We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Bella Vista for 3 great weeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Thank you Bella Vista for 3 great weeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After reading all the reviews and making a decision to spend 3 weeks at Bella Vista I can report it was a great success. We always enjoy our holidays whatever so I will take you through the highs and occasional lows. Food - limited choice BUT tasty, hot and plentiful. Room - clean, plenty of storage, towels changed daily and sheets frequently, and had an interesting view (Floor 5 and upgraded) BUT beds low. Staff - majority very friendly and helpful BUT had to have an apology from reception manager due to having a problem with our shower for 3 days due to a breakdown in communication with maintenance (and our misplaced patience) We were, however, happy to accept a bottle of Maltese Red which was very good. Location of Hotel - on a bus route, opposite a pretty park, within reasonable walking distance of the main square, excellent free bus service ALL DAY and up to 11pm to and from Bugibba, BUT no view of the sea anywhere, buses were often full up and didn't stop, road busy and pavements dodgy. Pools etc - yes there were indoor and outdoor pools and those bubbily things, sunbeds were always available and comfortable. The sunroof was generally quiet except when people from Essex were there. As others have reported we paid a budget price and you accept it's not going to be 5 star quality.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view and tend to be quieter. Upgrade recommended as not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for anice review.We appreciate your remarks about the food and cleanliness of the hotel.Again our apologies it took us three days to fix your shower.Qawra and Bugibba are still very busy with tourists and it is expected that buses are many times full.We try to give our guests value for money.We try our best to give guests value for money , it may not be
UK four stars , but guests are not paying UK rates.I think it is only fair that guests should keep in mind what they are paying .We thank you for choosing Malta, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    328
    294
    238
    211
See reviews for
218
662
57
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although I understand the difficulties or running a mixed all-inclusive/pay restaurant for people from all corners of the globe, I thought the food was poor.
How, in a plentiful island such as Malta, can they not offer a decent serving of fruit and veg and?
The presentation and serving of evening meals (especially) was poor and a few (by no means all) of the staff were pretty grumpy.
There is no way that this food would qualify as 4* in other parts of Europe.
We ate out after leaving the insipid food behind on 4 out of 7 occasions.
The fact that the (very small) pool saw no sunlight after lunch was also a downside.
I don't remember seeing any reference to all-inclusive deals finishing at various times
ie no snacks after 3pm; no drinks after 11pm. A bit abrupt!
I am sure that there are reasons behind all these facts, however, I won't rush back or recommend this hotel.
I know it is budget but.................don't sell it as a 4*. Misleading.
Advertised 10 min walk to the shops/restaurants is a bit ambitious too. The hotel is on the outskirts of the town.
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback.We are sorry to hear you did not like the food.Malta is a very small island and surely not plentiful in were it comes to production of fruit.We import a lot of our fruit and many times this is expensive to offer to guests in hotels. we know guests like to eat a lot of fruit but one must keep in mind what guests are paying the hotels.You chose to eat out on four occasions so you must know that food is not cheap ,guests pay the hotel the equivalent of a normal meal in a restaurant to stay on HB basis.We have contracts with all tour operators as regards to what we offer for our AI guests, and we have menues on most of the tables in the bar area showing what we offer and the time .We offer a free shuttle service to Qawra and it is about 10 minutes walk from the back door.All you need to do is ask our staff who will be more than pleased to help.Again my apologies some things fell short of your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good value for money. It's not 5 star luxury so if you want that go and pay for it. Food is good. Rooms are clean. Check out time is 11 but we were allowed to use our service cards untill 2 pm as we had a late pick for no extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your review.We are pleased you liked the food and taught the hotel was clean. It is not always easy to please all the guests , either due to culture, nationality and a lot of other things.The most important thing is guests are made welcome and they get value for money .Thank you for choosing Malta, we hope we can welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our first hotel in Malta. The hotel was in a great location, once someone had told us the quick way to the square! The hotel was basic, but gives you everything you need. Some of the front desk staff can be rude. The cleaners are lovely and will go out there way to help you. Our room was cleaned very day to a good standard. We had a problem with our noisy fan, which sounded like it was about to fly off, but our lovely cleaner had it sorted straight away. The pool is basic and need a GOOD clean, but there was enough sunbeds to go around. On floor 6 there was an area for sunbathing, adults mainly. Had a jacuzzi, but that needed a GOOD clean too. We informed the staff a good 6 times about the jacuzzi, but nothing was done. Food was basic. Was a bit of a variety, especially at breakfast. They have set dinner times, beware of this as there is a mad rush when its nearly over and you can end up paying for you meal. Drinks are great but you can only order 1 drink per person at a time. The all-inclusive drinks end at 23:45pm! Beware as we got caught out. You have to also pay to use the safe in your room! The shuttle bus is right outside the hotel which is great. And when you go on excursions, you get picked up right outside the hotel. The night time entertainment is okay. Its pretty basic and mainly older people sit around for it. The night life in St. Paul's Bay is not great but its what you make of it. The holiday was great, shame the hotel was not up to scratch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback. We apologise if our front desk staff were rude. Most of our guests compliment us about the friendliness of our staff .The jacuzzi on the 6 th. floor is cleaned everyday and water changed by our maintenance staff.Some guests use the jacuzzi without having a shower and the sun creams and oils end up in the water .Dinner is served between 17.45 - 20.00 and we do not charge after rthis time. We normally allow guests in the restaurant after 20.00 as long as the food is still on the buffet counter. Guests can have as many drinks as they want on AI , as long as they do not waste.Some guests end up filling their table with drinks only to leave it behind .We have contracts with all tour operators regarding to what we serve on AI and the time applicable.You did not need to BEWARE because we always honour our agreements.My apologies if some things were not up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We found this hotel to be excellent value, very clean and very helpful staff nothing was to much trouble to them. The food was good with a good variety to choose from. The entertainment is rather repetitive mostly a singer on his keyboard but it was still good if you want nightlife it is only a short walk to the town centre. all in all a good place to stay we would not hesitate to book it again

