We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cardor Holiday Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cardor Holiday Complex to your Saves list
Cardor Holiday Complex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta (Formerly Dorirose Aparthotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Portree
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Cheap and cheerful, Outdated and dirty, But the perfect place to rest your head after a day of sightseeing! It's the kind of hotel that you have to wear your shoes in your room so your feet don't get dirty, so I'd say perfect for people that are going out to have a good time. I wouldn't recommend it to families myself. No entertainment for children. the games room had 1 games machine and 2 pool tables (with one working cue only for both tables) The entertainment was mostly for adults. The restaurant and bar staff were all lovely. Just wanted to give a quick warning to those travelling to this area if anyone offers you a free bus ticket,gift or site seeing tour etc just say 'not interested' or else you'll spend 3 hours out of your day back at some hotel with a company trying to sell you membership to their company.... Enjoy Malta (It's beautiful!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing pool as it's a lot quieter! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    37
    21
    42
See reviews for
41
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

It's a good place for people who don't wanna spend too much money for accommodation. The Cardor hotel was the cheapest option which I found on Malta. I had an apartment on the 3rd floor with a small balcony. My first impression when I entered the room? I was a bit disappointed, because the room was very dark, had old furniture and equipment, without ac (fortunately there was a fan). The biggest advantage of the hotel is of course a price and a location. It’s next to the main bus station, where buses depart to many other places on Malta.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We visit Malta at least once per year and always stay here, it is not fancy in fact it is very basic but cost is good. Staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome, it is clean and tidy and room is cleaned daily. Do not expect luxuries as it is a basic place and well worth the cost, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
school
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I have just returned from a week staying at the Cardor Holiday Complex Malta and I have to say I was very disappointed I arrived in the afternoon and the Hotel was closed for the day so had to go it's sister hotel The Canifor this looked very nice so I checked in and was given a key for room 205 in the Cardor Complex which you had to go to the -1 floor through the bar and by the swimming pool which looked nice as it was only 4pm I noticed that there was no sun or people at the pool 1st concern. I went on to my "room" to discover it was an apartment, it was so dark with only 1 tiny window, no balcony and no window in the bedroom I knew I couldn't stay in there so I went back again to reception and asked if that was the only room they had and the lady gave me a key for the 5th floor and another apartment, this was nicer and had a small balcony which got no sun at any time of the day and the pool only got sun between 9.30 and 12.30 approx. The apartment was cleaned and had a good deal of light for most of the day but no sun. On the 3rd day I discovered by using a different lift there was a sun terrace on the roof but when I checked it out it had about 8 loungers and these were taken by regulars... the towels were changed each day but the sheets were not changed at all. The complex reception closed at 4pm until morning so you had to go through the Canfor to get out of the Complex. I notice a lot of people there in wheelchairs but there didn't seem to be ramp for them to use. All in all I wouldn't go back again. Very poor

Room Tip: I Don't think there are any good rooms as I was speaking to another couple and they stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

we were very fortunate to be able to visit Malta twice this year and on 6 October returned to the Cardor, it was like welcome home. We know its not 5 star accomodation but you get what you need. Cleanliness, linen regularly changed and all staff very helpful and friendly. Apartment had exactly what it said it would, a cooker for start not like the Qwara Point, no facilities at all.
the weather was amazing 28 - 29 every day, oh i love Malta home from home.

Room Tip: try and get a rear room the ones at the front are on the main road and the bars are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

Arrived with in-trepidation having read other reviews, however as soon as we walked through the doors all dispelled. Dated but clean, tidy surroundings. Helpful staff. We stayed in the apartments, clean tidy and daily maid service, fresh towels, beds made. Good value bar and entertainment most nights good for a laugh, dancing for the older guests. Pool area clean. Plenty of staff around maintaining the site. Good position for bars and restaurants and bus service, could even see the sea from our balcony

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

we have stayed for 6 weeks at a time for the last 8 years we love it..dont be put off by what people are saying on here.. ok it is not 5 star but you don't pay 5 star prices.. The rooms are basic but have all you need...clean bedding and towels....the cleaning could be better but the staff are so lovely and will do what ever they can to make your stay a happy one. Food is lovely and plentiful. The location is ideal central so close to the very cheap bus's..and just up the hill from the sea.The same people return year after year. We have stayed in posher hotels in Malta but this because of its frendliness is our first choice... love it!!!!!! see you soon cardor !!!!!!!! JILL H
XXXX

Room Tip: Pool side if you go in the spring. A room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardor Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardor Holiday Complex

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta (Formerly Dorirose Aparthotel)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardor Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cardor Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardor Holiday Complex Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Cardor Holiday Complex Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardor Holiday Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.