We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Excellent Ambiance, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chilli's Indian Restaurant Malta

Chilli's Indian Restaurant Malta
Tourist Street St.Paul's bay Qawra Malta, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 77157393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 75 Restaurants in Qawra
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Truly Indian Food and Halal
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
1 review
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Ambiance, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We haven't visited many Indian restaurants as we have only really got into Indian cuisine, but have been to a few in the UK. When we first visited Chilli's Indian Restaurant in Malta we were welcomed by friendly staff and the ambiance was above what we have ever experienced in a restaurant of any kind. The food was good and pricey but reasonable, we don't mind paying for good food and service. Because of our experience here we have been back several times and would not hesitate in recommending this restaurant to others who were looking for a good place to eat. In short - Good food, excellent ambiance, really friendly staff and great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    5
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Friendly welcome..place a bit cold...food tasty..main course portions a bit on the small side but enjoyed my meal. A bit expensive for what we got. But still nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Complete Ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Tonight's experience at Chilli's Indian restaurant was EXTREMELY frustrating. The sauces were actually excellent....possibly one of the best I've ever experienced, but this actually made the evening worse....and more frustrating.

The atmosphere is depressing, and the ambient temperature was comparable to a cold room. The restrooms are another big concern. to me, the restrooms are an indication of the management's take on hygiene. Well, if the restrooms are anything to go by, then I think that Ratatouille and his friends must have been working hard in the kitchen.

The average cost per dish is approximately double thew price of similar restaurants in the area. It's more expensive than Sa Re Ga Ma, Emperor of India and Shiva's. I'd say that the prices are slightly lower than Blue Elephant.

The sad thing, however, is that the whole thing is a rip off. Every meat dish had around 2-3 "lumps" of meat that are definitely smaller in size than McDonald's chicken nuggets. So essentially, we paid around €12 for a little bit of (great) curry sauce.

To add insult to injury, they took advantage of the size of our group and delivered 6 main dishes instead of the 7 we ordered, and when we drew their attention, they insisted that all plates were delivered and the reason why we had 6 dishes on the table was simply due to the fact that the server had cleared the first dish when he delivered the other items. Outrageous! Needless to say, they charged us for 7 dishes.

Furthermore, when we drew the owner/manager's attention about our disappointment and let him know that he missed out on the opportunity of attracting 7 loyal and regular customers, he didn't even apologise or show any disappointment.

It's a big shame as this could have easily topped the list of our Indian restaurant of choice. But in this industry, great food is not enough. It has to be complemented by a great service and value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHMOOD C, Manager at Chilli's Indian Restaurant Malta, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Sir,Thanks for you comments over here..
1.First of all I want to info you..You bought a online deal for 4 Persons and the deal was valid till 28 Feb,But u requested to use on 1 Mar and I accepted.After 5 mins you called again and Requested for 3 more persons to join you and again i accepted.This Issue U have Mentioned as well in you review,But you did not mentioned.
2.when you ordered a meal..you tried to order less,but staff advice you,Sir One portion is enough for one person.You Ordered one Water Bottle for 7 people..You asked staff we want to share everything ..Dear sir When you share one Portion with even 2 people,That can not be Enough for both,but you where 7 people and you shared each portion with every one..So Its clear .That was not enough for all of you.You where Seven people and you ordered only 4 Main Dishes for Seven people.Sir You order 4 Rice Portion for 7 people. Then Staff Again told you..Sir One Portion is Enough for one only.Then you Order Seven Dished and Staff Delivered you Seven Dishes .some one from you group one Empty dish given to Staff to Take away from the Table and he took away.After you asked staff you delivered only 6 dishes,but he was cleared you same time .Sir One empty dish i took already and That given by one of Group member.Even that Person also cleared you as well.(Yes I given to Staff) and That was Cleared ..But you Mentioned in you review .and one thing more sir ..you did not order any dish which cost more than 11 Euros...You got 65 Euros Discount and still you are complaining ..Chilli's Indian Restaurant is Cheapest than all others Indian Restaurant.
3.About Room Temperature .It was Warm and Nice,but u was felling cold,we don't know about that.The same time when you were in the restaurant. an other 9 Customers were there .No one asked about room Heater.... I would like to clear you other many thing as per you review,but sorry i don't have much time ..
Any ways Thanks again for your Time and your valuable Comments..Best of Luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rip-off meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Was very very disappointing as each main course was about eur12 and there was a maximum of 3 small pieces of meat (merely morsels!) in each dish!! Apart from that, the restaurant was freezing cold and the airconditioning apparently didn't work, and the toilets were disgusting. A truly unpleasant experience - definitely not going there again what a rip-off!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xemxija, Malta
1 review
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great value , amazing food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My father and I ate their this christmas and it was lovely. Food was great , service was brilliant and the waiting staff always had a smile on their face. I love the fact that you get to decide how spicy you want your dish , I opted for the normal spice on my butter chicken and my father went for very spicy on his chicken vindaloo . We were both very pleased. The decor may be a bit old but hey in there for the food and that was brilliant. Quite reasonably priced as well . All round great will reccomend to my friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli's Indian Restaurant Malta also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Chilli's Indian Restaurant Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilli's Indian Restaurant Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.