Room Tip: Third floor pool facing would be my choice again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
dear Dave & Jackie, we thank you for a nice review.It is nice when guests appreciate our efforts.
Thanks for your remarks about our helpful staff and our food.The Maltese people are renowned for their hospitality and our staff are no exception, and as you said nothing is much trouble for them.Thank you for choosing Malta, it will be great to have you back at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel offers very reasonably priced if fairly basic accommodation. Our room was spacious and clean, with efficient, if slightly noisy air-con. Sadly, the only 'bella vista' we had from our balcony was a tiny internal courtyard with another balcony 3 feet away, so that meant keeping the curtains drawn for privacy. TV was an ancient CRT portable (with no remote), which buzzed a bit and provided BBC and CNN news channels. The lock on the bathroom door never worked, even after being replaced a couple of days in and occasionally the cold water tap would just make a hooting noise and remain dry. Surprisingly and disappointingly you have to pay extra for WIFI or to use the fridge. These are basic features which even the 2-star hotel I stayed in in Berlin a few months back provided free of charge. The sauna in the basement wasn't working during our visit and both jacuzzis were cold. The roof terrace was nice though and provided some spectacular views of Malta's horizon. Breakfast was adequate (bread, jam, beans, fried egg, cheese, yoghurt, cereal etc.) but lacking in fresh fruit. Quality of sleep wasn't great, due to the noise of some roof-top motor resonating outside our window until around 03.00 most nights. Entertainment was not really our thing - typically a club singer on a keyboard. Bar prices, room service and the well-stocked little shop all offer great value for money and all staff were friendly and efficient. Hotel star ratings are clearly very variable and a 4-star on Malta will never be able to compare with a 4-star in Northern Europe. Our last stay in Malta was at the nearby Canifor Hotel (supposedly another 4-star) and, despite its shortcomings, the Bella Vista was clearly better. To summarise; if you intend spending much time at the hotel then you may find the Bella Vista's shortcomings a bit disappointing, but if you're just looking for a reasonably priced base from which to explore Malta's many treasures, then the Bella Vista is certainly worth considering.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the internal courtyard - you'll have no privacy and the noise from the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your contribution.Glad you liked your room, altough you did not have a good view.I think most of the hotels in Malta ask for a small charge for wifi , cooler or safe in room.Guests can enjoy some nice views from our roof terrace, including Mdina & Mosta dome from a distance.Thank you for your remarks about our efficient staff.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Some of the things people have said about this hotel are true:
1) It isn't near much, you need at least a 10min walk to get to any life. BUT there is a shuttle put on by the hotel at 7.30pm to the main area of shops/restaurants and collects around 9pm.
Also there is a bus stop just outside the hotel.

2) The rooms can be a bit dark with not great views. We had a rather naff view of an internal courtyard. BUT the room was spacious enough and clean. There was a TV with english news, fresh towels everyday, a hairdryer, air con etc.

3) Breakfast food is not of the best quality and there could be some improvements. BUT there was a reasonable selection, sausages, eggs, beans bacon. 4 different cereals, one type of fruit, a few cake items, cheese, ham, hard boiled eggs, brown and white toast, tea (weak), coffee and different juices (also weak). Considering the volume and selection available it was good value.

So basically, don't expect the Ritz, but it is clean and plentiful and for the price we paid it was good value.

Room Tip: If there is choice don't take an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback.We are pleased you taught we gave good value.Most of the rooms face the Salina Park on the front of the hotel and our pool.We have a few rooms at the back of the hotel or internal rooms. Glad you taught we had a reasonable selection for breakfast.Thank you for choosing Malta it is nice when guests accept that for the price they paid , we gave good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern newly built four star hotel with 157 rooms. All rooms are well appointed with balcony, bathroom en-suite and most rooms have picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier, Direct Dialing Telephone,(the following at a charge) Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace having a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music, 6 times weekly, is held at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 conference rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, free business Internet access (Wi-Fi) and Games Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta/Qawra
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.