We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovage Bistro

Lovage Bistro
Triq L-Imhar, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
21572088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Qawra
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
bugibba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Found this gem by coincidence. One of the best restaurant's we've been so far! Perfect service. Top notch service from both the manager and the waitress. Great food, both the ribeye and the king prawns were cooked to excellence. Will definitely visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, EU
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovage Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Was very impressed with the service and food quality. Prices very reasonable. Pork belly and gnocchi were very well presented.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Although the place is a bit pricy, it was worth it. The staff were very courteous and attentive. Will surely recommend. The fish offered as a special dish was fantastic.

The only little downside is the view across the street from the restaurant. Suggest a high shrub along the perimiter of the restaruant would make it a lot better. All in all, it is worth a visit.
Well done and thank you for the lovely meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Lucija, Malta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We just tried this restaurant last weekend and i was quite satisfied as starter my wife and i had the oyster mushroom risotto and the baked goat cheese which where both remarkable as for the main course my wife really loved her king prawns and i had a french style rack of lamb which was cooked perfectly but was a bit too over seasoned in my humble opinion and to finish the night we shared a valhrona chocolate mousse which was quite exquisite the service was a bit slow but very polite and understanding overall quite a good restaurant

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

After having a horrid lunch experience at another restaurant earlier in the day, we decided to dress up a bit and treat ourselves in the evening. And what a bullseye Lovage was!!

This was the perfect meal from start to finish for us. From the aperitif being the (for me) perfect mix of dry yet fruity, and their bread being so fantastic I almost considered cancelling my mains and just having bread (very glad I didn't though) - all the way through the amazing veal main, and our deserts. Very nice service, and great help by the sommelier. We tried a lebanese red with our veal, and it took me right back to my tour in the Balkans, with it's plum like aroma.
I was frequently asking the sommelier where their various glasses and decanter were from, as they were beautiful.

At the time they offered us desert menus we were already 30 minutes over closing time, but they insisted this was not a problem, so I managed to push down a lovely Creme Brulee as wel.

I don't often tip more than 15%, but these guys fully deserved their 20% on top. The chef was a genius this night. And I hope they came good on their promise to finish of our wine bottle while they were closing up.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovage Bistro also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lovage Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovage Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.