We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Qawra Point Holiday Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Qawra Point Holiday Complex to your Saves list
Qawra Point Holiday Complex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“False advertising”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed at this aparthotel in June for 1 week. However it should be known that this is no longer the Bella Vista Aparthotel but the Qawra Point Holiday Complex. The taxi driver had never heard of it yet we booked through a reputable site giving it 3 stars. I would rate it 1 star at most. There is 1 lift for 5 floors, old paint and carpets to greet clients, the 1 bedroom apartment had no delph, cutlery, kettle,pot, pan - nothing. There were 3 old beds in the 1 bedroom with NO air conditioning, just a fan on the bedroom wall and another in the living area, which had no couch or soft chairs. The balcony was so small that a table could not be put out onto it. In its favour the staff were very friendly but overworked. The sun terrace is a joke and the "pool" is like a giant bath. Sorry, never again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Qawra Point Holiday Complex, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
thank you for your contribution. The name of the complex was changed to QAWRA POINT so get guests and tour operators will not get mixed up between BELLA VISTA HOTEL and BELLA VISTA APARTMENTS. The wawra point complex is classified as 3 star by the tourist board.There are only about 24 rooms and the lift takes about 10 guests at 1 time.The rooms do not require cutlery pot and all the stuff you mentioned because they are not sold as self
SELF CATERING but as BB and HB.All the main bedrooms and the kitchen have single unit airconditioners, all you need is get a remote from reception. our staff work day in day out either morning or evening around 40/45 hours per week., with between 30 maximum 50 guests at a time.Cannot see how they are overworked . Sorry we did not meet your requirments. thank you for choosing Malta.























catering, but as BED & BREAKFAST and HALF BOARD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    27
    17
    13
See reviews for
17
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

taxi dropped us to bella vista hotel, wrong place! not drivers fault they assume this is where address is, however,hotel reception very helpful in ringing for shuttle bus from QAWRA POINT HOLIDAY COMPLEX to take us there no charge about a mile.,we had to help 2 italian girls who went to wrong place too. it seems they are part of the same company( bella vista on their sign) but they all deny it,
qwara point holiday complex apartments are cleaned and tidied by maids everyday,are quiet, having large bedrooms,balcony,kitchen(you wont need as its cheap to eat out) ample tables storage etc, beds are hard, as most usually are. but comfortable. lift, nice decor, pool is a portable type but you will want to go swimming in the sea, golden bay is not far. with buffet breakfast room serving cooked if you want. we had half board, GREAT VALUE. a shuttle bus driven by a very friendly driver will pick u up at 6 or 7.30pm for buffet dinner back at the 4 star bella vista hotel for a lovely meal, fresh exellent quality food of a large choice, especially their meat dishes and lovely desserts! all you can eat! shuttle driver will probably have his dinner too! and take you back nearly 2 hours later.no need to rush.
apartments, great location, USE THE BUSES,good fun, cheap (3 euro would take you on and off all day and go anywhere anytime in the day for the same ticket, their drivers are great charactors! and i just hope the old buses keep running.
in all.. lovely people, helpful, nice place close to amenities shops, bus stop, for a great time in malta.
i wont say what we paid for our stay,(just the food alone was worth what we paid) but we had a super cheap bargain, worth an awful alot more. so shop around! i dunno how they do it. AAAA++++

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Qawra Point Holiday Complex, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
thank you for your lovely review. It is nice when guests appreciate that for a few Euros they pay, they are getting a lot more than their money's worth.As you said if you eat out you will probably spend more than for staying at QAWRA POINT especially between OCT and MAY.Thank you for your comments about our food, and about our staff and MALTA. Our buses are part of our culture and it will be a pity if they replace them.Thanks for choosing Malta and the QAWRA POINT COMPLEX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

The Bella Vista - what can one say? It is nothing like the SAS Radisson where we would normally stay in Malta, but then the price is nothing like the Radisson either.

We wanted a very last minute holiday to Malta and Bella Vista came up as a four star and I thought "fine that will do us". Well to be honest it is not worthy of four stars in my opinion, however I don't believe it is the disaster that others have made it out to be.

On arrival we were virually deafened by the rather off key singing of the inhouse entertainer but to be fair the minute we got into the lift and into our room on the first floor we could not hear any noise.
We did feel as the week went on that a quiet area would have been a great asset - as it is, the entertainment (karaoke, quizzes, entertainers ) was happening in one corner , the bar and tables and chairs are in another corner and the big screen TV just a little further down in that area, but any plans to watch the TV were soon abandoned because the entertainers won hands down each evening in the volume stakes.

