We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff were pleasant and helpfull” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“staff were pleasant and helpfull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My mothere and father in law visted this hotel they said it should be a high 3 star hotel, swimming pool was to small something needs to be done about this issue. They went for 10 days and had a good time their was always something to find to eat at every sitting and the entertaiment was ok. Overall they enjoyed their stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for sharing your experience at the Bella Vista with Tripadvisor guests.
I am pleased your inlaws enjoyed their stay with us .At the moment we cannot do much about the pool, but I can assure you it is nunber one in the list for the future.Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    328
    294
    238
    211
See reviews for
218
662
57
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
msida-malta
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have already have spend a Nice 3 nights break last March at this Value for Money Bella Vista Hotel.
Thanks to www.tripadvisor.co.uk we have again booked this two nights 14th/16th June Break .
Again I wish to thanks all the staff of this nice hotel, Staff are very nice and so friendly and helpfull.
This Hotel same as I have said last time, keeps it's nice rooms very clean..Rooms was done daily and towels changed too.
Food was nice where we have always faund three main choices in the Buffet Dinner ,so one can always finds something nice to choose from.
Breakfasts was nice too and one can have a continental or a full English breakfast to choose from too.
The Top Terrace was great for Sunbathing, Outdoor Pool though not to big is nice too.
Indoor pool nice though we wished if it was still kept warm at least till 21st June ... Jakuzzi still was warm though .
Evenings Entertainment at this Hotel was nice too.
All in all this is a great Value for Money Hotel. Sure I will recomand this this hotel to my friends.
As always I will keep on searching at TR website to jump on their great rates for such hotels offers. Hotel rates that will suit my pockets.
https://www.facebook.com/anthony.arpa
Anthony Arpa

Room Tip: Outside this hotel one finds the bus stop for public transport ta many nice places around the Island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your review . We try to give our guests value for the money they pay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If this Hotel is 4 star then I am a monkey uncle, the staff have no idea about customer service, we brought our issues to the manager and all he could do was tell us about his problems (he was not interested) We arrived late Sunday night we where confronted with a list forms to fill, we where all wanting a nice cold beer and the bar had just closed by 1 minute and would not serve us so we had to eat cold sandwiches in the dark. In our itinerary it highlighted tea and coffee facilities in our rooms, but not one of our rooms had Tea or Coffee. We had half board, the breakfast was poor
all looked it had been in the pans for hours and the food on the evening was disgusting, I had fish on the first night and became poorly and was sick all night, even though we where half board we ate out the rest of the nights. The air con did not work and the fan on the celling was rubbish, I could blow faster than the fan.

The pool outside can fit no more than five people, but this did not brother us because the less time we spent in this hotel we where happier. This hotel is for pensioners, if you are over 70 this is perfect for you, cheap and smelly, it reminded me of being in Scarborough but nice weather.

Overall this is a 2 star hotel, Malta is a beautiful place and there are other nicer hotels. I would never stay here again and would recommend you go else where. The manager is very poor and needs addressing. If I could give no stars I would

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I was not sure if I needed to answer this review as it is full of lies.These guests asked for a room keep and because we asked for a room keep charge of EUR 16.00 they invented all complaints possible.I personally spoke to these guests and they wanted me to waiver the charge because they sauid their ceiling fans were not working. I went straight away to the rooms they were in and found both fans in perfect working order, probably they were putting the fan on speed 5 when the highest was number 1.Again if you feel sick with food you complain on the same day not 3 hours before departure.You said you run various restaurants , all guests who complain tell us they own hotels, restaurants bars or are in the business. Is this some trick to get what you want .i could not overrule instructions by our reservations manager and could not waiver the room charge, and also I taught the reasons you brought were childish.I wonder why three business men could go to all this trouble for EUR 16.00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and myself have just returned from a ten day holiday to Malta during which we stayed at the Bella Vista hotel,our stay was made all the more enjoyable by the very helpful and pleasant staff, in particular James and Juju.the food was excellent and rooms though not plush we're clean and comfortable.So I would like to say a big thank you to the Bella Vista for making our holiday enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are favourable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
dear guest we thank you for a nice review.Our bar staff were thrilled with your comments, and they thank you .We are pleased you enjoyed the food and taught the rooms were clean.Glad we helped in any way to make your holiday enjoyable.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEAGREEN, LUTON, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

