We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gluten free Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luzzu Restaurant & Cafeteria

Luzzu Restaurant & Cafeteria
Qawra Road | SPB 1905, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
21584647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 75 Restaurants in Qawra
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Gluten free Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We ate in this restaurant (which is opposite the Qwara Palace Hotel) on a Wednesday evening so it was not to busy. The staff were very attentive and my gluten free pizza whilst small was delicious and with a side salad and chips to share with my husband was more than enough. We ordered coffees and my husband realised there had been a mistake with his as her thought he had ordered an esspresso but got a very milky coffee. The waitress saw his look of dismay and immediatley ask what was wrong and replaced the coffee without delay. I couldn't fault this place.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Owner/ manager problem”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

During a recent visit to Qawra, my son (11) and I visited the restaurant 3 times as the food was good. However, the same cannot be said of the man at front of house. On the first visit, he was not present and we had a lovely time, sat by the window, lovely view and great food. The staff were excellent as was the wifi which is crucial to a 11year old. Visit 2, we were greeted by the MAN, who when asked if we could sit by the window said he only had a few window tables and what if someone else wanted to sit there! Implying that we were not good enough for the window seats. Grudgingly, he offered us the choice of two tables squashed in a corner. Service was not good and at one stage a waitress came over to see what my son was doing on his iPad and then the internet went off - very strange! A few days later we went again to the restaurant with some Maltese friends for lunch on Easter Sunday, again the MAN was awkward to my Maltese friends ( I had thought it was because I was British but apparently he is known for it amongst the Maltese as well). We ended up on a table outside after being told in no uncertain terms that we would not be able to move back inside if we changed our minds! After 30 minutes and calling to the waitress we were served ( it was busy, however other tables were being served and they had arrived after us). The food had been good during all of our visits but has been spoilt by the manner of the front of house man. I get the impression that he would be happy if nobody came in at all!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
2 reviews
“food and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

very good food,big portions,friendly waiters, the restaurant is very clean and welcoming, great view

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant and Service in Malta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just got back from a great say in Malta, loved it that much we are planning on moving out there to live.

Visited Luzzu a couple of times because the food was fantastic, fresh and portion size was unbelievable. highly recommend a visit to this restaurant, what makes it so special is the service is outstanding and one of the best we found in Malta. Did not matter if we visited in the afternoon or evening the excellent service was consistent and was really friendly and attentive.

Try this place you will not be disappointed :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Good food, very good portions compared to others in the area...especially the sea food platter.
Found the waitress and manager to be friendly and give good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luzzu Restaurant & Cafeteria also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Luzzu Restaurant & Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luzzu Restaurant & Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.