Our bedroom on the first floor was clean but I did have concerns about the bed linen, the pillow cases were pretty crumpled - had someone else had their curly locks here> No - not so - I watched next morning as the pillows were changed - I think they just don't iron the pillow cases. Our room was cleaned by Michelle who greeted us each morning with endless smiles and did a good job of keeping things clean. She brought clean towels every day - it wasn't her fault that although clean they were rather grey; however joy and bliss on our second last day we got white and fluffy towels - brilliant. The bed was nothing to write home about wooden fram - thin mattress - but I must say I slept through every night.
Take care if you want to hire the fridge - it is not a fridge but a cool box so we didn't bother with that choosing rather to buy cold drinks from the little shop in reception which was super-handy and good prices.
The pool that lots of people complain of, we actually found to be rather pleasant; our balcony overlooked this area and we had sunshine from early morning until lunch time both on balcony and pool side. Roof terrace was good too and never any problems getting a sun bed - on one crowded day there were all of six of us round the pool!!. I would recommend that you take your own beach towel - the one we hired was woefully inadequate and you get into trouble if you take your towel from your room apparently.

What else do people want to know about - probably breakfast - it was ok actually except the fresh orange tasted suspiciously like it hadf been watered down - but for a normal yoghurt and coffee person like me, as far as I was concerned breakfast was more than adequate and the fried eggs were beautifully done - so well done the chef.

Do beware that apparently if you overstay at the evening meal you will be fined and similarly so if you bring friends in for drinks you will be in trouble for letting them benefit from preferential prices. We did not eat or drink in the hotel so cannot comment on this first hand.

Bella Vista is a bit out in the sticks but a pleasant 15 minute walk takes you into Buggibba where there are plenty of places to eat and drink and the bus stop to all parts of the Island is virtually on the door step.

All in all a bit more attention to detail by cleaning staff in the public areas would greatly benefit the first impression of this hotel and I would have preferred proper table linen at breakfast rather than wipe clean plastic and paper napkins. I guess it was all a week of highs and lows.

This was our fifth time in Malta and no doubt we will return but I reckon we would go back to the Radisson; however having said that we get what we pay for in this life and if you assess the Bella Vista purely on value for money then it wins hands down - for not a lot of cash we had a clean and relatively pleasant place to rest our bones and this time that was all we wanted.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

My friend and I became stranded in Malta after *that* volcanic eruption, so, with our current hotel fully booked, and us needing accommodation, they advised us to book into their sister hotel, the Qawra Point, a few kilometres away.

We booked a 2-bed apartment (we're close friends, but have no wish to be in proximity to one another at night. I snore - his emissions are usually accompanied by a pungent smell). However, when we were given a room key after check-in, we realised they had messed-up our booking after the key we were given opened the door to a grotty looking single room. After returning to reception again with our entire luggage, we were shown to our booked apartment by the rather amiable old chap behind the desk.

The rooms are dark and very cheaply decorated. The floor was pretty grim – walking around bare-foot for more than a few minutes resulted in the soles of our feet becoming black. The beds consist of a few blocks of wood and the mattresses are as thin, cheap and lumpy as one can imagine.

The balconies are tiny and there’s no outside furniture so if you wish to make any use of the balcony, one must manipulate the plastic kitchen chairs through the balcony door - neither easy nor, in hindsight, worth the effort. Once outside, the view was of a wasteland, and a dingy little patio area below containing a bath-like contraption. How we laughed when we later found that the hotel refers to this as a ‘Swimming Pool’.

There is a ‘sun-terrace’ on the roof of the hotel, however, in reality it’s nothing more than a wind-swept waste of space. The sun-loungers are an orthopaedic nightmare, there’s no shade (even though the hotel says they’ll provide umbrellas, they don’t) oh, and there’s another bath-like contraption if you fancy getting your big toe wet, which is about the only part of you that’ll fit in if there are more than 2 people having a – ahem – swim.

