We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“busmans dining room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Qawra Point Holiday Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Qawra Point Holiday Complex to your Saves list
Qawra Point Holiday Complex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“busmans dining room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

when i booked this hotel i was under the impression i had booked the belle vista hotel and that looked good on the photos but the reality was we ended up in the qawra point, is was dark and dismal first impression, we had breakfast there but had to be transported to the belle vista for dinner , not a lot of choice there , we did not feel welcome, dining room at the qawra point looked more like a busmans canteen ( sorry busmen) the choice every morning was bacon, sausage , beans and egg but you did get srambled one morning and fried the next day. we often had to wait for bacon or egg as it had run out. To the room , large and clean but in he kitchen there was no kettle , pans ,cups , knives or forks, all the cupboards were empty, decent bathroom but cold water showers most days, one of the workers had to go on the roof most days to try to sort this out, very small pools, 2 strokes and you would be at the other side, clean towels but a bit tatty, would not go there again my daughter slipped on the entrance ramp after the rain and told the reception staff that mabe it would be a good idea to put a sign to warn other guests but nothing was done. we hires a car but it was hard to find a parking space here

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    26
    17
    13
See reviews for
17
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My mum and I went to Qawra. We thought we had booked the Bella Vista Hotel (a review for this will follow), but we were taken to the Qawra Point Holiday Complex. Obviously I was expecting a wonderful indoor and outdoor pool with jacuzzi, what we got was an inflatable pool downstairs just out the back of the Complex and one on the roof, (6th Floor). Not enough to swim in, just 2 strides and you're at the other end!
Breakfast was in the small dining room or, as it is known, the back of the Mondrian Cafe. Only choice for breakfast was bacon, sausages, beans and eggs (a couple of days fried eggs and the rest was scrambled), with also cereal, toast and a small choice of local delicacies. Not too bad apart from waiting for either eggs to be cooked or bacon to be cooked.
The evening meals were at the Bella Vista Hotel over a mile away. If you didn't have your own transport then you were taken at either 6pm or 7pm via a minibus and brought back at either 7pm or 8pm.
We had a 2 bedroomed apartment with a small kitchen/dinette in the middle with small tv and fridge/freezer. Great! Apart from the fact that there were no utensils. No spoons, forks, knives, plates, cups etc. Good job I brough my own travel mugs. As for the kettle, you could hire one for so many euros a day, we bought a stainless steel pot to boil water in for 1 euro. You also had to hire the remote for the TV and Air Conditioner as well. But we weren't that lazy so we got up and changed tv channels, as for the air con, it wasn't too hot for that but there were wall fans in both bedrooms and the dinette.
The staff were pleasant enough but no too quick about checking you in. We waited 5 minutes before someone came down to the Reception, after numerous pressings of bells and a few "Hello, is there anyone there?"
On the last morning, I slipped and fell on the ramp outside the complex. It had been raining the night before and the ramp was marble (or something similar). No one came to my aid even though the Receptionist was there in full view of the front door. I told the Receptionist and asked for her to put out a sign to warn everyone else but they didn't do that. Luckily, I only bruised a thigh and twisted my leg (had achy muscles the next day).
If you want to go to this place, buy your breakfasts and dinner outside of the complex. There are plenty of local restaurants/pubs that offer english breakfast and decent evenings meals.
Other than that, Malta is beautiful and don't forget a trip to Gozo whilst there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We knew when we booked our holiday that the Qawra Hotel Holiday Complex was not a 5 star hotel but never expected to share bedroom space.
We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment for our group of 4 adults.What we found when we got into our apartment was that the bedrooms were linked i.e. to enter and leave one bedroom you had to go through the other..
This could be quite embarrassing as it also meant that at night when one couple was in bed in the first bedroom, which had no ventilation or widows, the other couple had to go through their bedrom just to use the toilet.
This situation is not suitable for two couples unles they are VERY friendly or are a family with two young children.
Be Warned other wise its cheep and you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you are two couples check the situation and lay out of the bedrooms in a two bed apartment before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

went on hoiliday 9th oct 2011 2 bed apartment was nice but no cutlery put asked and got cups glasses shower was broken but fixed that day do take a kettle with you father in law was taken ill on the 11th reception phoned for a doctor and arranged taxi for us to go hospital which he stayed in for 4 days all the staff asked how he was and if i needed anything when i got home room was cleaned every day lots of choice at breakfast and tim the nightman gave me a good tip for mossie bites buy a fresh lime and rub on the bites we we definatly be back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

