We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap price and a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunflower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunflower Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia de Toledo St., Qawra, Island of Malta SPB1061, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A cheap price and a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very pleased with hotel generally. Location was fine with a short walk to the sea. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our only gripe was the quality of food. Breakfast is poor with no hot food offered.(The Apple Café 5 mins walk from hotel did a great fry up breakfast cheaply) Evening meals were much better with more choice. We complained about having frozen veg with the main meals to then find that fresh veg was on offer after that. (they take note,thank you Sunflower) Would definitely stay again. But maybe at board only. Weekly bus ticket (any where) ONLY 6.5 euros. Great Island with lots to see and do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for your review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sunflower Hotel.

Regards,

John Bugeja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    144
    105
    39
    14
See reviews for
45
188
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

the hotel is good and clean ,the bar is not stocked, indoor pool was good and heated , the best member of staff is Jonathan at the front desk, its not in the best area but if you know your way round its good , the only thing we hated was the 2 single beds instead of a double but anyway its what you pay for, good value for money :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jean S.,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. These will be shared with our management team in view of improving our product and services.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I booked into here for Christmas, which was great. We went on to stay there three times as we liked it so much. Nothing fancy, which is fine as you are not paying a fancy price. It is quiet when you need it, but has enough facilities for a bit of pampering. Food is great, both night buffet and breakfast. We are travelling with bicycles and these were stored inside for us. What more can you ask for for the money. We would stay a fourth time.

Room Tip: room 502 was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Esterwarren,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments.

I note, with much pleasure, that you will be returning to our hotel. In this regard do let us know if we can help you with your booking.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked for a cheap out of season week with B&B and a standard room. Most of the other guests were French and seemed to be there on a half board basis.

Transfers from the airport were straightforward, and the reception staff efficient and welcoming.

The hotel is in a quiet back street at the top of the town, 10 minutes from the centre. We got thoroughly lost on day two! Watch your step at night on the badly lit footpaths nearby. Uneven, and a bit of a minefield of doggy do!

Our room was much better than expected, big and bright with a decent sized bath, table and sofa. The bed was rock hard but that is how we like it. There was air con but we didn't test it. Linen wasn't new but was clean and tidy. The bed was made up perfectly every day and the room cleaned and tidied.

The tap water in Malta is rock hard, so don't expect any lather from your soap! It's drinkable, but bottled is cheap.

Breakfast was included, with fruit, bread, cereals, yogurt etc. a full English was available for a reasonable €3 and we tried it on the last day - lovely! We also had dinner one night but thought it was poor value, even at €9. It was OK, but a bit bland and portions were small. Definitely priced down to a budget. We mostly ate in the Sailors Arms or La Stalla in nearby "Tourist St" a 5 minute walk away.

The hotel bar was perfectly adequate and we had a drink there most days. Not cheap by Maltese standards at €2.90 a pint (the local Cisk lager is great), but operates 24 hours a day and the staff are great. But the staff have to multitask at mealtimes so can be in and out a bit. They do cocktails too, but if the cocktail batman is off duty they only do the simple ones!

There is a small indoor pool on the ground floor which we didn't try. The roof terrace and pool was not in play but we sat in the sun there and admired the view. It looked like it looked like it would be great on a hot day with a swim up bar and multiple little pools.

Good points - pleasant and hard working staff, good housekeeping, large room, incredible value.

Bad points - nothing too bad; dinner uninspiring and poor value if it's not included in price. Location of hotel is a bit off the beaten track.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Gas Menace,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments.

I do regret to note that you were disappointed with dinner and will be sharing your comments with our management team in view of improving the product and services.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we had first floor room, bathroom very small cant even open all the door due the toilet ... bath not fixed well..rooms are not bad...Breakfast was cold breakfast no buffet as said...
pool indoor was fine,and outside too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear RoseAnne S.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I regret to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and apologise for any inconvenience you experienced.

However, concerning your comment regarding the breakfast, may I point out that what we offer is a continental buffet breakfast. This includes a variety of breads and spreads, a variety of cold cuts, a variety of cereals, croissants and chocolate sauce, cakes, yogurt, hot and cold beverages and a selection of fresh fruit.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I booked my trip for myself and my wife for a getaway for 3 nights. The staff from reception to the bar staff and waitresses were polite and courteous at all times. When it came to the room I was rather disappointed to the overall standard. Even though it was a standard, board only room I expected a little more to be honest. Cable tv had only one English channel (sky news), no kettle in the room so had to either go downstairs for coffee in the morning, or wait till went out. I paid for a double bed, and what I got was clearly 2 single beds and mattresses pushed together. Also on one of the walls there was some defect to the paintwork that looks as if it had just been patched up and had started flaking. If only the hotel standards were of that of the staff then I think I would have been satisfied....... I am sorry I can not be any more positive about this hotel.....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Mark C.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and here take the opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience you experieinced.
In the meantime please note that I will be sharing your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

was a very good hotel had a lovely stay didn't go much on the beds and sheets as the sheets didn't fit in the night I would have to get up and put the sheet back on my bed! the room was clean shower was fine as well but they should have non slip matts in the bath as I slipped a few times. they could put a kettle in room that would have been nice we bring our own tea and coffee but they wanted to charge us 3 50 euro`s for one with the tea and coffee which we didn't need but not a kettle on it`s own but found a shop that hired one for one euro a day it`s a shop just opposite the car museum and down a bit. I do think the smokers should not be allowed to smoke right by the lobby doors we was sat there and had to go as the smoke came in every time the door opened!! The dinners was very good had a good choice breakfast could have been better we only had cooked breakfast on new years day and it was very good but we were half board and I wasn't going to pay 3 euros for a cooked breakfast first time I have stayed in a hotel where you didn't get a cooked breakfast for choice, but the staff was very good. we stayed over new year had rain then the sun came out and had a lovely 3 days of nice weather to explore the island which is a lovely place some lovely sights as well 12 euros a week for the bus good value we shall return...

Room Tip: if you want tea and coffee in your room choose superior and not standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Barbarolly,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and will be sharing your feedback with the management team in view of improving our product.
We are pleased to note that you found the hotel to be good value for money and hope that you will be able to return to our hotel in the near future. Should you do so please do contact us in case you need any assistance with your reservation.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Sunflower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: Garcia de Toledo St., Qawra, Island of Malta SPB1061, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.