For those wishing to book self-catering, don’t. There is absolutely nothing to assist you in the preparation of food, no knives, forks, plates, nothing. Just an aging and tiny table-top oven which looked, frankly, like it’d been pulled out of a skip. *BEWARE* - this hotel doesn’t have facilities to provide for an evening meal. If, like us, you book Half-Board, you will be bussed with other guests en masse to the sister hotel a few kilometres away. They do not make this fact known before you book. Also, they bus you at a time convenient to the hotel, not, as they tell you on check-in, at a time to suit you. The only times we were given were 6pm and 7pm, way too early to have dinner unless you want to be in bed by 8:30pm every night.

The hotel does provide a breakfast, of sorts; although, you’ll probably want to skip this. We were offered a Full English Breakfast. Tasty, one might think? If only. The burnt bacon contained white inedible lumps that looked like insect eggs, the ‘sausages’ were raw in the middle, the fried eggs were like rubber and came floating on a layer of grease so that they sloshed around the plate as the waiter approached. Oh, and the microwaved beans were cold, the toast was like cardboard, and the coffee undrinkable. There was nothing else on offer besides some imitation cornflakes and watered-down orange juice. There wasn’t even any fruit.

I complained to the old harridan who seemed to be some sort of manager, but she couldn’t’ve cared less. This just about summed up the place.

Even though the hotel was by now, full of other stranded guests unable to return home due to the volcano, the hotel did not provide any assistance or information. There were elderly people trapped in a foreign country with no knowledge of the internet, and the aforementioned harridan just tutted as if it were too much trouble when asked if the television in the lounge/bar (that up until now, the staff were using to watch a local sitcom) could be switched to a news channel.

We lasted just two nights.

After which we checked in to much better hotel in St Julians and really enjoyed the rest of our enforced holiday.

To summarise: Without a doubt, the worst hotel I've ever had the misfortune of staying in. AVOID.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Qawra Point Holiday Complex, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
thanks for the review, altough INACCURATE.
You booked the QAWRA POINT direct through a n internet company, not through the HOTEL.
We do not sell the complex on self catering , only BB & HB..When we have a few guests on HB we provide transport at 6pm or 7.00 pm so guests can eat in ther hotel. DINNER in HOTEL
17.45 to 20.00 hours,
Breakfast is cooked on order by one of the chefs
Sorry everything went wrong for you , even your own FRIEND'S emissions DID NOT ESCAPE your critisism.
your remark about our staff just sums your review.
We accept honest critism , but limited to critism not personal attacks.
We provided more than our share of assistance, even free drinks to guests who ran out of money and special room rates .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley Surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

This hotel/appartment block is definately for the hardy traveller who doesnt care where they sleep.The rooms are huge with a kitchen and no means of cooking?? the beds are double or single or a variety of all depending on what room you are given.Dont be fooled by the description of a rooftop sun terrace with pool? pool is an inflatable intex 10ft x 6ft with no steps to get into the thing except for a wooden bench/table set pushed up against!!! (very odd).
The best thing about this hotel would be that it had free internet access and perhaps for some it is in the heart of the town.
If you do book this hotel please do not pay more than £20 per room per night as this is all that it is worth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The apartments are basic, but very large. The kitchen is fine, but no cutlery or cooking equiptment supplied in a self-catering apartment? Very odd. We spread Flora on our sandwiches with a credit card - honestly.

Rooftop terrace seemed fine, but Golden Bay is €1.16 by bus and less than 30 mins away, so we went there or Meililha Bay for sunbathing and swimming.

Everything was fine with the staff, but the coffee machine was out of action one morning at breakfast.

No bother with transfers or taxi drivers finding the place, which was about 20 mins walk to Buggiba centre.

No real complaints here, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We arrived in Malta thinking we were stopping at some apartments next door to the Bella Vista Hotel. However, we were told we were going to Aparthotel on Tourist Street (the 1 street I dreaded being on) but I'm so glad we did as these apartments were lovely and clean the air-con worked! which is very unusal in Malta. The rooms were kept really clean by the very friendly cleaning team and all the staff were brill. We could have a shuttle bus up to the Bella Vista Hotel but only called in once and I'm soo glad we didn't stay there, it was over run by studens! At 11pm all the outside entertainment ended so it was very quiet on a night.

The breakfasts were more than adequate with cereals, toast, james, cakes, meats and cheese and a full english or parts of depending what you wanted, agasin the staff could not be faulted.

The only down side was the pool on the roof which had loads of dead flies in for the whole of our fornight holiday, however the roof top terrace was quiet with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qawra Point Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Point Holiday Complex

Address: Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Qawra Point Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Qawra Point Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Point Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Qawra Point Holiday Complex Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qawra Point Holiday Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.