderful job in cleaning and making the room comfortable as possible and really deserves a pat on the back.

I cannot comment too much on the restaurant food as we seldom had more than toast and orange squash (not juice) from a machine. The coffee dispensed from another machine was appalling and we gave up on that after the first day. We decided to eat out in the evenings.

Outside things were better. There is an attractive pool area with plenty of seating and sun loungers There is a small kiddies pool alongside that main pool but if you have small children take care that they do not stray from it. They could easily fall into the large pool which has no indication of how deep the water is. When we were there guests included a number of people who were less than mobile but would still have liked to use the pool. What deterred them was that there was no hand rail along side the steps so they they could steady themselves when entering the water. There is a poolside bar and once again the barman provided a friendly service.

It is a shame (and frankly ridiculous) that the pool is closed at 5.30 each evening so that seating can be rearranged for the evening 'entertainment'. The less said about that the better.

"Wheelchair friendly" is, I guess, a term not used too often in Qawra. ( the Q is silent by the way). In places the kerbs are very high, 30cm (12 inches) or so with very few access points for wheel chairs. There are plenty of steps to negotiate at the entrance to the hotel and around the pool area.

I would guess that not too much investment has been made in the hotel since it was built which is a shame as it is in such a good position.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room on an upper floor which seem to be larger and better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB04, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Qawra
Sea View Hotel Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.