As a young couple me and my girlfriend were looking for a cheap get a way. Yes for Dinner you had to go to another Hotel but that was no problem as it had a higher star rating than the Qawra Point Holiday Complex. VALUE FOR MONEY, rooms were so spacious we actually had 2 bedrooms so we used one for Storage for the Suitcases. Rooms were Cleaned everyday, Location Excellent, bars, restraunts and main square all in close range of the Holiday Complex. All staff and locals spoke great English. Yes the pool was tiny just a big blow up one really but I struggled to see any hotel with a big pool the week i was there and we done a lot of walking trust me! there is so much to do and there was plenty of buses to take new places each day although we never opted for that as we enjoyed this resort. Beaches were rocky yes but some areas had man made gravel type beaches, are day consisted of a nice English Breakfast, going the beach having dinner just a few chicken and ham barms very cheap (as we were half board) and then going to the roof top pool and sunbathing area which we always had to ourselves, then ofcourse getting picket up at either 6 or 7 (are choice which time) to be taken for dinner in the 4* Bella Vista Hotel. £570 for half board holiday flights hotel and transfers for 2 people including insurance how could anyone complain ? i'm sure all the people who have reviewed this place badly would have paid in the same region as me, must have been expecting red carpets by the sound of it.....? TV only had 1 English Channel and wasnt idealy placed but that didnt really matter didnt end up using it. We also didnt have to pay for Air Conditioning as each room had a Big Fan on the wall anyways. I could Counter every Negative thing said for this Hotel and Resort easily.

Room Tip: Limited Sea view rooms, request for one we got lucky and got one without requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Think of this as an opportunity to rent an apartment with large, clean, well equipped, ensuite rooms, in a convenient location to explore Malta, with a free breakfast thrown in and you won't be disappointed. If you want a hotel with facilities such as swimming pools, restaurants, waiter service and lively bars on site then go elsewhere and pay lots (quite a lot) more money; however, for the price we paid we thought this place was outstanding value and we would certainly go again if we wanted a b&b sunshine break in Malta. We went as a retired couple on a cheap Ryan Air flight, booking direct via the internet. For only 240 euros a week room rate inclusive, we got two large rooms with double bed and two single beds, good storage space, dining table and chairs to seat 4, fridge, microwave, kitchen sink, plus a bathroom with bath. Breakfast for two in the self service canteen was included; there was a choice of English and/or continental and eat as much as you like self serve portions. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned and towels exchanged daily. OK, there are a few stains on the stair carpets and the odd ants made it in from outside into the dining room area via the open doors but stains and a few ground floor ants in hot countries don't mean unclean premises. The lift worked and so did the air conditioning (not common or standard in Malta) which only costs an extra 3 euros a day. The apartments are a very short walk from the bus station from which you can get frequent buses to all Malta's attractions and beaches, a week's bus pass is only 12 euros. There are shops a few metres away in which you can buy very cheap beers, wines and a good assortment of salad, fruit, cheeses and cold meats and tinned stuff. Given the climate we didn't want hot meals so the kitchen area in our rooms enabled us to take picnic lunches with us on some days and/or have a cold meal, or reheat a takeaway, if we got back late from sight seeing and didn't want to eat out. We bought some disposable cutlery and plates at negligible cost, from the shop next door, as the rooms aren't fully equipped for self catering. We didn't use the TV in the room as we were too busy exploring the island but it was in working order. The centre of Bougibba and the local swimming areas are within walking distance but there are much better beaches, and in our opinion nicer resorts, on the north east and north west coasts and on the islands of Gozo; if you use the local buses and the ferry (only 4 euros to Gozo) you can go somewhere different every day. We had an excellent week's holiday in glorious sunshine for less than a few days in an English B&B and that includes the cost of transport and meals.

Room Tip: If you take hold luggage on your flight pack a can opener and a travel kettle so you can make use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

When we booked this holiday we thought holiday complex everything on site, swimming pool (grandchildren have a bigger one in their back garden) entertainment, meals. This was not so, only meals were breakfast, entertainment if you went to pubs over the road. This should be advertised as a basic B & B more like a hostel than hotel. Badly in need of updating. Should not advertise evening meal or should tell you that you have to go elsewhere as only breakfast is served there The Bella Vista where we went for evening meals was some distance away we got mini coach there but walked back it took about 30 mins to walk back. Staff were very good, rooms clean towels changed every day. We had a balcony but nothing to sit on we had to take chairs from kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qawra Point Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Point Holiday Complex

Address: Tourist Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1024, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Qawra Point Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Qawra Point Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Point Holiday Complex Hotel Qawra
Qawra Point Holiday Complex Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qawra Point Holiday Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.