First time doing a/l has put us off doing that again ,hotel staff not very friendly given blue wrist band to prove we were a/l hotel staff need lessons in manners food was basic (rubbish)if you had bacon one day at breakfast the next day you got bacon the chef would give u 2slices same at dinner time joint of pork was cut down the middle length ways then then sliced u got 2slices if u was lucky the swimming pool was only half the size of the pics they show of it ,. The room we had was clean the beds made every day and clean towels the fridge was in the cupboard the facilitys was not good enough for the type of service they were trying to previde this wasa joint holiday with our son and daughter in law and grandaughter air con blew hot air fan in ceiling had a good wobble

Room Tip: Book a different hotel or ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for taking time to write a review.We use the blue wrist bands for allinclusive guests because we had a number of guests abusing the system and giving the cards to other guests.We know not all the guests abuse but we have to do control.I cannot agree with you about the amount of food the guests can take.Our chef serves the main course to make it easier for guests.We do not ask guests to go only once to the buffet counter .We apologise if some things were not up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have just arrived back after a week in The Bella Vista & was more than pleasantly surprised after reading so many derisory reviews on here . We stayed for 1 week on half board basis and found it a very enjoyable experience. The staff were friendly & helpful, the hotel was very clean and tidy in all areas, the food choices were varied and always found something tasty and appetising to eat. Another nice touch was , because we arrived after midnight, the receptionist said he would arrange a snack for us at the bar because we had missed our Evening meal, this consisted of sandwiches, crisps, fruit & bottled water. On the whole I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, as long as there expectations are not ridiculously high...keep up the good work Bella Vista, we will definitely return again :-).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
dear guest , it was nice having you with us at the Bella Vista. Guests have different expectations , and it is impossible to please all guests all ther time.The majority of reviews and guest questionaires compliment us about the friendly staff, cleanliness and the food.
Some guests have special diets and we try to accomodate them when possible.We serve buffet dinners and it not possible for our chefs to prepare special meals like Indian food for a few guests.Unfortunately some guests expect this and they end up complaining.I think this is rather unfair and guests should not expect to be served a la carte.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a lovely holiday in Malta but not because of this hotel. We also have stayed in many 4* hotels but this was not one of them. We arrived at midnight & were in desperate need of a hot drink so after putting our luggage in the room we went back down to the bar. As we asked for a coffee & tea a fellow guest next to us asked if we had just arrived. When we said yes he told us we were entitled to a "free packed lunch". The barman then gave us a bag with a stale sandwich, pkt of crisps & an apple - lovely! Would we have got this had the other guest not said - I don't think so. Instead of pushing a form at us to complete shouldn't the receptionist have told us about this? In the cold light of day we looked out onto our balcony & I thought we were in a prison as all we could see were bars belonging to the windows in the corridor on the left or the rooms on our right. The room itself was clean but basic. The bed was uncomfortable & the pillows rock hard!! The restaurant? Well good job I like pasta because the choice was very limited, repetitive & not very tasty. Breakfast was ok but a croissant would have been nice. The toasters were hit & miss. All inclusive means sandwiches & homemade cake only at the snack bar - not any of the other snacks on display, these have to be paid for. The pool is so small but still attracted the early birds with their towels before 8.00am. No good for sunbathing anyway as sun blocked most of the day by the wall! The evening entertainment consists of a different male singer each night but all singing the same songs! This finishes at 11.00pm even though the bar remains open until 1.00am. This is definitely NOT a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback.We always prepare a packed lunch for late incoming guests, who check in after dinner is served.The sandwiches are prepared after 20.00 hours when the kitchen is informed by the front office staff how many guests have not yet arrived.We have a snack menu in the coffee shop and AI. guests are entitled to toasties, salads, soup, sandwiches, ciabattas and pasta.I cannot agree with you that your entitlement was only sandwiches and home made cake.We have to stop the music at 11.30 pm because a good percentage of the guests go to bed at this time and we end up with a lot of complaints because of the noise from the bar area.My apologies if nothing was good enough.Glad you still had a good holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern newly built four star hotel with 157 rooms. All rooms are well appointed with balcony, bathroom en-suite and most rooms have picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier, Direct Dialing Telephone,(the following at a charge) Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace having a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music, 6 times weekly, is held at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 conference rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, free business Internet access (Wi-Fi) and Games Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta/Qawra
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.