We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cosy Corner - CLOSED

The Cosy Corner
Triq it-Turisti, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB015, Malta
+(356)21573067
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We would never have ventured into this restaurant as the name is so odd - more 'tea shop' than restaurant, but on the recommendation of a family member we decided to try it. We were not disappointed. The service was excellent, food very good indeed, and prices reasonable. Thanks for a lovely evening. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmount, Owner at The Cosy Corner, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Glad you decided to give us a chance. Hope to see you again in the future.

Dan and Graz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Competa, Spain
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“a good last night meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we sat outside on a cosy corner, well a corner any way it was our last night I had the traditional rabbit of Malta and my wife had swordfish both were excellantly cooked the staff was friendly sevice a little slow but worth it. we had two bottles of wine and staggered back to the hotel happy!
Malta is good we will return one day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmount, Owner at The Cosy Corner, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your food and wine. Hope to see you again in the future.

Dan and Graz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and refreshing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went to malta again as we love Malta and its people. we was out walking and looking for a place to eat came across the cosy corner and so glad we did friendly staff and loveley food good home cooked holsome food. lovely family who run it, they were never to busy to take time to check things were o.k and talk to you. very clean and service was faultless. sadly we were due to return on our last night the 15th sep 2013, but I felt unwell and so never went but we are returning next year and we will return to your restaurant. dought if you remember us but its Diane and Pete who love malteese food and are not lokking to eat English food when abroad. see you next year Diane and Pete.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmount, Owner at The Cosy Corner, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review and update us. We were a bit concerned since we didn't see you again after your daily visits. Glad you enjoyed the food and service we give.

See you next year!

Dan and Graz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Vegan friendly, great staff and perfect food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A vegan friendly, chic cafe located five minutes from the main square in Bugibba.

My friend and I stumbled across this little gem whilst taking a walk. How glad we were. This has to be one of the friendliest, cleanest and most helpful places I’ve been in quite a while.

The menu already has a number of gluten free options, which is normally the sign of a forward thinking restaurant. Because of that I felt really at ease asking for vegan ‘twists’ to items on the menu. The staff were fantastic, really funny as well as helpful! There is nothing than going into a cafe or restaurant and being met with cold stares and looks that say ‘just eat the god-damn dairy’.

This is by far the best pizza I’ve ever had. Seriously. It was perfect, the base was light, crispy on the edges and slightly doughy in the middle. It was topped with artichoke hearts, beef olives, onion, mushrooms and a very fresh light tomato sauce. (I’m starting to drool again thinking about it.) Perfect. The side salad was equally lush. It was obviously freshly prepared, with lettuce, tomato, onion, pepper & cucumber. Perfect.
http://life-lived-is.tumblr.com

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmount, Owner at The Cosy Corner, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us and uploading that pic!

As a new business we're working hard to learn about different dietary requirements. We see many gluten free and lactose free customers frequently and can cater for their needs as well as vegan and vegetarian.

Thanks once again and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Dan and Graz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Malteser!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having eaten a 'non Chinese' Chinese , we wandered past this clean , chic bistro by accident and stopped to look at the menu. We met the owner Dan, who described his speciality Maltese menu to us. Next evening we enjoyed a wonderful Maltese platter, followed by rabbit and swordfish, ending with a Maltese fig pastry. Delicious! And all at 15.95 euros. There was also a very interesting unusual wine list. The staff were very attentive, polite and humorous. The Maltese chef created an octopus stew and spicey tuna as a special for us the following night. We tried 4 other rated restaurants and this was by far the best in all aspects. It is a new business venture and we are sure he will do well amongst all the competition. Dan deserves all his success. We wish he was nearer to us at home in Spain!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmount, Owner at The Cosy Corner, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed our food and made it a point to come back and try one of our specials like the Octopus, it's now on our daily menu too.

Unfortunately we won't be moving to Spain any time soon so you will have to make do with tapas and paella for a little while longer. ;-)

Hope to see you both again in the future.

Dan and Graz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cosy Corner also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cosy Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.